English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2006, 01:04   #21
amethyst
Registered User
amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmomelb
thanks amethyst!
No problem!
amethyst is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 February 2006, 10:39   #22
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Exellent info. Thanks amethyst.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 17 February 2006, 11:13   #23
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 40
Posts: 191
While on the subject, does anyone know what eproms are suitable for burning the extended roms on the CDTV 2.30?
MrZammler is offline  
Old 17 February 2006, 19:55   #24
amethyst
Registered User
amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZammler
While on the subject, does anyone know what eproms are suitable for burning the extended roms on the CDTV 2.30?
27C400 eprom is suitable for the CDTV kickstart rom (MX23C2100 part no. 315093-02) in socket U13. According to the original kickstart info I found from here and if you check the parts list and rom schematics for the CDTV here
amethyst is offline  
Old 12 March 2006, 15:20   #25
amethyst
Registered User
amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZammler
While on the subject, does anyone know what eproms are suitable for burning the extended roms on the CDTV 2.30?
Correction:
If you were referring to the two CDROM Driver EPROMs (in sockets U34 and U35) on the CDTV then they use 27C1000 EPROMs.

In the parts list (see partslist-p1.png) they are listed as:
252606-01 ROM CDROM DRIVER, ODD U35
252607-01 ROM CDROM DRIVER, EVEN U34

In the schematic (see schematics-p7-dmac-scsi.png) the parts are shown as 27C1000 EPROMs.

If you check the datasheet, it's probably also possible to use a 27C1001 but you would have to make an adapter to swap pins 2 and pins 24 (or bend these pins up and connect wires to socket) as these are the only pins that differ:
Code:
            27C1000     27C1001            
pin 2        A16            ¬OE
pin 24       ¬OE           A16

Last edited by amethyst; 12 March 2006 at 15:41.
amethyst is offline  
Old 17 March 2006, 16:54   #26
kas1e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: russia/moskow
Age: 38
Posts: 135
amethyst
what do you said in 'Here's how to burn a kickstart eprom in 2 easy steps' only about one blank eprom ? need only one ? one socket will empty ?
kas1e is offline  
Old 17 March 2006, 18:04   #27
amethyst
Registered User
amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by kas1e
amethyst
what do you said in 'Here's how to burn a kickstart eprom in 2 easy steps' only about one blank eprom ? need only one ? one socket will empty ?
Check the other guide posted before it. There are 2 guides posted, one for the A500, A500+, A600 (1 rom socket) and the other one is for the A1200 (2 rom sockets).
amethyst is offline  
Old 17 March 2006, 18:15   #28
kas1e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: russia/moskow
Age: 38
Posts: 135
ah yes, sorry.
btw, programmator is need it , or can be possible burmimng from somethink like selfmade programmator over lpt/etc port ?
kas1e is offline  
Old 17 March 2006, 18:36   #29
amethyst
Registered User
amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by kas1e
ah yes, sorry.
btw, programmator is need it , or can be possible burmimng from somethink like selfmade programmator over lpt/etc port ?
As long as the eprom programmer supports a 27C400 eprom, then it should be able to burn a kickstart eprom.
amethyst is offline  
Old 27 March 2006, 13:51   #30
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Slightly Digressing here....

I have 3.0 kickstart in my A1200, is it possible, once the chip is read, or using a Version 3.0 image, patch everything up (with TD64 and the slurry of other patches for fastfilesystem) and burn it back to the required EPROMS.., this way all that will be needed for 3.0 is to just load SFS yeah ?

Would this work ?

What utilities would I need to do this ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 15 September 2006, 11:27   #31
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by amethyst
Here's how to burn a kickstart eprom in 2 easy steps

Requirements
  • Eprom Programmer (with support for 27C400)
  • Kickstart rom file being used in WinUAE (not encypted and legally created from your own set of A500, A500+ or A600 kickstart roms, of course)
  • One blank 27C400 eprom
Step 1: Burn the kickstart eprom
Start up eprom programmer software with 27C400 device selected
Load the kickstart rom file to the buffer
Perform a swap BYTE operation on the buffer contents
Insert the 27C400 eprom into the eprom programmer and burn buffer to the eprom.
Apply opaque sticky label over the eprom window and mark it with version

Step 2: Install into Amiga
Insert eprom into socket (make sure the eprom has correct pin connections and orientation).
Power up and voila it works!

