English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2007, 19:40   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
WinUAE 1.4.5 public beta series

Read before replying: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=26715

Nothing major planned (so far..), main reason for beta 1 is Snoopy-fix

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1450b1.zip

Beta 1:

- CDTV and CD32 interrupt handling improved, fixes "Snoopy In The Case Of The Missing Blanket"
- lzx decompressor compatibility and stability improved, store-mode supported
- do not include display dimensions in display list if Windows 98/ME (it is garbage, at least on some systems)
- Windows 98/ME serial port detection update
- possible fix for overlay issues but it might cause slow downs in some cases..
- added -busywait debugging command line option
- DiskSqueeze (dsq) dms-like disk packer format supported (probably totally useless but was easy to do..) cop, dimp, warp (not to be confused with mfmwarp) support may be "useful" too, perhaps in future.. Unfortunately most formats are not documented.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 September 2007, 22:06   #2
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- DiskSqueeze (dsq) dms-like disk packer format supported (probably totally useless but was easy to do..) cop, dimp, warp (not to be confused with mfmwarp) support may be "useful" too, perhaps in future.. Unfortunately most formats are not documented.
sources+some documentation:

cop, dimp: http://aminet.net/search?query=xad+client
source under GPL, cop probably will be difficult as it can use xpk libraries

warp: http://libxad.cvs.sourceforge.net/li...table/clients/
in AMPK.c (LGPL)

can you change strcat(p, " (*.uss"); to strcat(p, " (*.uss)"); in win32gui.c line 1131 (purely cosmetic and not beta related )
thor is offline  
Old 30 September 2007, 15:24   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor View Post
sources+some documentation:
Thanks. (I don't know how I missed that..)
Warp support implemented.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 16:32   #4
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,110
I found a minor bug. Seems this bug also made it into the previous release. In configurations if you select a file in the main window and click on the load button, then click the same file and click the save button it will remain grey even if you load a different configuration. This can make knowing which config has been loaded a bit confusing. Although the name in the Window title does help.

I'm running Windows 2000 so maybe the problem only occurs on machines with this OS.
Steve is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 16:50   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I found a minor bug. Seems this bug also made it into the previous release. In configurations if you select a file in the main window and click on the load button, then click the same file and click the save button it will remain grey even if you load a different configuration. This can make knowing which config has been loaded a bit confusing. Although the name in the Window title does help.

I'm running Windows 2000 so maybe the problem only occurs on machines with this OS.
Reported ages ago already. Weird Windows issue.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 October 2007, 14:35   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
"High-end expanded" quickstart config should have 68040 by default IMHO, so that you can run AmigaOS without installing some third-party libs first. The user can manually choose 68060 later, if he knows what he does. The quickstart menu is for less experienced users IMHO.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 13:05   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1450b2.zip

Beta 2:

- warp (.wrp) disk compression format supported
- ce-mode interrupt delay fix, intreq contents was incorrectly delayed (fixes some programs that froze in CE-mode)
- doublescanned modes look slightly better
- added 64-bit CMD_READ uaescsi.device support (if there are programs that access DVDs in non-SCSI-direct mode)
- missing hardfile dos type select box is back (disappeared few releases ago..)
- Nordic Power v3.0 support added (Thanks Christian!) Interestingly this one has ROM at 0xf60000, not at 0xf00000 (check the zone)
- EXPERIMENTAL: save only non-default configuration entries. Makes smaller config files but I am not yet sure if this is safe.. (at least long list of input config entries can be removed safely)
- added autoboot (bootpri>=-127) and donotmount (bootpri=-129) checkboxes to GUI
- Amiga-side dummy Sana2 driver (most commands return bogus errors) Real communication between Sana2 driver and TAP driver (comes with OpenVPN, 2.1rc4 or newer required) will be implemented later, I hope.. current development name is "uaenet.device".
- do not show rom scan results if rom scan was automatic (missing registry data or new winuae version was detected)
- high end quickstart cpu changed back to 68040 (68060 does not boot very well without 68060.library..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 October 2007, 00:12   #8
Ed Cruse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Cruces, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1450b2.zip

Beta 2:

- warp (.wrp) disk compression format supported
- ce-mode interrupt delay fix, intreq contents was incorrectly delayed (fixes some programs that froze in CE-mode)
- doublescanned modes look slightly better
- added 64-bit CMD_READ uaescsi.device support (if there are programs that access DVDs in non-SCSI-direct mode)
- missing hardfile dos type select box is back (disappeared few releases ago..)
- Nordic Power v3.0 support added (Thanks Christian!) Interestingly this one has ROM at 0xf60000, not at 0xf00000 (check the zone)
- EXPERIMENTAL: save only non-default configuration entries. Makes smaller config files but I am not yet sure if this is safe.. (at least long list of input config entries can be removed safely)
- added autoboot (bootpri>=-127) and donotmount (bootpri=-129) checkboxes to GUI
- Amiga-side dummy Sana2 driver (most commands return bogus errors) Real communication between Sana2 driver and TAP driver (comes with OpenVPN, 2.1rc4 or newer required) will be implemented later, I hope.. current development name is "uaenet.device".
- do not show rom scan results if rom scan was automatic (missing registry data or new winuae version was detected)
- high end quickstart cpu changed back to 68040 (68060 does not boot very well without 68060.library..)

