English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 May 2006, 22:10   #1
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 791
Some A-590 questions... (kick 2.0 ???, pass-thru-port ??, attach CF-card ?? )

Hi !

I have some questions about the A-590 hard disk drive. I have been using mine connected to an A-500 with kick 1.3.

Now some questions:

1) I am planning to check out some WHDload games As I have installed 2MB in the A-590 and can switch my A-500 to 1MB chipmemory, I don't think I would have a RAM problem.
BUT: WHDlod needs Kck 2.0 from what I know. And I remember there was a discussion that Kick 2.0 wouldn't do good to a A-590, although I cannot really believe this and have tried booting my A-590 with kick 2.0 without problems.

So, has anyone had a A-590 running with kick 2.0 for a longer time ? Also someone has experience with WHDload games on an A-500 with A-590 ?

2) Another problem I have is that I would like to use an Action Replay together with the A-590. Before the A-590 I had a Supradrive HD which has a pass-thru port for the Action Replay. HD controller and AR worked together without problems
Would this be possible for the A-590 as well if I built myself a junction board to connect the AR parallel to the A-590 ?

3) Is there any way to use a CF card on the A-500 ? I can use this with a PCMCIA adapter on the A-600 very well, but is there also an adaptor to connect it to the A-500's side-expansion bus where the A-590 connects ?
Or do XT-IDE or SCSI adapters exist so I can attach a CF card to the A-590 internal SCSI or XT-IDE port ?

Thanks a lot for any help !!
Overdoc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 May 2006, 23:23   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
1) I don´t have my A590 any more, but I used it a long time on my A500+ with Kick 2.0 without any problems

2) The problem is not the connection, you may use a risercard for the expansion port, BUT the AR got many problems with anything bigger than Kick 1.3

3) There are CF-IDE Adapter available for small money
RetroMan is offline  
Old 29 May 2006, 00:47   #3
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 791
Thanks Retroman !

Yes, I know about the AR problem with kick higher than 1.3, but that wouldn't be a problem since I have a kickswitcher with 1.3 and 2.0, so I could still use the AR with diskgames and 1.3
Anyway, I am not really 100% sure if the Supradrive & AR actually did work together ? Could also be possible it only worked when the HD was switched off ( it was external connected to the controller on the side-expansion port) ?!?

About the IDE-to-CF adapter:
Do these also work on the XT-IDE connector of the A-590 ?
And if they work, are there drivers available like for the 600's PCMCIA slot ?

Ofcourse I could use an A-600 instead of the A-500 ( with kickswitcher to 1.3 nearly everything works there as well) , but I would like to use the AR ( the freezer is just VERY comfortably )

As I don't think there are any hardware solutions to connect and AR to the A-600, nor any special AR A-600 versions, how about loading the AR software version with the A-600 ? Is that one for the 1200 only or would it work on the 600 as well ?

Thanks again !
Overdoc is offline  
Old 29 May 2006, 12:04   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,227
I have some SCSI to IDE adapters here which fit inside the A590 and can be used with 2.5" drives or CF adapters.

Personally I think it takes away the usefulness of a CF adapter because to get your CF card out you have to keep taking it apart, or cut a slot in your A590
alexh is offline  
Old 29 May 2006, 18:01   #5
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeň
Age: 34
Posts: 179
You could always connect the IDE<->SCSI-adaptor externally via the 25-pin DSUB of the A590 and make a nice little box where you easily can swap the CF.
patrik is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 08:30   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,529
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
And no, don't connect AT-IDE devices to the XT-IDE slot.
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A-590 questions ( ROMs, power, HD limits, etc. ) Overdoc support.Hardware 25 13 September 2013 02:36
Serial Port Questions iainnitro support.Hardware 10 21 April 2012 17:03
PFS3 on CF Card in PCMCIA port? spoUP support.Hardware 8 08 November 2011 21:34
Credit card I/O port mappings BlueAchenar Coders. General 6 15 December 2008 02:19
A 590 questions coze support.Hardware 9 07 April 2006 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12214 seconds with 13 queries