English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2012, 10:54   #1
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
icon.library 46.4 test versions

Always download the last full version from Aminet before you update:

Aminet - util/libs/IconLib_46.4.lha


Update to icon.library 46.4.493 (TC020)

Made another work around for broken OS4 ARGB icons from AfA_OS. This time the highest byte of the zlib-image size was trashed. +++ Found the magic that lets the Icon Info window in DOpus4 suddenly display icons in TrueColor. What a surprise, it was hidden in my library, it's my gfx-patch which was only used for WB 3.0/3.1 and DOpus5 and is now enabled by TC020, too. Just one remark: the alpha channel may not look optimal in DOpus4, because it displays the icons with frames and in that case my gfx-patch clears the background simply by drawing a normal planar image first and then overwrites it with the TrueColor image. Thus, some parts of the planar image are still shining through the alpha blending at the border.


Update to icon.library 46.4.494 (TC020)

Fixed the problem with the background cleaning in my gfx-patch for icons with frames in DOpus4 Icon Info, DOpus5 and on WB 3.0/3.1. The alpha blending looks correct now. Removed, a problem with AfA_OS has been reported.


Update to icon.library 46.4.495 (TC020)

A new attempt to create a gray background in my gfx-patch for icons with frames to get a correct looking alpha blending. I hope that it's more system and AfA_OS friendly now.


Update to icon.library 46.4.496 (TC020)

My old optional instruction "KeepPlanarImages" (from the Aminet package) can be used with TC020 now to keep also planar images with more than 8 colors alive when you are saving OS4 icons. This is a workaround for AfA_OS to let it display my OS4 icons. http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=2535 Call KeepPlanarImages in your startup-sequence above LoadWB to fix it.


Update to icon.library 46.4.497

This is a bugfix for LayoutIconA() when it was called to remap an icon with an additional tag for a certain color precision, which rarely ever happens, but I found this case on Aros 68k with DOpus5 installed. Some icons didn't get an immediate color mapping for the second image, the selected or dragged icon. Only a small black dot image appeared instead. This should work correctly now.


Updated IconDemo ADF files (486):

To make it easier to use my icon.library under OS 3.0/3.1, I've built two demo floppy images that should show you how to get things to work. Just copy one of these ADF files onto a floppy disk and then boot from it. These images are NO speed demos! If you have enough RAM you could also use the much faster RAD: disk. (Please, always install the latest icon.library on your harddisk)

These demos can display all types of icons: old icons, MWB-icons, NewIcons, GlowIcons, OS4-icons and PNG-icons. This does not need a workbench.library v44+. Only the old icon.library is removed from the resident list with Thomas Rapp's very nice RemLib tool and then the new icon.library is loaded from Libs: into the memory instead, without a reboot.

IconDemoA500.ADF is for low end systems with 68000+ CPUs, OCS/ECS with a fixed 16 color palette, minimal 512 kB ChipMem and 1 MB FastMem. I would recommend at least 40 MHz and more memory to enjoy it (e.g. a MiniMig). 68020+ systems are detected and supported by loading the 68020 version automatically.

IconDemoA1200.ADF is for better systems with 68020+ CPUs, AGA, minimal 1 MB ChipMem and 2 MB FastMem and uses FBlit. It needs no ChipMem for the icons and the NewIcons patch makes even transparent backgrounds possible.

In both configurations DefIcons, AutoUpdateWB and SwazInfo are also installed. These ADFs are working with Kick 3.0 already and are supporting PAL and now also NTSC screenmodes.

The excellent CopyIcon tool from Stephan Rupprecht makes it possible to replace the images on your existing icons with a simple drag&drop from all available icon sets, no matter which format the source icons have.

Of course, the icon loading from a floppy disk will always be very slow. Furthermore, OS4 and PNG icons can also be rendered much faster after converting them once into the OS 3.5 format, but on these ADFs they are still in their original file format in order to demonstrate the ability to decode them on any Amiga.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IconDemoA500.png
Views:	436
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	52588   Click image for larger version

Name:	IconDemoA1200.png
Views:	211
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	57052  
Attached Files
File Type: lha IconDemoA500.lha (560.5 KB, 48 views)
File Type: lha IconDemoA1200.lha (551.5 KB, 59 views)
File Type: txt DontLinkToTheAttachments.txt (352 Bytes, 60 views)
File Type: lha IconLib_46.4.497.lha (229.0 KB, 52 views)

Last edited by PeterK; Yesterday at 23:40.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 April 2012, 11:16   #2
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,059
Cool But how do I use this (3.0)?
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 April 2012, 11:21   #3
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
It works with ClassicWB (tested ADVSP), Scalos 1.2d and OS 3.0.
No need to get any OS 3.5+ files !

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63342

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=810622&postcount=36

Last edited by PeterK; 27 April 2012 at 11:44.
PeterK is offline  
Old 27 April 2012, 11:23   #4
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Will report back from home Peter mate
Cheers once more for these updates \o/
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 03:18   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
If you have SetPatch v44 then simply don't use LoadModule or LoadResident to load the icon.library or the workbench.library. SetPatch will do that.

