English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 April 2012, 23:11   #1
Lochban1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newcastle upon tyne
Posts: 6
Lightbulb Commodore 1942 monitor

Hi guys my first post so if i seem like a numpty humor an auld man ive been given a commadore 1942 monitor (vga) and the silver box vga adaper to use it so dose any one know what monitor driver i need to use to get the thing to work on my A1200 ? any clues would be much apreceated thanks
Lochban1088 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 April 2012, 09:30   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,633
i think the commodore 1942 works with the standard pal and ntsc modes as well as the dblpal and dblntsc modes.

the drivers are in the storage drawer on workbench,just in case you dont know
roy bates is offline  
Old 13 April 2012, 12:03   #3
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 2,609
The 1942 came with a set up disk which I can zone for you - I think it just contains basic WB monitor drivers updated from WB3.

Roy is correct, you will be able to get a picture just using the PAL monitor type from storage - just put it in the system/Devs/Monitors drawer.

It's actually a really nice old Monitor and you were lucky to get the silver adapter with it as I have seen them go on ebay from 10 - 20 when the monitors themselves can go for half that.

Last edited by Peter; 13 April 2012 at 12:10.
Peter is offline  
Old 13 April 2012, 15:07   #4
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
Was that the Multi-scan Commodore version, for the A3000/A4000? If I remember correctly! they were pretty rare as they were 'bloody' expensive compared the usual 15kh Commodore/Philips versions.

I've got the VGA Microvitec and It works fine with the above advice in WB3.0
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 16 April 2012, 12:00   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,521
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
The 1942 is a "bi-sync" monitor.. It can sync to 15kHz horizontal and then around 31kHz horizontal, but it isn't a true multisync in the sense that frequencies between those may always work. 50/60Hz vertical.

It can do all the AGA modes. There was also a less common 1940 with a coarser dot pitch on the tube.

The only bad thing about the 1942 is that you'll be twiddling the picture adjust knobs all the time if you use more than one screen mode. :-/
Jope is offline  
Old 16 April 2012, 20:33   #6
Steve C
Junior Member
Steve C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Burnley, Lancs
Posts: 56
Use the setup disk mentioned above. I found productivity mode best for hi res. Also I seem to remember the overscan program provided on the setup disk was better than the one from workbench - it allowed one to centralise the image better. Then when using native resolutions I had adjust vertical size and horizontal position to centralise the image. Apart from that incovenience its a good little monitor.

Mine has a tendency to show a yellow picture sometimes, the flap over the control panel has a broken hingepin and the power switch is broken - all common issues apparently.

Nice gift!
Steve C is offline  
Old 17 April 2012, 12:12   #7
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve C View Post
Also I seem to remember the overscan program provided on the setup disk was better than the one from workbench - it allowed one to centralise the image better. Then when using native resolutions I had adjust vertical size and horizontal position to centralise the image
What disk exactly is this? Can you upload it to the Zone plz?
magnetic is offline  
Old 17 April 2012, 22:01   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
What disk exactly is this? Can you upload it to the Zone plz?
It's this one:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
The 1942 came with a set up disk which I can zone for you - I think it just contains basic WB monitor drivers updated from WB3.
prowler is offline  
Old 17 April 2012, 22:39   #9
Steve C
Junior Member
Steve C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Burnley, Lancs
Posts: 56
Sorry. A hard drive failure means I can't make an adf on my a4k. I seem to remember it was on one of my warez cds but I can't find the thing. Maybe Peter can help you out. Follow the instructions on the readme - you have to set up PAL and/or NTSC first then the hires modes.

Sorry I can't be of more help.
Steve C is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dying 1942 monitor? desantii support.Hardware 5 26 August 2010 17:10
1942 monitor mabus MarketPlace 4 20 March 2009 20:27
Heads up - Commodore 1942 Parsec MarketPlace 0 24 February 2009 00:47
Commodore 1942 Monitor? BarrySWE support.Hardware 6 11 March 2006 14:18
commodore 1942 monitor redblade support.Hardware 27 26 September 2005 03:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14817 seconds with 13 queries