For more details on opening up your amiga and installing the eproms read the amiga kickstart guide from aminet.
I tried it yesterday and it works a treat. Burnt a 3.1 kickstart for my Amiga 600.
Thanks amethyst
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 14:12   #32
Sandgunner
Kill everything in a 360
Sandgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near West Chester PA. Made the pilgrimage to the former Amiga assembly plant.
Posts: 23
Not so sure on the "easy steps"

Have exactly everything detailed in the steps.
Have a nice collection of 27C400 EPROMS that pass
blank checks and UV wipes perfectly.

Have a decent UNIMAX universal programmer
Have original kickstart 3.1 rom image from working
A2000.

Loaded of the rom image, performed byte swap
Burned chip. Passes verification.

Plug chip into A500 boot..........
Power light flashes then system fault press left mouse button.
I've tried on 7 chips. All no go when put into a rev 6A A500,
This is the same unit as the A500+ just minus the extra 512k chip
and clock but the MB has the silkscreen for where they would go.

Am I missing something in the translation?
I know the 27C400 is the correct part, matches exactly to the
MX part used for almost every 3.1 kickstart out there.

Anyone else use a UNIMAX or MULTIMAX programmer have an idea
where I might be going wrong?

I'm doing this for fun and education. I own every Amiga production
model made and am using my off time now to have fun and tweak the
kickstart with patches.

Angelo
Sandgunner is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 14:55   #33
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Have you tried to read the programmed EPROM to check if they have any data on them?
I'm using the USB Enhanced Willem Programmer with an 16bit adapter and it works fine.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 20 September 2006, 15:06   #34
amethyst
Registered User
amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandgunner
Have original kickstart 3.1 rom image from working
A2000. Loaded of the rom image, performed byte swap
Burned chip. Passes verification.
Was the saved original ROM image tested in WinUAE?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandgunner
Plug chip into A500 boot..........
Power light flashes then system fault press left mouse button.
I've tried on 7 chips. All no go when put into a rev 6A A500,
This is the same unit as the A500+ just minus the extra 512k chip
and clock but the MB has the silkscreen for where they would go.

Am I missing something in the translation?
I know the 27C400 is the correct part, matches exactly to the
MX part used for almost every 3.1 kickstart out there.

Anyone else use a UNIMAX or MULTIMAX programmer have an idea
where I might be going wrong?

I'm doing this for fun and education. I own every Amiga production
model made and am using my off time now to have fun and tweak the
kickstart with patches.

Angelo
Did you also read the Amiga Kickstart guide? There are different revisions of the A500 PCB, maybe that's your problem, from the Amiga Kickstart Guide:
Quote:
1. Place the A500 unit upside down on a flat surface.
2. Use a #10 Torx driver to remove the six (6) case screws.
3. Turn the unit right side up. Remove the top cover by grasping at the rear
corners and lifting up.
4. Note the orientation of the keyboard wires, then remove the keyboard assembly
by grasping the keyboard cable harness and gently pulling straight up. If there
is a ground strap attached to the keyboard, detach it. Set the keyboard
assembly aside.
5. Use needlenose pliers or a similar tool to straighten the four tabs which
secure the top shield. Remove two (2) screws at the front of the PCB and two (2)
on the left side of the PCB. Now remove top shield by lifting straight up.
Set the shield aside.
6. The main printed circuit board is now in full view, except for the portion
covered by the floppy disk drive. The operating system ROM IC is located at
position U6, just to the right of the 68000 CPU chip.
The old ROM chip should be marked 315093-01, -02 or, if your system is already
upgraded, V2.04 (37.175).
7. Note the orientation of the old operating system ROM, then remove it from the
socket.
8. IMPORTANT: There are several different versions of the A500 PCB: Rev 3, Rev 5,
Rev 6A and Rev 7
(The revision number is printed on the top of the main board in the front right
corner). Installation differs depending on the PCB revision:
1> For Rev 3 and Rev 5 boards, the ROM socket must have pin 1 connected to pin 31
and the ROM IC must have connected pin 21 to bent-up pin 31.
2> For Rev 6A and above, the ROM must not have any connection.
9. Align the 3.1 ROM with socket U6, and press firmly into place. Be cautious
not to bend pins.
ROM installation is now complete. It is advisable to re-assemble the keyboard
and test the system prior to fully re-assembling the shield and top case.
Does that help?
amethyst is offline  
Old 21 September 2006, 00:34   #35
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
For Rev 3 and Rev 5 boards, the ROM socket must have pin 1 connected to pin 31 and the ROM IC must have connected pin 21 to bent-up pin 31.
This makes sense if you look at the pinout of the EPROM. On the Rev3/5 boards (which only came with 256Kbyte Kickstarts) they didnt wire Address 17 to pin 1. But fortunately they did wire it to the "never used" pin 31 (Byte).

