English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 March 2012, 16:42   #21
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Sorry, but I've just realized that I made a mistake in my last versions of FixScalos. I will remove the archives temporarily and do some more checks first.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 March 2012, 01:56   #22
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Finally, update 7 and FixScalos 0.4 can be downloaded from the first posting, now.

I have to apologize for all the confusion which I may have caused with update 6 and FixScalos 0.2 and 0.3. Sorry for that, but I made a nice mistake which let me believe that I already found the perfect solution for FixScalos at that time. Unfortunately, I used the wrong byte for checking the type of the colormap in the ReleasePen() function and therefore it was disabled permanently. In the new version of FixScalos the ReleasePen() function, which was responsible for all the crashes, is disabled only as long as the Workbench screen is closed. I really hope that this is the end of the story....

Btw, the overscan and screenmode preferences are working great with FixScalos. Now, I can use the EURO36 monitor with a 720*600 resolution on WinUAE (not on a real Amiga). This needs a few tweaks in the startup-sequence instead of the normal monitor crap.

Code:
IF EXISTS DEVS:monitors/EURO36
   DEVS:monitors/EURO36 MINROW=0x10 TOTROWS=0x140
   C:PatchOverscan ID=79000 O=N   0 0 639 199
   C:PatchOverscan ID=79000 O=M -40 0 679 299
   C:SetDefMon EURO36
EndIF

Last edited by PeterK; 21 March 2012 at 10:50.
PeterK is offline  
Old 22 March 2012, 05:38   #23
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
thanks for all ya efforts it really helps our little machine shine
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 March 2012, 19:07   #24
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Peter mate sorry for the late reply but I needed quite some time to test this thoroughly before implementing it into my uber custom ClassicWB setup

So the verdict is...

IT WORKS LIKE A CHARM!!!

I made some minor alterations:
- I commented PatchRAM from the patches since I already have an "Ram-Handler 42.24" inside my Custom ROM.
- I commented the LoadModule declarations for both Icon.library and SCSI.device as I have them in my Custom ROM.
- I removed the PatchWB from my WBStartup folder since now it's in C and run from Startup-Sequence

Other than that, it works very well as you can see from the following screnshots

Just a stock boot Screenshot with nothing but ToolManager visible
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen1.png
Views:	164
Size:	83.0 KB
ID:	31026


Some screenshots from AllIconsOnWB3.1 archive by PeterK showing OS4 icons and DualPNG Ken's Icons.
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen2.png
Views:	142
Size:	76.1 KB
ID:	31027 Click image for larger version

Name:	screen3.png
Views:	216
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	31028


...and the new Icon information module from Scalos! How awesome is that!
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen4.png
Views:	165
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	31029


Thanks for the CopyIcon patch as well Peter! It sure rocks a lot more than IconInstaller.
mfilos is offline  
Old 24 March 2012, 22:44   #25
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
FixScalos 0.5 now takes a possible failure of OpenWB() or CloseWB() into account.

@cosmicfrog and mfilos
Thank you for your feedback! Good to know, that at least some people have use for my small extensions for ClassicWB and Scalos.

Concerning IconMaster (IconInstaller): you can still use it if the newicon.library emulation from Stephan Rupprecht is also installed. Depends on what you like or prefer, CopyIcon and IconInstaller have different features.

Mfilos, the link from your blog to this thread seems to be broken. And where is your video?
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 March 2012, 23:10   #26
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
@PeterK
The link from my blog to this thread works fine for me!
My video which I took some weeks ago was in the previous article but for not searching for it you can see it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPMu1H3zeig
mfilos is offline  
Old 24 March 2012, 23:29   #27
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Fantastic video, mfilos
Unbelievable, what's all possible with an A600. Excellent work, thank you.
The link on your new, updated A600 page works correctly. It's the page from March 5'th where it doesn't work and where I could not find the video.
PeterK is offline  
Old 24 March 2012, 23:37   #28
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Thanks for the good words my friend and thanks for pointing the broken link! I fixed it already
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 March 2012, 01:14   #29
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
FixScalos 0.6 should solve problems with refreshing icons. The UpdateWorkbench() function was disabled in Scalos 1.2d and is emulated now.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 March 2012, 02:36   #30
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Yep it sure does
Icon refresh works without issues now \o/

FixScalos ftw!
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 March 2012, 10:10   #31
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Added a modified version 37.0 of the excellent AutoUpdateWB tool.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 March 2012, 17:44   #32
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I love AutoUpdateWB!
It rox so much that it can run now even in WB3.1!!! Just tested it and it works as good as my OS3.9 installation \o/

Thanks a lot for your continuous work Peter mate
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 March 2012, 18:13   #33
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
This work is awesome. Can't wait to get around to the next ClassicWB update and slip it in if that's ok with you PeterK.

