English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 August 2010, 13:45   #21
stachu100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Piaseczno/Poland
Posts: 262
Send a message via Skype™ to stachu100
Despite technical challenge: Is your efforts all worth to have 10MHz more from this card?

I agree that it's a good lesson, but from practical point of view there is no big difference. Also all this overclocking doesn't look well from financial point of view.
It's better to spent 10-20EUR more and buy 40MHz version in my opinion.
stachu100 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 12 August 2010, 14:07   #22
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
>from practical point of view there is no big difference

lol !

Big diff from 25 to 33 with a 040... And from 25 to 40, it's !
Cosmos is offline  
Old 14 August 2010, 20:54   #23
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 45
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
>from practical point of view there is no big difference

lol !

Big diff from 25 to 33 with a 040... And from 25 to 40, it's !
If you are good enough, better make Quaddoubler for your A3640 board and perhaps you can reach 50 MHz speed for MC68040 CPU. Here is the link to homemade Quaddoubler:
http://www.nextcomputers.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=56
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 05 December 2010, 03:54   #24
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
Lightbulb A3640 @ 40 Mhz

Been There Done That! You don't need faster PAL's or GAL's. Everyone has overlooked the clock speed limitations of your A3000 or A4000 motherboard. The solution is to run your motherboard with a synchronized 20 Mhz clock but you will need a few cut an jumper modifications. The following results are from my A3640 @40Mhz + 68030 state machine modifications + ramsey 4 clock cycle @20Mhz. AIBBLogFile*********************************************************************************** System Static Data ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- System CPU: 68040 System FPU: 68040 System MMU: 68040 CPU Clock Rate: 40.0 MHz FPU Clock Rate: 40.0 MHz Operating System Version: 40.68 ( 3.x ) ======================= System Memory Information ============================ NODE #1 Node Name: expansion memory Node Size: 16.00 MBytes Bus Port Size: 32 Bit Address Range: $07000000--$08000000 Node Priority: 30 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- NODE #2 Node Name: chip memory Node Size: 2.00 MBytes Bus Port Size: 32 Bit Address Range: $00001000--$00200000 Node Priority: -10 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- ***************************************************************************** ========================== Test Information Section ========================== Test Name: InstTest Parameters: Not applicable to this test. Multitasking: DISABLED Test Code Location: Memory Node #1 Test Data Location: Memory Node #1 Test Result: 7810894.89 Instructions/Second (Higher = Better Performance) ============================ Comparison Ratings ============================= This Machine : 16.94 A600-NF : 1.00 (68000 | SC Math) Base System A1200-NF : 1.75 (68020 | SC Math) A3000-25 : 5.47 (68020 | CP Math) A4000-40 : 10.05 (68020 | 40 Math) --------------- System Dynamic Information for this test ------------------- Instruction Cache: ENABLED Data Cache: ENABLED Inst Cache Burst Mode: -------- Data Cache Burst Mode: -------- Data Cache Write Allocate: -------- 68040 Copyback Mode: ENABLED ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- System Supervisor Stack Address: $07000AC0 AIBB Process Stack Address: $07218C0C Operating System Memory Location: $07FFBD00 Current OS Dispatch Quantum: 4 ***************************************************************************** END OF LOG FILE

