English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2005, 12:28   #1
BarrySWE
Zone Friend
BarrySWE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 36
Posts: 404
Amiga1200 Desktop PSU = 25WATT...

Yes my 2 desktop Amiga1200 PSU is 25W , is there any stronger PSU for desktop amigas.. because he didn't manage to use the cdrom with this PSU im using an ide splitter and 3.5" drive and take the power from the diskdrive pins, to the diskdrive , 3.5" hd and the cdrom, but with cdrom connected he hardly boot.
BarrySWE is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 November 2005, 12:32   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I was using an A500 psu with my 1200D that had a 5400rpm 20GB HD and a DVD-ROM connected to a 4x IDE interface, a MTec 1230/28 8MB, a topolinoIII and a DCE internal SD/FF... but you have a 040, which is power-hungry, better look for info on how to convert a standar ATX PSU to use with your amiga...
keropi is offline  
Old 14 November 2005, 12:44   #3
BarrySWE
Zone Friend
BarrySWE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 36
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
I was using an A500 psu with my 1200D that had a 5400rpm 20GB HD and a DVD-ROM connected to a 4x IDE interface, a MTec 1230/28 8MB, a topolinoIII and a DCE internal SD/FF... but you have a 040, which is power-hungry, better look for info on how to convert a standar ATX PSU to use with your amiga...

My desktop amiga has blizzard 1230-IV
A500 PSU is stronger?
i googled. it says 60WATT?
BarrySWE is offline  
Old 14 November 2005, 13:27   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
All I know is that it is stronger than the a1200 stock one... I do not have it now, I donated it to a friend of mine...
keropi is offline  
Old 14 November 2005, 14:23   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,220
Goliath PSU 200w, a bit ugly but hey!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Amiga-200-Watt...QQcmdZViewItem
alexh is offline  
Old 14 November 2005, 14:44   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
yeah, that would power around 15 standar a1200's... lol
keropi is offline  
Old 14 November 2005, 15:41   #7
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 35
Posts: 893
Go the ATX conversion route. It's easier to get a atx psu and you will get power enough for your expansions.
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 14 November 2005, 16:41   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,220
I know we are talking about A1200's here, but I got one of these Goliath things for my A600 + Accelerator.

Towering is nice, but the Amiga was IMHO designed to be thrown around / carried to/from mates houses and the A600 is the ideal model.

If you like to throw your A1200 in the cupboard after a play, a brick PSU is still the way to go.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 November 2005, 21:31   #9
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,351
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
The A500 psu that would be ideal is the old brownish heavy one! I got two here still going strong, cant remember which a500's they came with tho...
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 26 November 2005, 18:23   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,265
.. heys guys...

okay the A12 and 600 PSU brick supplies 25Watts and the OLD 500 provides 35 (not a lot more but enough)

I converted a cheap 1.50 90watt baby atx psu (from computer fair) into a 500 psu brick with a 80mm fan ontop for re-housing an A12.

Instead of using a standard 5pin connector to the miggy it was modded to a 12 pin connector to allow for independent power / reset, -12v and two sets of +5,+12 & gnd

got some really cheap cable sleaving from www.valuelist.co.uk and volia! a small effecient 90watt PSU for the amiga with a psu reset too

anyone need specs on how to make just let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_modded psu.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	269.4 KB
ID:	9797  
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 26 November 2005, 22:24   #11
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,351
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Hey thats pretty smart

Back along I had the idea of taking an AT psu, removing all the electronics and then fitting it all into an a500 psu case, keeping everything looking stock as possible! Never got around to tying it in the end, I didnt have much luck finding a board that would fit without having to do drastic cutting of the case
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 27 November 2005, 15:28   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,265
well the best way to find a really small PSU in the 100Watt range *way to much for a miggy* have a look for micro atx psu's found on old hp / dell small / smart systems... in the p3 range of chasis, you might find a couple on ebay and volia and hey presto

heres one

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Micro-ATX-PSU_...QQcmdZViewItem

heres another

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2-x-Micro-ATX-...QQcmdZViewItem

and heres one that is identical to the one that got modded )

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Micro-ATX-Powe...QQcmdZViewItem

bit pricey though.
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apower desktop PSU for A500/600/1200/cd32 are Back! mech MarketPlace 21 20 September 2011 00:45
FOR SALE: A1200 Desktop (1D1) Plus PSU and Mouse Peter MarketPlace 17 29 July 2010 23:33
Broken Amiga1200 HD & PSU for spares? Jellica MarketPlace 2 19 June 2009 23:39
Can some one help me please with my amiga1200. powerslam1973 Amiga scene 2 29 December 2008 17:34
A4000 PSU -> Mini-ATX PSU mod keropi Hardware mods 40 26 February 2007 20:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16232 seconds with 14 queries