English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2012, 21:05   #1
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 289
Post IndivisionECS Picasso96 driver released today

http://www.a1k.org/forum/showpost.ph...0&postcount=14


EDIT:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?p=508355

New offical thread, with more details.

Last edited by Ratte; 06 April 2012 at 20:33. Reason: news added
Ratte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 03 April 2012, 12:16   #2
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
I dont have an ECS machine let alone an IndiECS, but that's very cool Im surprised no-one here at eab didnt comment before me, seeing as you posted it yesterday

Slightly off topic, but still relevant.....

Any idea if SDL software will work using it? I know 98% or so of sdl software will be too slow to run at a usable speed on an ECS machine, but it'd be handy for doing sprite rips using one of the dozens of sdl emulator ports available for a random example.

I have an amithlon box, so I can use said software, but there has been times while using my a1200 that Ive thought itd be handy to make use of some of the sdl software I recompiled for os3.x, even in a not completely functional sort of way. Im sure there's others out there using custom chipset hardware that could also benefit here and there by having extra software available to them.

I have a sneaking suspicion though that sdl itself relies on at least 8bit screens.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 14:45   #3
Bamiga2002
Blizzard PPC Club rocks!

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 3,151
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
It was a hoax, a goddamn HOAX!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 15:26   #4
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Ahh. Hehe. Not bad then actually. Sounded feasible/reasonable and not too crazy like most april fools jokes
Im in Australia though so the dates didnt match for me (that's my excuse at least)
fishyfish is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 15:28   #5
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 42
Posts: 279
so is it possible 256 colors in Workbench on a ECS machine like the A600 using the indivision scandoubler?
can anyone explain?

Last edited by clauddio; 03 April 2012 at 15:52.
clauddio is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 15:53   #6
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Ah, I forgot about that. Maybe sdl software could have worked with IndiECS p96 driver if it wasnt an april fools joke

@clauddio
I dont really know many details, but I think there is a 256color mode indivisionecs offers. There's a video of doom using it on an a600 on youtube.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 16:06   #7
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 42
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyfish View Post

@clauddio
I dont really know many details, but I think there is a 256color mode indivisionecs offers. There's a video of doom using it on an a600 on youtube.
so if doom can run in 256 colors the workbench also can run in 256 colors
that's must be the reason to create the p96 driver for the workbench

also the new indivision AGA mk2 should be capable of a special 256 color driver for the workbench....theoretically faster than AGA...but let's see
clauddio is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 18:31   #8
Symplex
 
Posts: n/a
Its running on my machine ....
Its today the 3. April ....
BUT dont expect it to be very fast !
BELIEVE !! BELIEVE !! BELIEVE !! BELIEVE !!

The joke 2012 @ A1K was in the hardware section, where
Paradroid told us, how he detects different hardware (Amiga/Atari/C64).

Last edited by Symplex; 03 April 2012 at 18:44.
 
Old 03 April 2012, 18:36   #9
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
As I mentioned Im not relly sure of the details, so take this with a grain of salt, but software has to be written/modified to support the 256 color mode. If memory serves me correctly the screenmode comes directly from a framebuffer in the indivision or something like that. I think there was a downside to its potential as well, maybe something like only a simple api to use it and no further development.

I really cant recall properly, and as I dont have an ecs machine even let alone an IndiECS, I didnt take a lot of notice when it was being spoken about. Perhaps a browse of youtube might give some more details.

If Im not mistaken though the IndiECS p96 driver was actually an april fools joke?

Last edited by fishyfish; 03 April 2012 at 19:43.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 20:23   #10
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 289
i swear by my testicles ... symples wrote a real p96-driver for the indivision ecs framebuffer mode.
his kind of joke .. he posted it 1st april to make no one belive it .. even i coudnt belive it first.
but now on 3rd april ... its still working.


ITS TRUE ...
Ratte is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:03   #11
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 326
so its in apha stage and says in the read me it could corrupt system files. Think it would be better to wait for a stable release then.

Anyone try it?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 01:07   #12
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Hmm can we have a screenshot for proof?
magnetic is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 04:59   #13
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 42
Posts: 279
for curiosity I read the docs and yes you can get a 256 color workbench on a ECS amiga
but the author says that the bus of the indi is slow around 3.5mb/s....which is slower than aga so I assume is not fast
clauddio is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 07:20   #14
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 2,973
Cool that someone has done this even if it might be too slow to be of any real use.

Maybe Jens will get around to updating the IndivisionECS with a more powerful FPGA one day will could improve the speed?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 09:55   #15
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 289
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?p=507724
v0.1b

http://youtu.be/bNAgqdsFgR4
Ratte is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 10:57   #16
Symplex
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Cool that someone has done this even if it might be too slow to be of any real use.

Maybe Jens will get around to updating the IndivisionECS with a more powerful FPGA one day will could improve the speed?
The FPGA is fast enough, but the communication interface between the hardware is limited to the amiga speed (3,5MB/s). And a lot of 'I/O' is made without it is needed. So there is a (little) optimization possible. Its not as slow as you think ;-). Just try it, if you have time.
 
Old 04 April 2012, 13:04   #17
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,511
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I will try it tonight I think and report back
mfilos is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 20:52   #18
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Blairgowrie
Age: 36
Posts: 508
Heehee, so wait, the joke was that it wasn't a joke? well played sir, well played!

Do I understand correctly that this is sorta like RTG in that the cpu will be drawing a chunky screen, but not like RTG in that it must draw it in chip RAM?


[dream]
(Hmmm, coming soon from individual computers, ACAvision adaptor. interfacing the indivision with fast ram on ACA cards)
[/dream]
jimbob is offline  
Old 05 April 2012, 00:19   #19
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 326
Woot go Mfilos! And a full video review to right?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 05 April 2012, 01:23   #20
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 2,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Heehee, so wait, the joke was that it wasn't a joke? well played sir, well played!

Do I understand correctly that this is sorta like RTG in that the cpu will be drawing a chunky screen, but not like RTG in that it must draw it in chip RAM?
The IndivisionECS already had a chunky mode (see the old DOOM thread for more details). Basically someone has written a Picasso96 driver for it's chunky mode so that it can act as a 'real' RTG graphics card which is very cool.

The limitations are the amount of video memory that can be addressed (don't know how much?) and the speed of the bus to the IndivisionECS (which is slow).

Anyway, this should give all ECS owners the ability to run a nice 256 color (maybe more?) WB without running out of CHIPRAM.

Yes a video review would be great Mfilos my friend.

Hey I've just had an idea, see if you can get my DOOM port running in RTG mode, it might work.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 05 April 2012 at 02:44.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloanto Released Amiga forever 2013 Today. ma693541 News 6 11 May 2013 21:54
OpenPCI Radeon driver released Ratte News 7 28 December 2012 07:27
Picasso96, how to activate uaegfx driver ? Maverick357 support.WinUAE 7 21 February 2011 14:36
Problem with installing Picasso96 driver zeb support.WinUAE 3 11 July 2007 15:45
Wireless network driver beta version released Paul News 2 21 September 2004 05:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26339 seconds with 13 queries