English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 March 2012, 20:19   #301
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 39
Posts: 915
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
yeah ! i will maybe got time to finish this Great Game

Thx 4 all !

definitely the best Amiga Emulator i've tryed under Linux
Foul is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 13 March 2012, 20:36   #302
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 39
Posts: 915
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
I would love to, but this couldn't possible work without some button/axis/hat mappings under [default] (part of file missing?)
mp_8866_dual_usb_joypad.ini work like this. no mapping just :

[device]
name = wisegroup_ltd_mp_8866_dual_usb_joypad
type = joystick/gamepad

[default]
include = wisegroup_ltd/tigergame_ps_ps2_game_controller_adapter

and it's working well

so mad_catz_wired_xbox_360_controller_sfiv seems to don't need mapping and works well too

tryed with or without buttons mapping for both joystick and nothing change...

edit : the only things, is not all the buttons are recognised... waiting to full emulate CD32 buttons

Last edited by Foul; 13 March 2012 at 20:48.
Foul is online now  
Old 13 March 2012, 20:51   #303
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 33
Posts: 2,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
mp_8866_dual_usb_joypad.ini work like this. no mapping just :

[device]
name = wisegroup_ltd_mp_8866_dual_usb_joypad
type = joystick/gamepad

[default]
include = wisegroup_ltd/tigergame_ps_ps2_game_controller_adapter

and it's working well

so mad_catz_wired_xbox_360_controller_sfiv seems to don't need mapping and works well too

tryed with or without buttons mapping for both joystick and change nothing...

edit : the only things, is not all the buttons are recognised... waiting to full emulate CD32 buttons
Yes, but the "include = common/gamepad" is special: it configures amiga and amigac32 based on "universal" event names (http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/custom...-configuration), but requires that names such as "south_button" etc is defined when common/gamepad is included.

wisegroup_ltd_mp_8866_dual_usb_joypad can simply include tigergame_ps_ps2_game_controller_adapter because tigergame_ps_ps2_game_controller_adapter has defined button/axis mapping.

The reason the Mad Catz controller works could be because it identifies itself as an Microsoft Xbox-controller, and therefore uses that configuration file? (The log file will reveal the answer).
FrodeSolheim is online now  
Old 13 March 2012, 21:01   #304
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 39
Posts: 915
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Just retested and without button mapping no longer works

so i copied the x_box_360_pad.ini button mapping in it and now it's ok

i'm using http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/joytest_CP under Workbench to test all buttons/joy/mapping
config/logs attached
Attached Files
File Type: txt Default.fs-uae.txt (690 Bytes, 43 views)
File Type: txt FS-UAE.log.txt (41.7 KB, 39 views)
Foul is online now  
Old 14 March 2012, 00:37   #305
LePiaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 11
Just discovered this emulator - great idea and great work ! Do you need help with coding or something else?

cheers,
LePiaf
LePiaf is offline  
Old 14 March 2012, 08:37   #306
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 39
Posts: 915
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
like i said in another forum, i must stop playing with fs-uae :

Yesterday, i was watching some Amiga demos on youtube, and i pressed F12 to quit at the end...



Foul is online now  
Old 14 March 2012, 23:51   #307
wilshy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SouthEast-ish UK
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to wilshy Send a message via MSN to wilshy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Yesterday, i was watching some Amiga demos on youtube, and i pressed F12 to quit at the end...



Haha.

Go visit the real world
wilshy is offline  
Old 15 March 2012, 11:43   #308
browniesrgut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: saint-etienne/france
Posts: 24
Hey Frode !

Thanks for your work, I've spent many hours (re)playing with my favorite good old games. But I was thinking, what about a(beautifully integrated to the interface) file brower that would let you choose the (hard-)disk file, like that :

F12 -> DFx -> Beautifully integrated to the interface list of files instead of floppy_image_x setting in conf file.

Whad'ya think ? is it possible ?

Love and kisses
browniesrgut is offline  
Old 15 March 2012, 12:56   #309
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 33
Posts: 2,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Just retested and without button mapping no longer works
so i copied the x_box_360_pad.ini button mapping in it and now it's ok
i'm using http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/joytest_CP under Workbench to test all buttons/joy/mapping
config/logs attached
Good, I'll bundle a mad catz config in the next version!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LePiaf View Post
Just discovered this emulator - great idea and great work ! Do you need help with coding or something else?
cheers,
LePiaf
I have received several offers of help (thank you everyone!). The help that is most useful to me know is just having people test the emulator and reports problems. Especially when new versions are released (test new functions, test stuff that is supposedly fixed, etc, and report if stuff that worked earlier is broken). I currently feel coding help will not be that helpful, since I would probably spend more time coordinating that help than doing it myself ;-) -at least at this stage.