I will of course give full credits during the Install routine and on the webpage.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 March 2012, 20:20   #34
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Yes, of course, it's ok to use these add-ons in your next ClassicWB release. But the credits should go to the original authors like Stephan Rupprecht for his CopyIcon tool and the newicon.library emulation and to Elena Novaretti and Massimo Tantignone for their AutoUpdateWB.
PeterK is offline  
Old 29 March 2012, 20:51   #35
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Thanks a lot PeterK, much appreciated. I'll make sure I mention them too.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 09:48   #36
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
ClassicWB30Icons => all icons for ClassicWB on OS 3.0+ and Scalos 1.2d:

See above, please !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ClassicWB on OS 3,0.png
Views:	369
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	31115   Click image for larger version

Name:	CrystalClearAmiga.png
Views:	285
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	31118   Click image for larger version

Name:	Smurf & PowerIcons.png
Views:	276
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	31119   Click image for larger version

Name:	SystemInfos.png
Views:	244
Size:	33.3 KB
ID:	31120   Click image for larger version

Name:	BoxIconsByMad-Matt.png
Views:	293
Size:	234.1 KB
ID:	31142  


Last edited by PeterK; 02 April 2012 at 03:00.
PeterK is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 13:42   #37
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 36
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Wow that is awesome man and a great addition to Bloodwych's packs since now they can work even without Kickstart 3.1!!!
Lotsa kudos!

Comparing it to the former installation I spotted the following changes:
- Classes/Datatypes/amigaiconobj35.datatype (39.30 instead of 40.18)
- Libs/icon.library (46.4.228 instead of 46.4.227)
- Libs/iconobject.library (39.10 instead of 40.6)

Is it safe for us that used your previous version successfully to our 3.1 environment to use these older versions (not your icon.library ofc) of files (iconobject datatype and library)?

I'll report back with a screenshot later on

Peter you rock man \o/
mfilos is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 14:04   #38
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
ClassicWB30Icons => all icons for ClassicWB on OS 3.0+ and Scalos 1.2d:

The iconobject.library and the relating datatypes didn't change since "update5", I would say. Maybe, you didn't replace these files before, because they are older, but the v39 versions are much more compatible to Scalos 1.2d than the v40 iconobject files. So, please downgrade ! They don't cause graphic corruptions while icons are dragged around and they don't crash with frames or borders!

The icon.library 46.4.228, the CopyIcon tool and the newicon.library 44.4 are just downgraded to OS 3.0 now without losing any possible features in OS 3.1+, as I hope. But if somebody discovers any drawbacks, then please don't hesitate to report them here, since I have only limited time to test each and every configuration which could be installed in reality.

And another request to the moderator:
Could you please change the thread title again and give WB 3.0 more attention now? Thank you !!

Last edited by PeterK; 31 March 2012 at 16:13.
PeterK is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 16:22   #39
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Brilliant work - love the screenshots, very impressive! Also thread title changed.

A big thanks for supporting Scalos 1.2d - I think it's the one most people use on Classic Amigas. Once I get some free time, I will thoroughly test in the ClassicWB Scalos packs. As I said above, I hope to add an option so the user can choose to add your icon support upon installation. Perhaps I'll also add it to the enable/disable components menu too just in case people need to disable it for a compatibility issue.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 16:41   #40
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 1,156
Thank you, Bloodwych, I didn't notice that you are the moderator too (OOPS, I'm soo blind), but of course, why not ?? ClassicWB is your great project and I still discover more and more nice features every day when I play with it.

Installation as an option is relatively easy, but it could be very hairy and weird to write a safe script to disable and re-enable all my add-ons on the fly. The icon.library, for example, is loaded resident with LoadModule and many other things won't work anymore if you only remove my library. There are a lot of dependencies. Nevertheless, you already have lots of experience in writing these scripts and may find it easy to solve or avoid these conflicts. If I can help you in any way then please just ask me. I would like to do that, for sure.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backdrop in Scalos (ClassicWB) 8bitbubsy support.Other 3 05 September 2014 11:16
OS 3.5 icons on 3.1 & WHDLoad hangs when displaying icons PoulpSquad support.WinUAE 22 14 September 2012 01:57
Any cool SD-card icons for ClassicWB? emuola project.ClassicWB 1 21 August 2012 10:50
ClassicWB: file operations hang in Scalos but OK in Dopus Quaxo76 project.ClassicWB 8 29 August 2010 12:09
Whd Icons on ClassicWB cybernoid project.ClassicWB 4 01 March 2007 20:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23141 seconds with 14 queries