So far I like the reduced number of entries in the config file, but I can't seem to shake the feeling there's something wrong with not seeing all the entries. It's just a feeling at this point.
Ed Cruse is offline  
Old 07 October 2007, 13:18   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
- added autoboot (bootpri>=-127) and donotmount (bootpri=-129) checkboxes to GUI
Doesn't work at all. Now Bootpri is always -129, no matter what you enter or if you tick autoboot or not. And the drive is not mounted. A "donotmount" checkbox does not exist.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 October 2007, 13:24   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Doesn't work at all. Now Bootpri is always -129, no matter what you enter or if you tick autoboot or not. And the drive is not mounted. A "donotmount" checkbox does not exist.
Confirmed but saying "doesn't work at all" isn't exactly right either..

btw, donotmount is not in directory drive GUI. (pointless in my opinion)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 October 2007, 14:18   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
saying "doesn't work at all" isn't exactly right either
It doesn't allow to add a usable HDD dir. Let's say, the new function works, but all of the old functions stopped working.

Quote:
btw, donotmount is not in directory drive GUI. (pointless in my opinion)
I don't see what a non-bootable HDD dir is good for anyway. And a no-automount HDD dir is totally useless because there is no way to mount it manually from AmigaDOS. Non-RDB HDFs are similar.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 October 2007, 16:22   #12
Ed Cruse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Cruces, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
It doesn't allow to add a usable HDD dir. Let's say, the new function works, but all of the old functions stopped working.



I don't see what a non-bootable HDD dir is good for anyway. And a no-automount HDD dir is totally useless because there is no way to mount it manually from AmigaDOS. Non-RDB HDFs are similar.


I have two HDDs that don't boot, having a checkbox to prevent booting would be usefull. What I do now is either set the boot priority lower then what I want to boot or put them lower in the list in the harddrive panel.
Ed Cruse is offline  
Old 07 October 2007, 18:36   #13
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
@Toni:

a lot of winuaeenforcer hits are happening with 1.4.4 and later which IIRC didn't happen in earlier releases. For example when playing a sound with WinUAE's AHI driver on OS3.9 or when (quick-)formatting a HDF partition with PFS3.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 October 2007, 19:44   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
@Toni:

a lot of winuaeenforcer hits are happening with 1.4.4 and later which IIRC didn't happen in earlier releases. For example when playing a sound with WinUAE's AHI driver on OS3.9 or when (quick-)formatting a HDF partition with PFS3.
Do you mean "Illegal LONG READ from: 00000078" (but this should have happened always if VBR is not moved) This can be ignored, it is bogus message (interrupt levels 6 and 7 were not filtered in winuaeenforcer)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 10:38   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- warp (.wrp) disk compression format supported
Is that the files produced by MFMWarp and / or NOMADWarp or something different?
alexh is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 11:02   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Is that the files produced by MFMWarp and / or NOMADWarp or something different?
"Something different", it is dms-like, nothing to do with mfm warpers. (some information: http://www.amiga-stuff.com/archivers-download.html)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 13:25   #17
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
@Toni Wilen: A technical question: I have created quite a bit configuration files with WinUAE 1.4.3. So, if I now install 1.4.5b1 or b2, would I need to recreate all these configuration files or am I good to go?
nikvest is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 13:31   #18
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1450b2.zip

Beta 2:


- Amiga-side dummy Sana2 driver (most commands return bogus errors) Real communication between Sana2 driver and TAP driver (comes with OpenVPN, 2.1rc4 or newer required) will be implemented later, I hope.. current development name is "uaenet.device".
WEEEEEE!!!!!!

This makes me very happy (even if it doesn't work right now, I have NOT tested, so I don't know..... ) as it would give even morethe feel of using a "real" amiga to do networkings

Can't wait for the experiemnt to to become "standard"

OFF TOPIC, I know.. but how are you enjoying your CDTV, Tony?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 12 October 2007, 12:50   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikvest View Post
@Toni Wilen: A technical question: I have created quite a bit configuration files with WinUAE 1.4.3. So, if I now install 1.4.5b1 or b2, would I need to recreate all these configuration files or am I good to go?
Why do you think you need to create new configuration files? Of course it is not necessary. (and in next version main hardware configuration entries will be written again, even if they have default values)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 October 2007, 13:01   #20
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
Great, thanks for your answer. I thought that because I on my last WinUAE transition I went from 0.9.92 to 1.4.3 and I had to change configuration files because with old ones my games had a horrible lag.

Still, I guess it was a huge jump.
nikvest is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 1.4.6 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 84 02 February 2008 13:29
WinUAE 1.4.4 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 128 22 September 2007 20:29
WinUAE 1.4.3 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 156 29 July 2007 22:07
WinUAE 1.4.2 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 107 12 May 2007 14:25
WinUAE 1.4.1 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 17 18 March 2007 15:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27837 seconds with 14 queries