(But perhaps I should create a email list or something where I could register people willing to help? So help is easy at hand when I need it?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Yesterday, i was watching some Amiga demos on youtube, and i pressed F12 to quit at the end...


Quote:
Originally Posted by browniesrgut View Post
(...) But I was thinking, what about a(beautifully integrated to the interface) file brower that would let you choose the (hard-)disk file, like that :

F12 -> DFx -> Beautifully integrated to the interface list of files instead of floppy_image_x setting in conf file.
You are not the first to request this, and I have answered it earlier. I am not against this function on principle, but I think this function should be based on an actual need, and therefore we also need to discuss what it is supposed to achieve. I see several possible needs this function could fullfil:
  1. Swapping floppes during the game (this is what floppy_image_x is designed for, not changing games)
  2. Changing game on your desktop/laptop computer -by changing floppies and using reset, or to start a game "quickly" bo booting a diskless config and then inserting disks for the game you want to play.
  3. Changing game on a HTPC -by changing floppies and using reset, all using a gamepad from a distance.

I don't now what you want to achieve, but assuming it is 2 or 3, yes, a disk browser could help with both these points -but some games also need other configuration options, so it is not a complete solution.

For point 2, I think the need is better fulfilled by a launcher application with a traditional GUI, since you would also be able to change config etc (and I have no plans to embed a full configuration UI à la WinUAE into FS-UAE - I only plan UI for changes that *need* to be done after starting the emulation).

For point 3, I think it would be better to put work into a nice fullscreen game browser (controllable with a gamepad, just like FS-UAE) -something like this: http://fengestad.no/fs-game-center/screenshot.png (this is an actual screenshot from my own unreleased frontend, not a mockup).

Comments?
FrodeSolheim is online now  
Old 15 March 2012, 14:56   #310
Ravenlord
 
Posts: n/a
Guess his basic message is... Make FS-UAE more user friendly. Something which us dummies and newbies will also understand. Some sort of GUI thingy would be great. Right now many of us still don't understand where to put which file and what do we have to create. Kickstart Roms/Bios, ADF. scan, how to run WHDLoad files, CD32, Controller setup, Keyboard key configuration, Chipset changes (OCS, ECS, AGA)... All that good stuff. Nothing has to be pre-configured. Just more clearer/visible.
 
Old 15 March 2012, 16:46   #311
browniesrgut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: saint-etienne/france
Posts: 24
Hey Frode,

Your screenshot is lovely, is this something secretly cooking in your hoven right now ?

In fact, your launcher idea is great ? It reminds me of that : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUS81EL5CbQ

Like Ravenlors said, user-friendlyness can be nice sometimes.
browniesrgut is offline  
Old 15 March 2012, 23:41   #312
LePiaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
I have received several offers of help (thank you everyone!). The help that is most useful to me know is just having people test the emulator and reports problems. Especially when new versions are released (test new functions, test stuff that is supposedly fixed, etc, and report if stuff that worked earlier is broken). I currently feel coding help will not be that helpful, since I would probably spend more time coordinating that help than doing it myself ;-) -at least at this stage.

(But perhaps I should create a email list or something where I could register people willing to help? So help is easy at hand when I need it?)
No prob man, just yell when you get tired of grinding and want to become boss

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
For point 3, I think it would be better to put work into a nice fullscreen game browser (controllable with a gamepad, just like FS-UAE) -something like this: http://fengestad.no/fs-game-center/screenshot.png (this is an actual screenshot from my own unreleased frontend, not a mockup).

Comments?
Good lookin', maybe it can be in some point be integrated with hol or lemon game databases, to have some funky meta info about games in collection

LePiaf
LePiaf is offline  
Old 16 March 2012, 22:45   #313
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 33
Posts: 2,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenlord View Post
Guess his basic message is... Make FS-UAE more user friendly. Something which us dummies and newbies will also understand. Some sort of GUI thingy would be great. Right now many of us still don't understand where to put which file and what do we have to create. Kickstart Roms/Bios, ADF. scan, how to run WHDLoad files, CD32, Controller setup, Keyboard key configuration, Chipset changes (OCS, ECS, AGA)... All that good stuff. Nothing has to be pre-configured. Just more clearer/visible.
Sure, but this is not necessarily something FS-UAE itself needs to have -a separate launcher could make it quick and easy for beginners to set up FS-UAE. There are already a couple of third-party configuration / launcher programs available:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63400
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gfsuae/

