English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 April 2010, 12:38   #1
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 409
Touchscreen mouse emulation

Over on the GP32X forums, I've been informed by Mr Craig Rothwell that patching an amiga emulator to use a touchscreen to control the mouse is likely impossible.

I disagree - I envisage a system that translates touchscreen coords into mouse movements (a displacement from the current mouse pointer coordinate to the new position). This would be quite easy for say, intuition, and might be a tad more involved if you're running a game, but I think it should be easy enough to do.

Any thoughts? I mean, it's not like it's impossible to detect when a game reads the mouse, is it? You just supply your values instead of the real mouse coords/delta.

In particular, Toni, what are your thoughts on this? I'm not asking for it in WinUAE, but I need to know how difficult it would be in general under emulation.

D.
Dunny is offline  
AdSense AdSense  




Old 12 April 2010, 12:42   #2
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Age: 100
Posts: 4,024
Well, WinUAE works already with my LCD tablet, so. I guess what is needed is to translate the Wiz pen movements to mouse coords the same way my tablet's driver does? And then it will work as a mouse. As for games, well a mouse is relative and a tablet is absolute. So defo more work. But I think pre-translating the pen input instead of patching the emulator has a better chance. Doesn't the Wiz pen already work just like a mouse?
Photon is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 13:29   #3
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Well, WinUAE works already with my LCD tablet, so. I guess what is needed is to translate the Wiz pen movements to mouse coords the same way my tablet's driver does? And then it will work as a mouse. As for games, well a mouse is relative and a tablet is absolute. So defo more work. But I think pre-translating the pen input instead of patching the emulator has a better chance. Doesn't the Wiz pen already work just like a mouse?
No idea This is for the Pandora.

I've already said that games will require a case-by-case solution, but overriding the games' behaviours without necessarily modifying the game code. I'd love a version of carrier command that used the touchscreen properly...

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 13:32   #4
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
No idea This is for the Pandora.
Maybe this thread belongs to http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=54 then?
TCD is online now  
Old 12 April 2010, 13:46   #5
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Maybe this thread belongs to http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=54 then?
Not sure if it's a problem, as such, I'm just looking to explore the possibilities of modifying one of the UAE branches for that platform.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 14:06   #6
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 1,153
Touchscreens will still use a PS/2 protocol for the mouse movement, so I wouldn't have expected any nasty surprises with the pointer. I'm not sure about the button clicks though....
Merlin is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 14:25   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,222
There is no way to have generic game compatible absolute mouse to relative mouse conversion and I don't like game specific hacks, sorry.

System friendly software works perfectly fine with built-in "mousehack" input handler. (was external in older versions)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 April 2010, 16:13   #8
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Why not just translate dragging to mouse movement?

I mean you can't point and click then, but I could imagine it being convenient enough once one gets used to it, and if the speed is adjustable. Kind of like a combined screen/trackpad.
eLowar is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 18:50   #9
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is no way to have generic game compatible absolute mouse to relative mouse conversion and I don't like game specific hacks, sorry.

System friendly software works perfectly fine with built-in "mousehack" input handler. (was external in older versions)
I wasn't asking you to do it - I just wanted to figure out how possible it is. If I need to modify UAE sources to do it, I'll do it myself

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 27 February 2012, 17:46   #10
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 34
Posts: 13,608
Is there a way to use WinUAE with NEC AS221WM monitor and Windows 7? Amiga pointer is at random position with each touch.
s2325 is offline  
Old 27 February 2012, 22:11   #11
Mnemesi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North America
Age: 46
Posts: 57
WinUAE 's pretty random with a Fujitsu P16xx series laptop's touchscreen too, sadly. I was hoping to rip some pixels using DPaint, but no, it wants to jiggle back to the lower right corner on first contact.
Mnemesi is offline  
Old 28 February 2012, 08:07   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,222
You need Amiga-side driver for touchpads or any other absolute pointing devices, real or emulated Amiga.

Enable "Virtual mouse driver" (Checkbox in Game Ports panel). This is improved old mousehack option.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 March 2013, 05:06   #13
mouse emulator
 
Posts: n/a
You can try to use a software that is named Cok Free Mouse Emulator to contorl your touchscreen.
 
Old 15 June 2013, 04:56   #14
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 256
How is the mouse position X:33 Y:210 stored in the Amiga's memory,
and why couldn't you directly change it to the touch point coordinates returned by the touch screen device
(after a coordinate translation from the native screen resolution to the Amiga's resolution)?

Is there anything preventing someone setting the Amiga mouse position directly,
causing it to instantly jump from one location to another?
I mean by altering the emulated Amiga's memory directly, not talking to it through
a UAE interface that says "please move the mouse this way".
The mouse position has to exist in memory somewhere, or it wouldn't exist.

Last edited by xArtx; 15 June 2013 at 05:54.
xArtx is offline  
Old 15 June 2013, 10:05   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,222
It wouldn't work. Learn how input.device and IDCMP work.

Programs don't read some memory location when they need to check mouse position, they ask the OS to send messages (nearly everything is message based) when mouse moves or if "something" happens (menu selected, window close button clicked, disk inserted, etc..) and also most programs want mouse position relative to their window's top/left edge, not absolute coordinate.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 June 2013, 12:42   #16
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 256
Quote:
and also most programs want mouse position relative to their window's top/left edge, not absolute coordinate.
Oh, bummer, I def wasn't pretending to know better, or I'd be making statements
rather than asking questions.
It did occur to me that the Amiga program could be receiving mouse movements
rather than coordinates, and have to process that itself, but I didn't want to
provide an answer for the question I'm asking.
xArtx is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mouse mat to lower optical mouse sensitivity? Bamiga2002 support.Hardware 7 22 March 2013 07:35
Touchscreen on the Amiga Flink Amiga scene 16 14 November 2009 07:38
CDTV mouse mode emulation mk1 request.UAE Wishlist 5 17 February 2009 22:36
CD32 compatible PSX-Pads with Autofire and Mouse Emulation! Ebster MarketPlace 19 21 November 2007 00:24
Mouse Emulation (Mouse1right/left/up/down) Konrad support.WinUAE 6 09 August 2006 10:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18706 seconds with 13 queries