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 09 December 2010 at 16:17. Reason: error correction
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 05 December 2010, 21:16   #25
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedGeek View Post
Been There Done That! You don't need faster PAL's or GAL's. Everyone has overlooked the clock speed limitations of your A3000 or A4000 motherboard. The solution is to run your motherboard with a synchronized 20 Mhz clock but you will need a few cut an jumper modifications and a 74F74 to divide the clock on a A4000. The following results are from my A3640 @40Mhz + 68030 state machine modifications + ramsey 4 clock cycle @20Mhz. AIBBLogFile *********************************************************************************** System Static Data ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- System CPU: 68040 System FPU: 68040 System MMU: 68040 CPU Clock Rate: 40.0 MHz FPU Clock Rate: 40.0 MHz Operating System Version: 40.68 ( 3.x ) ======================= System Memory Information ============================ NODE #1 Node Name: expansion memory Node Size: 16.00 MBytes Bus Port Size: 32 Bit Address Range: $07000000--$08000000 Node Priority: 30 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- NODE #2 Node Name: chip memory Node Size: 2.00 MBytes Bus Port Size: 32 Bit Address Range: $00001000--$00200000 Node Priority: -10 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- ***************************************************************************** ========================== Test Information Section ========================== Test Name: InstTest Parameters: Not applicable to this test. Multitasking: DISABLED Test Code Location: Memory Node #1 Test Data Location: Memory Node #1 Test Result: 7810894.89 Instructions/Second (Higher = Better Performance) ============================ Comparison Ratings ============================= This Machine : 16.94 A600-NF : 1.00 (68000 | SC Math) Base System A1200-NF : 1.75 (68020 | SC Math) A3000-25 : 5.47 (68020 | CP Math) A4000-40 : 10.05 (68020 | 40 Math) --------------- System Dynamic Information for this test ------------------- Instruction Cache: ENABLED Data Cache: ENABLED Inst Cache Burst Mode: -------- Data Cache Burst Mode: -------- Data Cache Write Allocate: -------- 68040 Copyback Mode: ENABLED ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- System Supervisor Stack Address: $07000AC0 AIBB Process Stack Address: $07218C0C Operating System Memory Location: $07FFBD00 Current OS Dispatch Quantum: 4 ***************************************************************************** END OF LOG FILE

I have tried standard mod yesterday and able to achieve 33MHz for a minute and then yellow screen . Can you show us the way please ? A small diagram ? Where from is this synchronised 20MHz ?
bebek is online now  
Old 06 December 2010, 09:44   #26
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedGeek View Post
On the A3000 the syncronized 20Mhz clock is obtained by disconnecting the 50 Mhz oscillator and connecting the 40 Mhz clock from the A3640 delay line to the A3000 74F74 input (R121). The 10 ns tap works good for me. You also need to disconnect the 40 Mhz clock from pin 1 of U208 on the A3640 and connect the 20 Mhz clock. Pin 1 of the A3000 delay line worked good for me. All motherboard jumpers should be set to "Internal" and "16 Mhz". Also, you need to disconnect the A3640 cpu clock and clock 90 from R102 & R101 on the A3640. On the A4000 you need to get a 74F74 IC and configure it as a standard clock divider. You could crop pins 1-6 and 8-13 and then solder it directly on top of the A3640 delay line. Disconnect cpu clock and clock 90 from the delay line. Connect the 74F74 inputs to the A3640 delay line (15 and 25 ns taps*) and the 74F74 outputs to R102 and R101 on the A3640. Remember to do the U208 clock modification described above. Do you still need a diagram? (* = an educated guess). Good Luck!

On the A3000 the syncronized 20Mhz clock is obtained by disconnecting the 50 Mhz oscillator and connecting the 40 Mhz clock from the A3640 delay line to the A3000 74F74 input (R121). The 10 ns tap works good for me. You also need to disconnect the 40 Mhz clock from pin 1 of U208 on the A3640 and connect the 20 Mhz clock. Pin 1 of the A3000 delay line worked good for me. All motherboard jumpers should be set to "Internal" and "16 Mhz". Also, you need to disconnect the A3640 cpu clock and clock 90 from R102 & R101 on the A3640. On the A4000 you need to get a 74F74 IC and configure it as a standard clock divider. You could crop pins 1-6 and 8-13 and then solder it directly on top of the A3640 delay line. Disconnect cpu clock and clock 90 from the delay line. Connect the 74F74 inputs to the A3640 delay line (15 and 25 ns taps*) and the 74F74 outputs to R102 and R101 on the A3640. Remember to do the U208 clock modification described above. Do you still need a diagram? (* = an educated guess). Good Luck!
Pics or it never happened
Loedown is offline  
Old 06 December 2010, 09:50   #27
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
On the A3000 the syncronized 20Mhz clock is obtained by disconnecting the 50 Mhz oscillator and connecting the 40 Mhz clock from the A3640 delay line to the A3000 74F74 input (R120). The 10 ns tap works good for me. There are 2 optional mods to U208 on the A3640 needed for Ramsey to run a 4 clock cycle. All motherboard jumpers should be set to "Internal" and "16 Mhz". Also, you need to disconnect the A3640 cpu clock and clock 90 from R102 & R101 on the A3640.

On the A4000 you have the 74F74 and delay line available at different locations (see A4000 schematics) than the A3000. A diagram is provided. Good Luck! PS. You can use 1 or 2 unused pins on the 200 pin cpu connector to connect the jumper(s) to the A3640 so you can remove the A3640 without unsoldering jumper wires.