Also, better documentation / howtos (a beginner's guide to FS-UAE) would of course help a lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by browniesrgut View Post
Hey Frode,
Your screenshot is lovely, is this something secretly cooking in your hoven right now ?
In fact, your launcher idea is great ? It reminds me of that : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUS81EL5CbQ
Yes, it is more or less done -Which means that it is working for me, but will require documentation and cleanup before a public release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by browniesrgut View Post
Like Ravenlors said, user-friendlyness can be nice sometimes.
Yes, but user-friendly can mean many things (and should not be confused with pretty ) -This game browser won't necessarily make FS-UAE easier to use for beginners (it is not a configuration frontend) -but it will make it easier (and nicer) to browse your game collection once you have everything set up correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LePiaf View Post
(...)
Good lookin', maybe it can be in some point be integrated with hol or lemon game databases, to have some funky meta info about games in collection
LePiaf
There does not seem to be a suitable open database with metadata and screenshots/covers of good enough quality, designed to be remotely accessed by programs. For instance, HOL has a limit on accesses per day, and LemonAmiga does not include covers. So I have created my own database with 100+ entries currently, but for game entries, I have added links to HOL and LemonAmiga entries so information can be cross-referenced.

Anyway, regarding FS-UAE, user-friendlyness, configuration, game browsing etc:

I think three different programs together should fulfill the important usage scenarios:

FS-UAE
This program focuses on emulation features, and UI which needs to present while a game is running. This includes floppy swapping and save states (But it could also include non-emulation features like an on-screen manual reader, so you can toggle between the game manual and game with the press of a button).

A Launcher / configuration program
This program will make FS-UAE easier to use for those not comfortable writing config files and reading documentation regarding configuration. This launcher can let the user select Amiga model/kickstart, configure floppies, set up HDs, etc. When the user chooses to start the emulation, FS-UAE is launched to take it from there.

It could also include a feature to let the user configure connected gamepads with a visual mapping tool. Even further,such a program could include a net play feature with a lobby and game chat, and could ensure that the configuration for all players is compatible before staring FS-UAE.

As noted earlier, there are already a couple of third-party launchers available.

Game Browser
This program would be designed to let the user browse his game collection (as in the screenshot at http://fengestad.no/fs-game-center/screenshot.png). If could download covers / game information from the Internet automatically, based on game name, or the user could supply this himself. Game configuration could possibly be read from configuration files created manually, or created by the configuration program, or even automatically created based on information from a centralized game database.

...

I think having these features separated into 3 programs is more of a strength than a weakness. It would make FS-UAE itself more focused on necessary features, and would allow the user to choose whether to additionally have a launcher or game browser -or both.

Launchers / game browsers can be created by me, or by third-parties without involving me, which means that I do not necessarily have to be a bottleneck, and it could mean that the user in the future will have a choice between several launchers and/or game browsers depending on taste and requirements.

In the meantime:
Version 0.9.13beta3 (http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/download-beta):
* Change in OpenGL renderer for Linux, making it work better with vsync on recent Linux systems with recent nVIDIA drivers.
* File system mounting made more compatible with net play (some issues with normal folders remaining, zip file mounting seems stable in net play).
* Fixed issue where (mounted) file system access slowed emulation.
* Fixed crash when referring to a non-existing disk file.
* Fixed crash when saving state wile using hardfiles (hdf).
* Reordered input menu items.
* Added Mad Catz Wired Xbox 360 Controller config.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 17 March 2012 at 00:39.
FrodeSolheim is online now  
Old 17 March 2012, 02:46   #314
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Age: 36
Posts: 4,552
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
FS, any plans for an Amiga OS4.1 version?
FOL is offline  
Old 18 March 2012, 01:37   #315
browniesrgut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: saint-etienne/france
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
I think having these features separated into 3 programs is more of a strength than a weakness. It would make FS-UAE itself more focused on necessary features, and would allow the user to choose whether to additionally have a launcher or game browser -or both.

Launchers / game browsers can be created by me, or by third-parties without involving me, which means that I do not necessarily have to be a bottleneck, and it could mean that the user in the future will have a choice between several launchers and/or game browsers depending on taste and requirements.
I think you're right. I don't have any coding skills, but if you need any help for testing or bug reporting or translations (I can do a french locale if you ever need so ) you can count on me.

