English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2009, 20:10   #1
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 509
Stupid Gamebase question

A while ago I got hold of the Gamebase files, then deleted them as I didn't have enough disk space, and I got a bit stuck when setting up.

Now I've got a bit more diskspace and thought I'd try again.

My question then: are the files on the following page ALL the TOSEC ADFs, avoiding the need to fiddle around with torrents?
http://gbamiga.elowar.com/TorrentTemp/

The Games.7z file is 2.1 GB, which seems small for a TOSEC set? How 'complete' is this?

And does Elowar really not mind people using up his bandwidth by downloading such massive files?
antonvaltaz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 24 November 2009, 20:14   #2
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonvaltaz View Post
The Games.7z file is 2.1 GB, which seems small for a TOSEC set? How 'complete' is this?
GB Amiga and TOSEC aren't the same. That's the 'full-set' for GB 1.6.
TCD is online now  
Old 24 November 2009, 20:20   #3
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 509
Oops, my mistake... still, how 'complete' is the set, in terms of Amiga games? There were a LOT of games and 2.1 GB doesn't seem that big to me.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 24 November 2009, 20:23   #4
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,741
2711 (taken from GB Amiga 'playable ADFs').
Edit : That's games, not single disks. 7Zip is pretty effective you see
TCD is online now  
Old 24 November 2009, 21:27   #5
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,135
you must understand that each playable adf in gb amiga has been tested by me, and altho i can't guarantee 100% that all are fine and playable to the end, i tried my hardest to make sure each game worked properly and was a good crack.

that's why theres only 2711 instead of every amiga game there is in tosec.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 24 November 2009, 21:56   #6
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 509
Blimey, I didn't realise that! Wow... very impressive.

I'm sure it will probably include every game I'm likely to want to play, but on the off-chance that it doesn't, is it possible to add to the GB Amiga database? Or would I have to create a fresh database for any games which you didn't include? (Again, probably a stupid question...)
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 24 November 2009, 21:58   #7
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,135
i think all the game entries have a basic config assigned to them, so you can attach some adfs to a game entry and see if it works.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 24 November 2009, 22:04   #8
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,741
@antonvaltaz
Once you've installed GB Amiga and click on 'All Games', you'll see that there are already 4954 'slots' for games
TCD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Question Andy 01 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 02 October 2008 20:01
Stupid question.. synchro Amiga scene 6 31 July 2004 03:21
Another stupid question!!! Mick_AKA support.Hardware 16 18 July 2002 12:10
Very stupid question... dreamkatcha Amiga scene 46 08 May 2002 00:06
stupid question Stormlord Nostalgia & memories 7 13 February 2002 18:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18032 seconds with 13 queries