Last edited by PeterK; 18 July 2018 at 01:44.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 20:17   #6
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 55
Posts: 380
I thought you could just copy the latest version of icon.library to libs: and it would automatically be used if it's newer than the ROM based version?

I think I have 40.4.209 in ROM and I really don't want to burn a new ROM for every update. I don't like LoadResident any more than I like OSRomUpdate!
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 21:29   #7
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Tested it tonight and it works just fine (as the previous version did).
Haven't tested thoroughly all the new features but will report once I test them out

I agree SpeedGeek that is annoying burning new ROM for the new updates. I use ACATune's MapROM feature which rox, but it would be really awesome if we could make something like ROMflash at some point to get over with all this stuff
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 April 2012, 21:42   #8
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
I would agree to that it doesn't make much sense to put the icon.library into an eprom and burn a new one for every update. Maybe, if it were a flash rom. Nevertheless, it has a lot of advantages to use custom ROMs with WinUAE or BlizKick or other ROM emulaters. You have shorter boot times and building a new ROM image is quite easy with Remus.

But many people are using LoadResident or LoadModule to make these libraries reset proof. This needs an extra reset only for the cold start which is neccessary for SetPatch in any case, but it speeds up all further reboots later.

Edited:
If you don't use it then SetPatch will always try to replace the resident icon.library and workbench.library with those that can be found in the LIBS: drawer, exactly as you said (but maybe without checking the version). As a result, LoadResident calls will get useless and fail and for LoadModule calls SetPatch will just waste memory by loading these two libraries again.

To avoid this rename these libraries to prevent SetPatch from finding them in LIBS:.

ok, mfilos was a little faster
Thanks for testing, mfilos !

Last edited by PeterK; 15 September 2016 at 16:50.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 May 2012, 17:42   #9
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
icon.library 46.4.230 running fine so far on my system (A1200, ACA1230-56, OS 3.9 on 4 GB CF-card).
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 04 May 2012, 00:52   #10
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 46
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post


Something else: Important for users of DOpus Magellan II:

Make sure that the newicon.library V44 is installed in your LIBS: drawer.
And activate "Alternative Icon Copying" in the DOpus settings.
I'm using dopus 5.82 ( last version)
where is the option "alternative icon copyng" ? I can't found it
clauddio is offline  
Old 04 May 2012, 07:31   #11
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Sorry clauddio, I was using DOpus Magellan II with German localization and the options name was "Alternatives Piktogramm Kopieren", so I thought that the translation should be "Alternative Icon Copying". But now I've changed the localization to English and that shows me under "Icon Settings" that the option is called "Smart Icon Copying" instead.

@_mandark_
Thank you for your report

Last edited by PeterK; 04 May 2012 at 09:55.
PeterK is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 11:07   #12
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Updated to icon.library 46.4.231
PeterK is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 06:48   #13
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,458
Cool I will get around to installing this soon, thanks for your work

I'm running an AGA WB OS 3.9 BB2 and RemapApollo (works like BlizKick).

I assume I can just give this icon.library to RemapApollo and it will be all good?

This library will be faster/better than the BB2 version for an AGA user?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 10:47   #14
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,003
You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.
daxb is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 13:26   #15
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,458
I just use NOROMUPDATE for SetPatch and then pass in all the updated modules separately to RemapApollo
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 14:58   #16
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.
Better check with "Avail FLUSH" directly after booting has finished.
And compare it once with SetPatch DISABLEROMMODULES ""
and another time without this option.

I would predict and could bet that NOROMUPDATE will not prevent SetPatch from disabling these two resident libraries and loading them from LIBS: again. They may still appear in the resident list, but they are disabled there. Only Avail FLUSH can show the difference.

Last edited by PeterK; 25 May 2012 at 15:13.
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 May 2012, 16:16   #17
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Was testing the new version on my A1200 and WinUAE (A1200-clone, Picasso96, uaegfx) yesterday. No big problems whatsoever, but I encountered a freeze on WinUAE when saving all drawer icons in a drawer (about 160 blue and green colored drawer icons). But I was not able to reproduce the crash...
_mandark_ is offline  
Old 24 May 2012, 23:11   #18
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Hmm ? I never encountered such a problem yet.
Please, give me some more details in case it occurs again. (example drawer icons or the name of the icon collection they belong to)

Maybe this could also be an issue of the new dos.library ?
I guess, you are using it, but I didn't try it out yet.

Last edited by PeterK; 25 May 2012 at 15:12.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 17:31   #19
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Updated to icon.library 46.4.235
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 12:58   #20
_mandark_
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Funeralopolis
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Hmm ? I never encountered such a problem yet.
Please, give me some more details in case it occurs again. (example drawer icons or the name of the icon collection they belong to)

Maybe this could also be an issue of the new dos.library ?
I guess, you are using it, but I didn't try it out yet.
Your guess was right, I am using the new dos.library But I also have not encountered this problem again. Your latest icon.library is running fine on my systems.
_mandark_ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12421 seconds with 15 queries