Thanks for your answer and thank you for FS-UAE.
browniesrgut is offline  
Old 18 March 2012, 17:30   #316
Speedvicio
Registered User
Speedvicio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sicily/Palermo/Italy
Age: 36
Posts: 62
There are some problems with the latest beta version:

- The exit key from the emulator does not work sometimes
- Folders HD are mounted correctly, but are not recognized as slave
- The hard disk and floppy with no path (or "null" path) , are mounted by the emulator (in the stable release this problem does not occur)

A little tip, you may implement a keyboard shortcut to switch from window mode to fullscreen mode.

Sorry for bad explanation.
Speedvicio is offline  
Old 18 March 2012, 18:18   #317
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 33
Posts: 2,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
FS, any plans for an Amiga OS4.1 version?
Sorry, no

Quote:
Originally Posted by browniesrgut View Post
I think you're right. I don't have any coding skills, but if you need any help for testing or bug reporting or translations (I can do a french locale if you ever need so ) you can count on me.
Thanks for your answer and thank you for FS-UAE.
I have a prototype launcher with net play support, and if I get it out of the door at one point, it should probably be localized, and I'll let you do the French

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedvicio View Post
There are some problems with the latest beta version:

- The exit key from the emulator does not work sometimes
What OS are you using? When this happens, has the emulation freezed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedvicio View Post
- Folders HD are mounted correctly, but are not recognized as slave
Could you explain more so I understand the problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedvicio View Post
- The hard disk and floppy with no path (or "null" path) , are mounted by the emulator (in the stable release this problem does not occur)
I have verified the problem. -Will be fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedvicio View Post
A little tip, you may implement a keyboard shortcut to switch from window mode to fullscreen mode.
it is almost done!
FrodeSolheim is online now  
Old 18 March 2012, 18:52   #318
Speedvicio
Registered User
Speedvicio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sicily/Palermo/Italy
Age: 36
Posts: 62
I'll try to explain better.

I'm on linux (kubuntu), the emulator freeze , the menu gui work (F12) , but the command inside the GUI emu don't work.

For the problem of second mounted hd, i do not know how to explain it better, but i set at startup on amiga os 3.1 a folder with WHD games as a slave hard disk.
In theory the os recognizes it only when i browse through the physical path but not the WHD loader (appear a slave error).
This problem occurs only with the latest beta, stable version of your emulator behaves properly.
Speedvicio is offline  
Old 18 March 2012, 19:20   #319
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 33
Posts: 2,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedvicio View Post
I'll try to explain better.

I'm on linux (kubuntu), the emulator freeze , the menu gui work (F12) , but the command inside the GUI emu don't work.
Good -- this is a known problem. In a future version, FS-UAE will force-close if the emulator does not shut down cleanly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedvicio View Post
For the problem of second mounted hd, i do not know how to explain it better, but i set at startup on amiga os 3.1 a folder with WHD games as a slave hard disk.
In theory the os recognizes it only when i browse through the physical path but not the WHD loader (appear a slave error).
This problem occurs only with the latest beta, stable version of your emulator behaves properly.
I have made several other changes to the filesys handler in the latest betas (in order to make it compatible across OSes, with net play, etc). It will be easier to fix if I can reproduce the problem.

* What WHDLoad game are you trying to start?

* Perhaps you could run the command
Code:
find . > files.txt
from the slave disk folder, and send me the file list?

* Also, with the latest version I'm going to post, you can set an environment variable before running FS-UAE to get (lots of) file system debug info in the log
Code:
export FS_DEBUG_FILESYS=1
fs-uae ...
If I get the file list, and the log file (and info about the game you are trying to start, please also send the startup script if you can), then I'll fix it

(just wait a few minutes for 0.9.13beta5 first)
FrodeSolheim is online now  
Old 18 March 2012, 19:31   #320
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 33
Posts: 2,209
Changes since version 0.9.13beta3:
* Fix to not try to resolve empty paths.
* Fix mouse configuration for new input menu system.
* New options: window_width, window_height, window_resizable.
* File system mounting is compatible with net play.
* Show title / subtitle strings in window title.
* Clear keyboard modifier state when window is activated / receives focus.

Version 0.9.13beta5: http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/download-beta
FrodeSolheim is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible platform for Amiga Emulator? smiffy92 Amiga scene 1 18 February 2011 12:43
SPS Multi Platform Effort Is Go! CodyJarrett News 4 04 July 2010 21:13
Floppy Drive Emulation (Multi-Platform) Claw22000 Amiga scene 23 12 March 2009 07:01
poll for the multi platform tournament turrican3 EAB's competition 16 21 January 2009 21:24
Multi-platform Distributive Operating System (MPDOS) for Amiga JackTheKnife support.Hardware 2 10 December 2008 16:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28755 seconds with 14 queries