English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2011, 16:20   #21
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Compability XP SP3 solves some problems but still it's not perfect.

Vista and 7 introduces new audio system - audiodg. That's why we have such problems.
haynor666 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 June 2011, 10:30   #22
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderer View Post
Do you use on-board audio? Try to find updated audio drivers and set xp/admin compatibility for deliui.exe and deliplayer.exe.
Yes I do use onboard audio, but as deliplayer is the only application I have found affected I am loathe to update the audio drivers to non-Asus laptop ones to those direct from Realtek. It might potentially fix it, but I would rather not risk it stuffing anything else up.

The extra xp compatibility and admin rights in addition to the 1 I had set had no effect.
Calgor is offline  
Old 05 June 2011, 12:11   #23
wanderer
I want an A1000

wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pac-Land
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
Yes I do use onboard audio, but as deliplayer is the only application I have found affected I am loathe to update the audio drivers to non-Asus laptop ones to those direct from Realtek. It might potentially fix it, but I would rather not risk it stuffing anything else up.

The extra xp compatibility and admin rights in addition to the 1 I had set had no effect.
Strange. For me the latest drivers Asus provides (SoundMAX audio, not a laptop) work just fine. It's still probably a driver issue though.
wanderer is offline  
Old 06 July 2011, 22:47   #24
butter100fly
Registered User
butter100fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: london
Posts: 10
Realtek soundcard here on win7 and same problem. This actually broke my soundcard driver on one occasion and i had to reinstall it - be warned!

I agree admin rights do not solve the issue

Here's a couple of workarounds that help enourmously:

1) Right click taskbar icon > configuration > core >miscellaneous>set windows wave master volume/balance
This MUST be checked otherwise you won't be able to get sound back to both speakers by altering the slider in windows mixer or deliplayer

Now fiddle with the deliplayer slider and the deli windows mixer slider till you get stereo back again and quit out of deli. Now most of the time it will come back in stereo

2) Right click taskbar icon > configuration > core >hotkeys
Set two hotkeys for volume up and down - now on those rare occassions when deli decides to load up with just one speaker working just hit the volume down button ONCE ONLY and the volume doesn't go noticably down at all but the issue's immediately gone...

Hope this helps you guys - having to press a single key occasionally isn't so much of a hassle until a proper fix is found....

__________________
www.quickplayfrontend.com

Last edited by butter100fly; 07 July 2011 at 00:05.
butter100fly is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 10:49   #25
wanderer
I want an A1000

wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pac-Land
Posts: 654
Nice tips butter100fly. For anyone having these problems, I'd also suggest using SlimDrivers to see if it can find newer/alternative audio drivers since the situation with on-board audio drivers can be chaotic. It only requires a simple free registration and then it can be uninstalled (or have its entry disabled from the Task Scheduler, to keep it from starting up). It will ask you to create a System Restore point before installing drivers, say yes to that. If an update is found, it's probably best to uninstall previous drivers first.
wanderer is offline  
Old 07 July 2011, 12:34   #26
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,908
It's not an audio driver problem AFAIK.

Drag and Drop in Windows7 to Deliplayer doesn't seem to work for me either
alexh is offline  
Old 11 September 2011, 16:03   #27
unseenmenace
 
Posts: n/a
I had the same problem (also with Windows 7 x64 and Realtek audio) and tried all sorts of things including the workaround above but eventually discovered that it works normally if you configure your speaker setup to quadrophonic instead of stereo and you don't need to use "Set Windows Wave Master Volume" either.
 
Old 08 May 2013, 19:17   #28
Psychophanta
 
Posts: n/a
Deliplayer (and also many other old programs) works perfecly in Vista and 7.
Just do this with the program not running:
Right click in the .exe or in any link to it,
Choose 'properties',
Choose 'compatibility' panel,
In the 'compatibility mode' menu choose windows 2000 or XP or so,
leave the other options accordingly to your tastes and program functionality requirements.

And so, no need to touch any thing in the drivers managers, neither do any other things.

Thanks!!
 
Old 24 October 2013, 03:06   #29
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 289
*bump* I upgraded to Win7 recently too, and changing compatibility mode solved it for me as well, although I have the volume at start up issue and the drag and drop problem too. However you can work around that by opening a new playlist, right clicking it, selecting Edit > Add Directory then just point it at an entire subfolder and it'll grab all valid tracks it can find.

It's a shame it's been discontinued as I actually find it the easiest way to play Amiga mods on Windows.
Titler is offline  
Old 14 November 2015, 19:07   #30
scifi
Resurrected...
scifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 44
Posts: 238
I read this thread about DeliPlayer's compatibility.
I have downloaded the 2.50 Beta 1 version and it works just fine on Windows 7 (x64).
I don't know if the compatibility problem has been fixed with the beta 1 version.
Give it a try!
scifi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winfellow on Windows Vista rodi support.WinFellow 83 13 November 2011 21:12
SMBFS And Windows VIsta @UAE support.Apps 11 12 April 2011 21:41
Can't get CDTV emulation to work on Windows Vista Emu500 support.WinUAE 3 03 June 2009 18:15
Winuae and Windows Vista BigB support.WinUAE 26 20 December 2008 23:27
Disable Windows shortcuts while running WinUAE on Vista thomas request.UAE Wishlist 11 24 July 2008 11:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25784 seconds with 13 queries