English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2012, 19:07   #1
lewis_slade
 
Posts: n/a
Best modern day monitor to use with Amiga?

Hi there, just feeling around to see which modern day monitors any of you here think is a good call to use with an Amiga 600?

Currently have it wired up to my big lcd flatscreen TV, but want to give it it's own little desk in the corner of the bedroom, therefore need a good monitor. Also, best speakers?????

Thank Youoooo.

Lewis x
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 April 2012, 23:47   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,689
How about a smaller LCD TV via an RGB-SCART lead and use the built-in speakers?

That's what I use now (19-inch widescreen LCD HDTV) as my Amiga monitor of choice.

Last edited by prowler; 14 April 2012 at 22:12. Reason: Typos.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 April 2012, 02:30   #3
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,583
No RGB-SCART in the USA.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 13 April 2012, 13:14   #4
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 2,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis_slade View Post
Hi there, just feeling around to see which modern day monitors any of you here think is a good call to use with an Amiga 600?

Currently have it wired up to my big lcd flatscreen TV, but want to give it it's own little desk in the corner of the bedroom, therefore need a good monitor. Also, best speakers?????

Thank Youoooo.

Lewis x
Have you thought about buying an IndivisonECS, that's probably the best bet.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 April 2012, 04:27   #5
Ami_GFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA North America
Posts: 127
I'm not too familiar with the A600 but I assume it has a composite out and that's what you're using to feed it into your TV. The obvious thing would be a smaller LCD TV monitor with a composite in. If you want better video quality, you will need some sort of flicker fixer/scan doulbler to use the vga input and the cheap option with some work on your part to make the rgb lead and power connector is one of these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/330605923350...84.m1423.l2649

The more expensive option is the Indivision ECS.

RGB-Scart isn't totally out of the question in the US, you just have to really look for an LCD TV with a scart input. They do show up on eBay. Do a search in the eBay Televisions catagory with the word "scart" and check the little box under the search button that says "include description". Scart is not a selling point in the US so the word won't be in the listing title but it will probably be in the description in the listing page. You will usually get 7 or 8 tvs with scart input at any given time. If you get one, you will have to import a rgb-scart cable from the UK or Europe and pay a high shipping fee but the cable itself isn't that exensive.
Ami_GFX is offline  
Old 17 April 2012, 00:37   #6
lewis_slade
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you everyone for the comments, much appriciated, I shal go away and do some thinking.


Roll on x
 
Old 17 April 2012, 03:20   #7
prabmire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Se London
Posts: 79
Get a multisync monitor, or find an old commodore 1084 monitor (this is the best amiga monitor you can get!)
prabmire is offline  
Old 22 April 2012, 21:13   #8
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 36
Posts: 680
I've had this same dilema for some time now and have tried various LCD's over the years with mixed results...Usually RGB scart is your best bet if money is tight..Fortunately for me I still have my Philips CM8833-MKII and she's still gives a bright and crisp image all these years on.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 23 April 2012, 22:17   #9
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 63
Posts: 674
i have a boxed CM11342/05G phillips monitor.

grease my palm with a few shecles,,and its yours,

i am about 17 miles up the road from you if you live in ( highbridge som )
twizzle is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 05:08   #10
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
Just a wee note in regards to a scart lead:

I plug my Amiga into my 42" TV and it was 'perfect' just as good or even better than a Amiga era monitor. To get a full screen: I just flick between tv settings. Think I'll get myself a 20" something flatscreen TV.
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 12:16   #11
I.Did
in retromode
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 72
My A1200 (PAL) is connected with RGB-SCART to my 32" LCD TV (from Wong's garage in Hong Kong). With the Blizzard 1230 IV and 128 Mb RAM 1024 x 768 is no problem.
I.Did is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wanting to experiment, using Amiga (emulator) as my day to day machine, need advice mmace New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 17 August 2013 19:16
New Year Day = throw CD32 in the dishwasher day Paul_s Hardware mods 16 03 January 2009 20:45
The closest you'll get to a modern day Amiga experience Galaxy Retrogaming General Discussion 8 15 June 2008 21:31
OS3.9 on Modern Monitor without SD/FF Rochabian support.Apps 14 28 April 2007 13:59
Modern day Elite Pyromania request.Apps 4 14 November 2002 00:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15184 seconds with 13 queries