Quote:
Plug chip into A500 boot..........
Power light flashes then system fault press left mouse button.
The above fix is DEFINATELY what you are missing. These results confirm it. They mean at least some of ROM is correct and working as the "Press Left Mouse button" screen is not a hardware feature but software and part of the KS ROM. Without Address17 connected to pin 1, the amiga can only access the lower 256Kbyte of the ROM.

Last edited by alexh; 21 September 2006 at 00:53.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 September 2006, 07:52   #36
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,359
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Just to add my extreme opinions to the discussion..

When I installed my first 2.04 rom into the rev 5 A500 I had, I only jumpered 1 and 31 and plugged the chip in, didn't bend anything up.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 September 2006, 15:29   #37
Sandgunner
Kill everything in a 360
Sandgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near West Chester PA. Made the pilgrimage to the former Amiga assembly plant.
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
This makes sense if you look at the pinout of the EPROM. On the Rev3/5 boards (which only came with 256Kbyte Kickstarts) they didnt wire Address 17 to pin 1. But fortunately they did wire it to the "never used" pin 31 (Byte).


The above fix is DEFINATELY what you are missing. These results confirm it. They mean at least some of ROM is correct and working as the "Press Left Mouse button" screen is not a hardware feature but software and part of the KS ROM. Without Address17 connected to pin 1, the amiga can only access the lower 256Kbyte of the ROM.
Only problem is that I have a revision 6A A500 motherboard.
According to what you posted the 6A is not supposed to have anything jumpered/crossed etc. which matches the handout that comes with the original 3.1 kickstart rom chip upgrade.

However it does make sense that the burned rom is not being addressed properly in the upper area. I'll try the socket and chip jumper and see what happen. More oddities with the chips though.
The original 3.1 kickstart upgrade is a macronix 27C4100 and the EPROMS
I am using are AMD 27C400 which are identical pin for pin.
The oddity is that these devices show as size 40000h (262144) X 16bit
yet the file obtained from the 3.1 original kickstart is 512k???

A little confused on the "burn it a second time" item. In my testing I don't
think it's an addressing error but an incomplete binary image fault.
What baffles me though is that the proper Kickstart 3.1 EPROM purchased
is identical in every specification as the AM27C400 EPROMS I am using
to proof burn a 3.1 kickstart.

I have read directly from the original 3.1 kickstart rom and wrote this
directly with verify into my AM27C400 EPROMS.
Still no go and getting the errors I detailed earlier.
Sandgunner is offline  
Old 23 September 2006, 09:58   #38
Sandgunner
Kill everything in a 360
Sandgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near West Chester PA. Made the pilgrimage to the former Amiga assembly plant.
Posts: 23
ok for the gurus out there.

IS the AMD 27C400 a 512k part or a 256k part?

Now the fun part before you answer the above.
The identical spec part for Macronix is the
MX27C4100
Which is identical in all spec respects to the AMD 27C400.

Now the problem that has me stumped.
I have a purchased kickstart 3.1 chip for the A500-A2000
this IS a Macronix MX27C4100 part.

On the EPROM programmer list BOTH parts show as 256K.

How in the hell did they burn a 512k binary image (kickstart 3.1)
into a MX27C4100 which is by the manufacturers spec sheet
and the EPROM programmer, a 256k part just as the AM27C400
EPROM is???????

Ok gurus out there. Have at it
Sandgunner is offline  
Old 23 September 2006, 11:05   #39
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,359
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Those eproms have both a byte mode and a word mode.

The smaller 27c2100 part is 256kbitx8 or 128kbitx16..
The larger part is then 512kbitx8 and 256kbitx16.

However both values for each chip naturally come to the same amount in kiloBytes.. It's just the layout of the chip that's different depending on which mode the chip is read in. The Amiga uses the word mode (16bit).

