English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 March 2012, 11:14   #41
Bamiga2002
bye BlizzardPPC...

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 3,154
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I'm really not into those dockies, so my choice will be ToolsDaemon as it has been in my previous WB-setup. Recommend that fully!

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 21 March 2012 at 13:10.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 March 2012, 11:51   #42
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,414
I never understood the need of a dock anyway. You can "leave out" icons on the Workbench anyway so....

Last edited by Akira; 21 March 2012 at 17:01.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 12:34   #43
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
@Bamiga2002
Yep I agree to that as well! It's just that you said about Polynet and that's why I interfered and tested the others as well.

@Akira
I also prefer the "Leave Out" of icons for my A600 and in general lower specc Amigas.
For higher specc Amigas though, Amidock is really nice and easy to use without much hassle.
mfilos is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 13:13   #44
Bamiga2002
bye BlizzardPPC...

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 3,154
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I never understood the need of a dick anyway. You can "leave out" icons on the Workbench anyway so....
So you call yourself "dickless" so to say...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
@Bamiga2002
Yep I agree to that as well! It's just that you said about Polynet and that's why I interfered and tested the others as well.

@Akira
I also prefer the "Leave Out" of icons for my A600 and in general lower specc Amigas.
For higher specc Amigas though, Amidock is really nice and easy to use without much hassle.
You dude was fast testing the 2 "dickies" I mentioned
I also "leave out" the most important icons to always have access to them proggies. AmiDock can stay with OS 3.9 it always loads up fast anyway.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 13:43   #45
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Hehe cheers mate.

I believe for low specc systems... the best (at least for my own taste) dock is the oldskool ToolManager which was on some MWB screenshots and reviews as well.
You can check a quick setup that I made for my A600 custom ClassicWB environent some minutes ago (only 3 icons but you get the point)

mfilos is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 14:16   #46
Bamiga2002
bye BlizzardPPC...

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 3,154
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Just out of curiosity: can you put text to the ToolManager icons just like in AmiDock or do you have to manually edit the icon images to include text?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 14:28   #47
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Just out of curiosity: can you put text to the ToolManager icons just like in AmiDock or do you have to manually edit the icon images to include text?
You can enable Text as well from the Dock settings.
This is how it looks

mfilos is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 16:58   #48
squidbass
Registered User
squidbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southport The Last Resort
Posts: 171
Hi mfilos

I would love to know how you got this configured - everytime I've tried I don't get the dock to appear...I am going to try and give another go as I'm looking to setup a similar dock for my A1200...

squidbass
squidbass is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 17:01   #49
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
So you call yourself "dickless" so to say...?
Fucking LOL! I didn't realize that hilarious typo I made


I vote as well for a ToolManager guide, I never got the docks to display, EVER!

Also: are you running a screenshot program on your miggy? The ones I found only work on 020+ and the one I have that runs on 000 is really crappy (Picsaver) and doesn't do screenshots of special screens (like ProTracker)
Akira is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 17:17   #50
squidbass
Registered User
squidbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southport The Last Resort
Posts: 171
Is Sgrab only 020? I use that and it works well on an A1200...
squidbass is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 17:25   #51
squidbass
Registered User
squidbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southport The Last Resort
Posts: 171
Big grin

Maybe we can persuade mfilos (The Dock King) to give us some ToolManager tips......:-)
squidbass is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 21:11   #52
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Screenshot program I use on my real A600 is SGrab.
These screenshots though where caught from my clone A600 environment on WinUAE where I try everything before I install them on the real Amiga.

Alright I'll make a guide for all to have
Stay tuned...

Last edited by mfilos; 21 March 2012 at 22:14.
mfilos is offline  
Old 21 March 2012, 23:32   #53
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Ok there you go peepz... it didn't took much time (about 2+ hours but anyway)

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/939939/Guide...oolManager.pdf

Last edited by mfilos; 22 March 2012 at 11:02.
mfilos is offline  
Old 22 March 2012, 16:51   #54
squidbass
Registered User
squidbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southport The Last Resort
Posts: 171
mfilos you are the dude!

Your guide is excellent and I've finally after years of trying got ToolManager to display a dock! Now to get to work creating a monster dock to go across the bottom of my highgfx screen. Pictures to follow!

Once again a warm thank you for creating such an easy to understand, brilliantly written guide. I hope others will benefit too from this!


squidbass
squidbass is offline  
Old 22 March 2012, 17:34   #55
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by squidbass View Post
mfilos you are the dude!

Your guide is excellent
I wholeheartedly agree

I Am yet to try the guide but will do so as soon as I have some little time off!
Akira is offline  
Old 22 March 2012, 18:09   #56
Bamiga2002
bye BlizzardPPC...

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 3,154
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I never understood the need of a dock anyway. You can "leave out" icons on the Workbench anyway so....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I wholeheartedly agree

I Am yet to try the guide but will do so as soon as I have some little time off!
Sorry, just trying to figure you out and what the heck contradicts a little here
I'll be trying ToolManager also so this wasn't meant as phucking with you

Thanks mfilos you're a helpful dude!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 22 March 2012, 19:38   #57
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Sorry, just trying to figure you out and what the heck contradicts a little here
Just because I don't see the point doesn't mean I can't try, does it?
Also, I might change my mind. I never got ToolManager to work. If I can, maybe I finally understand.

Don't be a DOCK to me!
Akira is offline  
Old 23 March 2012, 10:51   #58
Bamiga2002
bye BlizzardPPC...

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 3,154
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Now that's the true Amiga spirit right there !
I guess you'll figure out why someone wants to play Doom on Amiga then mmmkay?

(stops being a DOCK now... )
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 10:29   #59
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
I have a friend who works on the docks.

I'll never look at him the same again

Back on topic though, I like Clickclose. Opening a drawer with middle mouse button (or something else user defined) will make it close the parent drawer when it open the new one. One of my biggest peeves about workbench is that it opens a new window for every drawer opened, so was happy when I found Clickclose.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 16:07   #60
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,527
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I edited my guide today, since I managed to use Icon Files (.info) as well on Docks using ToolManager!

The Guide/Read Me file said that only brushes can be used on this version (latest) unless someone used an icon datatype.
I made lotsa tests with various datatypes and I found only one that worked just fine.

So... the new guide has the same link as the old one:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/939939/Guide...oolManager.pdf

You can check a screenshot from my A600 using some nice Dock icons that I found on Aminet and customized them a bit for my own taste


Last edited by mfilos; 03 April 2012 at 16:24.
mfilos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed Deneb and now nothing. RMK support.Hardware 8 03 February 2011 02:12
What Enviroment is installed here? D4Ni3L3 support.Apps 7 03 November 2008 19:38
Various HD-installed Games Echo support.WinUAE 2 20 July 2003 14:15
Installed OS 3.9 but.....!!! dmrvf support.Hardware 8 11 June 2003 16:04
Installed games. Fred the Fop request.Old Rare Games 8 05 November 2001 22:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27507 seconds with 13 queries