** NEWS UPDATE ** I have added as a second option another way to do the U208 part of the mod. It eliminates the possible problem with U208 timing from the motherboard delay line and 1 of the motherboard jumpers to the A3640. The only trick is finding the trace to pin 9.

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19993

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 01 February 2012 at 00:55. Reason: Post images moved to Amibay.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 08 December 2010, 20:52   #28
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
Roll eyes (sarcastic)

Disregard my previous instructions to add a 74F74 to the A3640 delay line on the A4000. The same clock divider and delay line circuitry are available (at different locations) on the A4000 motherboard. So you should have no difficulty adapting this mod to the A4000. Silly me, I should have checked the A4000 schematics before I made the above post.

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 09 December 2010 at 15:27.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 18 December 2010, 06:41   #29
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
Lightbulb

** NEWS UPDATE ** The 74Fx803 clock divider on the A3640 is rated to run at 70 Mhz max! Obviously, your mileage will vary. If you have tried TIMING ADJUSTMENTS ON BOTH DELAY LINES* and are still having problems with this mod try an oscillator in the range of 66 to 74 Mhz and adjust the timing on either delay line. If your 74Fx803 won't run reliably at 80 Mhz you have the options of using a different chip (74F74) or even a clock doubler chip if you really want to get to 40 Mhz. *Your timing @40 Mhz should be within +-5 ns of mine. Otherwise try to reconnect U208 Pin 1 to the cut trace. This part of the mod is only needed for Ramsey to run a 4 clock cycle. Unfortunately, it's also the most timing critical part.

** 2ND NEWS UPDATE **
A datasheet has been uploaded. It would be a good idea to make sure the +5 Volt supply to the A3640 is at least 5 Volts. Another potential problem is skew between Bclk and Pclk. Motorola specifies 9 ns @25 Mhz and gives no spec. @ 40 Mhz. Using the formula 25/40 x 9 gives a calculated value of 5.6 ns. With the 74Fx803 being overclocked it's likely to be right on the edge. A skew problem could easily mislead you to believe your 74Fx803 or 68040 won't run at the desired clock speed! Fortunately, there is a simple cut and jumper mod to compensate for the skew.

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19993

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 01 February 2012 at 00:59. Reason: Post image and pdf moved to Amibay.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 18 December 2010, 08:27   #30
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 969
And all this effort strangled by the slow mobo memory...
zipper is offline  
Old 18 December 2010, 09:09   #31
stachu100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Piaseczno/Poland
Posts: 262
Send a message via Skype™ to stachu100
I share your point. As A3640 overclocking from 25MHz to 33MHz is quite easy (10 min of work) and can be justified, but I don't understand the people spending a lot of efforts and money just to get few MHz more and all this effort will be destroyed by slow FAST memory anyway.
Much better is to buy card like WarpEngine 4040 with onboard FAST (much faster than FAST on A4000 mobo) and SCSI for about 100EUR more than A3640.

It seems that I don't understand a lot of things...
stachu100 is offline  
Old 18 December 2010, 11:40   #32
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 969
I think a big part of overclocking benefits when going over 28 MHz is lost on wait states.
zipper is offline  
Old 18 December 2010, 12:00   #33
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
68040 have 8 Ko of cache !
Cosmos is offline  
Old 18 December 2010, 17:26   #34
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
Smile

The following Bustest results (cpu nodatacache) are from Ramsey 4 clock cycle @20 Mhz (380 clock refresh):
5.System3.9:> bustest fast
BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv) Buffer: 262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
========================================================================
memtype addr op cycle calib bandwidth
fast $07F38000 readw 205.6 ns normal 9.7 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07F38000 readl 196.6 ns normal 20.3 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07F38000 readm 210.7 ns normal 19.0 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07F38000 writew 205.5 ns normal 9.7 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07F38000 writel 204.9 ns normal 19.5 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07F38000 writem 196.3 ns normal 20.4 * 10^6 byte/s

Not quite as fast as WarpEngine memory but a significant improvement. The only problem is you need a universal programmer to do the state machine mod.

** UPDATE July 23, 2011 **

ROM Bustest results with Fat Gary @40 Mhz have been removed since Fat Gary was not always reliable at this clock speed.