And how to convert.. We start off with the smaller 27c2100 part that should fit a 256kB kickstart image. Remember, that there are 8 bits in a Byte and ROM / RAM chip sizes are reported in bits.

Thus 256kbitx8 is: 256kilobits times 8 (now we have the amount of bits the chip contains without any layout info) divided by 8 to get bytes. So 256kB.
If we look at the chip in word mode, we have 128kilobits times 16 divided by 8.. What's the value in kilobytes?

The explanation above is not 100% thorough, as I'm again feeling very lazy.. But at least you can get a rough idea what it's about.. If you have a 256kx4 part, then it's (256 * 4)/ 8 to get the amount of bytes it stores.

It is important to remember that bits are b and bytes are B. I always cringe when I see people talking about the new "160gb" drive they bought..

Last edited by Jope; 23 September 2006 at 11:15.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 September 2006, 14:49   #40
Sandgunner
Kill everything in a 360
Sandgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near West Chester PA. Made the pilgrimage to the former Amiga assembly plant.
Posts: 23
The kickstart oddity extravaganza

[quote=Jope]Those eproms have both a byte mode and a word mode.

The explanation above is not 100% thorough, as I'm again feeling very lazy.. But at least you can get a rough idea what it's about.. If you have a 256kx4 part, then it's (256 * 4)/ 8 to get the amount of bytes it stores.

Thank you for the EPROM 101. It's been a looooong time heehee

Here is where I am at. The chips are indeed 512K
40000h X 16bit

Now here is where I'm going nuts.
Inserted a working 2.04 kickstart rom in the programmer (this is not
an elcheapo unit) select the exact device type in the dropdown
menus. In this case the 2.04 kickstart is a Macronix 27C4100
Read the contents into the buffer.
Remove the 2.04 kickstart, insert AMD 27C400 (identical layout
part pin for pin and capacity)
Burn binary image to EPROM exactly as read from the source so no
byte swapping is required here as this is not a UAE or other image I'm
working with.

Take newly burned EPROM to my testbed, an A500 with a revision 6A
motherboard. This revision requires no jumpers or patches whatsoever
to work with these EPROMS.

Fire her up. I'm now getting the Kickstart insert screen. GREAT...almost
loading workbench or a self booting floppy like Lemmings causes a system
crash, flashing power light and reboot.

Comparison details. I take the supposedly bad EPROM that is crashing
back to the programmer and read it's contents saving it to a binary
file. I then re-insert the original working 2.04 kickstart and read its contents saving to a binary file.
I do a file comparison on the two. They are identical!

WTF?

Do note that during the burning process the buffer contents, original kickstart read and the new EPROM programming pass all verification checksums.

Here are my options in the programmer that "might" have something to
do with the failures at the device level when read in the actual Amiga.
The programmer has config options to do the following.
Gang split mode has the following config options
Byte, Even, Odd, Word0, Word1, Word2, Word3

I have used the Byte option and I get parlaysed A500 that
can boot directly from floppy but crashes without a floppy and
you can not actually run anything without crashing.

When burning I have the default buffer value set to FF as this
is its default state anyway.
In the buffer edit options I have the buffer set up as
8bit byte (hex), I also tried 16 bit word but this causes
only half the binary file to be written.

Anyone have any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong?
Key points. A500 rev 6A motherboard (no jumpers/wires required)
EPROMS used: AM27C400 256kb X 16
binary image used : taken from actual working 2.04 kickstart rom
read/write and verify all pass and match the checksums.
Read from burned roms matches identicaly to the original roms.
YES the orginal rom works perfectly in the A500.

I'm off to UV the eight EPROMS I have once again and try some
more experiments. That or go bald figuring this out.

Anyone here successfully burned a single chip kickstart for
an A500-A2000? If so what exactly was your option
setup for your programmer.

I greatly appreciate the help.
Sandgunner is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with 3.1 kickstart in WHDload zap64uk project.WHDLoad 7 30 March 2010 01:23
Burning Kickstart Roms clueless Hardware mods 8 06 January 2010 14:31
Kickstart problems... asm1 project.WHDLoad 2 14 March 2009 16:29
Problems with Kickstart 3.1 [was: various posts in a thread in News] ARTHUR071169 project.MAGE 33 15 October 2006 14:33
Kickstart 3.1 problems adgloride support.Hardware 5 08 June 2004 04:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32013 seconds with 14 queries