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 24 July 2011 at 01:37.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 18 January 2011, 02:11   #35
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
Smile

The original posts were updated to address possible problems with overclocking the A3640 which the motherboard 1/2 clock mod doesn't solve. Hopefully, you now have some good ideas work through any such problems.

Secondly, for those who say "It's not worth the effort or expense" I have the following comments:
You never know how much faster your system can go unless you actually try to make it faster!

I successfully overclocked my 25 Mhz MC68040 to 40 Mhz! The cost of a socket and an oscillator was a minimal expense. I recycled a cooling fan from a discarded 486 motherboard.

Some users have already purchased a 33 or 40 Mhz 040 and a cooling fan just to do the Clock 90 mod. So why discourage them from trying to get the most from their investment?

I understand the few A3640 owners who got 35-37 Mhz with the Clock 90 mod may decide it's not worth the effort to get a few more Mhz.

However, this mod could be used by A4000 owners who have 80 ns fast memory to get to 40 Mhz!. It could also be used by A3000 owners who are limited by SuperDMAC to around 30 Mhz regardless of their fast memory speed.

PS. A3000T and DMAC 04 users please let me know if you could overclock your motherboard past 30 Mhz. Thanks.

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19993

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 01 February 2012 at 01:00. Reason: Post image moved to Amibay.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 17 September 2011, 03:14   #36
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
A3640 @ 50Mhz! Been there. Done that!
Who would have guessed a MC68040RC25 would go that far?

AIBB benchmarks are with 68030 state machine mod + Ramsey 5 clock cycle @ 25Mhz (380 clock refresh). Also, here are my (CPU nodatacache) Bustest results:

BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv) Buffer: 262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
========================================================================
memtype addr op cycle calib bandwidth
fast $07030000 readw 204.4 ns normal 9.8 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07030000 readl 204.8 ns normal 19.5 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07030000 readm 210.1 ns normal 19.0 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07030000 writew 204.6 ns normal 9.8 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07030000 writel 205.2 ns normal 19.5 * 10^6 byte/s
fast $07030000 writem 204.6 ns normal 19.5 * 10^6 byte/s

BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv) Buffer: 262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
========================================================================
memtype addr op cycle calib bandwidth
rom $00F80000 readw 251.7 ns normal 7.9 * 10^6 byte/s
rom $00F80000 readl 251.1 ns normal 15.9 * 10^6 byte/s
rom $00F80000 readm 246.8 ns normal 16.2 * 10^6 byte/s

P.S. Don't even think about trying this with out 68030 state machine mod and a clock doubler circuit or something faster than the 74Fx803 if you prefer clock dividers.

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19993

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 01 February 2012 at 01:02. Reason: Post images moved to Amibay.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 17 September 2011, 05:36   #37
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 48
Posts: 3,478
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Me needs to uprate my A3000!

@Speedgeek: you used the latest L88M 040 mask or any MC68040 will do?
rkauer is offline  
Old 17 September 2011, 16:00   #38
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
@rkauer
I don't know what the mask set is but it's probably the first or second mask set of the MC68040. My A3640 is a rev3.2 so it's probably one of the last boards made by C= in early 1994.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 17 September 2011, 23:30   #39
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 48
Posts: 3,478
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
My A3640 is upgraded to 3.2 (was 3.1 but I swapped the U209 chip) and it have a MC68040.

I think I'll do a thorough search in all your instructions to uprate my A3000.
rkauer is offline  
Old 23 September 2011, 17:36   #40
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 50
Posts: 210
** 68030 STATE MACHINE MOD RELEASED! **
I've decided to release the 68030 state machine mod as it is since it's unlikely that any more changes will be made from this point on. For those of you who have not been following the Amibay A3640 upgrade thread this a completely seperate mod from the other mods previously posted here on EAB. However, it most certainly is related to the many benchmark results I have posted here. Enjoy!

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=19993

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 01 February 2012 at 01:04. Reason: Post archive moved to Amibay.
SpeedGeek is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A3640 overclocking hdtv_maniac support.Hardware 19 16 April 2012 22:15
Overclocking CV64 bebek Hardware mods 2 22 October 2010 23:52
Overclocking the 3630 desantii support.Hardware 3 07 July 2010 07:11
A3640 cap replacement and overclocking MagerValp Hardware pics 16 08 September 2009 02:58
Overclocking Picasso IV? TjLaZer support.Hardware 3 03 August 2008 17:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23323 seconds with 13 queries