English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. Blitz Basic

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2019, 15:41   #1
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
New Release of AmiBlitz 3!

AmiBlitz has been updated to release 3.7, and is available here. This is the first update in a few years, and removes the long-standing FPU requirement, alongside some other improvements. Much thanks should go to Sven Dröge for his work on this!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 19:48   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 42
Posts: 5,645
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
At last! Great!
Predseda is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 20:50   #3
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,259
Is there an english version of the site and documentation? If not this is the right time to have one...
saimon69 is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 22:56   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
Actually, Sven has just said that the repository is wrong and has a beta snapshot, not the final release. He's fixing it now.

As for documentation, all the main documentation included with the package is in English.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 23:27   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
AmiBlitz has been updated to release 3.7, and is available here. This is the first update in a few years, and removes the long-standing FPU requirement, alongside some other improvements. Much thanks should go to Sven Dröge for his work on this!

Daedalus, executable "Amiblitz3_V370" it doesn't seem to work
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 03:27   #6
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 44
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Daedalus, executable "Amiblitz3_V370" it doesn't seem to work
Just like Daedalus wrote. The current release is broken. On my side it meant that V370 wont start (error: unable to open tool).

Sven is aware of this and working on a fixed release. Give him some time

@Daedalus:
The - also included - v361 starts up, but at compile time it would report: Token not found (on a lot of different tokens in the source or its includes)
Is this because both versions share Blitzlibs/deflibs which they shouldn't, or am I missing something here?
Nightshft is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 09:44   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,383
Thanks Nightshft, i had no problem starting the v361
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 11:07   #8
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
Yep, as I said, the repository contains an unfinished version so it doesn't work. Sven is working on that so it should hopefully be corrected today.

There have been some changes to the command library format that makes it incompatible with older versions, which is probably why you're getting token errors with the older version.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 11:53   #9
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Yep, as I said, the repository contains an unfinished version so it doesn't work. Sven is working on that so it should hopefully be corrected today.

There have been some changes to the command library format that makes it incompatible with older versions, which is probably why you're getting token errors with the older version.
I didn't try to install this yet, but I was wondering if I can have BB2 and Amiblitz 3 installed on the same WB install? Mainly, is Amiblitz not using the Blitzlibs: assign?
MickGyver is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 12:35   #10
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 264
This is great news! Specially getting rid of the unwanted FPU code.

Has anybody compared the speed of Blitz2 vs Amiblitz2 vs Amiblitz3?
Zener is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 12:50   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
which is probably why you're getting token errors with the older version.

Daedalus what is the error "token", i have no error message when starting the v361
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 13:10   #12
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickGyver View Post
I didn't try to install this yet, but I was wondering if I can have BB2 and Amiblitz 3 installed on the same WB install? Mainly, is Amiblitz not using the Blitzlibs: assign?
Yep, I use it like this all the time. Amiblitz 3 doesn't use assigns (or rather, it creates a Blitz3: assign dynamically), instead it uses relative paths from the executable. So you can not only have both installed, you can even use both simultaneously (except for the debuggers which seem to clash).

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Daedalus what is the error "token", i have no error message when starting the v361
Sorry, I should've been clearer. I was replying to Nightshft who reported token errors at compile time:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightshft View Post
@Daedalus:
The - also included - v361 starts up, but at compile time it would report: Token not found (on a lot of different tokens in the source or its includes)
Is this because both versions share Blitzlibs/deflibs which they shouldn't, or am I missing something here?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 15:21   #13
carrion
Registered User

carrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Warsaw area
Posts: 97
Does this release mean that now we could use AmiBlitz3 to develop BB2 code in BLITZ mode and be sure it will run on pure A500 and the likes without FPU?
AB3 has so much better editor that it would make me swith to it as a devel tool rather than old Ted.
carrion is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 16:07   #14
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by carrion View Post
Does this release mean that now we could use AmiBlitz3 to develop BB2 code in BLITZ mode and be sure it will run on pure A500 and the likes without FPU?
AB3 has so much better editor that it would make me swith to it as a devel tool rather than old Ted.
That's the goal yes!
MickGyver is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 16:45   #15
rcman
Long time Amiga Owner

rcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uxbridge Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 123
That' s great. I've been looking for Blitz3 docs.
rcman is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 16:40   #16
Honitos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 37
Exclamation AmiBlitz3 v3.7.0 - corrected repository available

Hi,


I just corrected the github repository. The release v3.7.0 *should* work now.
If you want, you can give it another try:
https://github.com/AmiBlitz/AmiBlitz...ses/tag/v3.7.0
Honitos is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 17:20   #17
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 584
Fantastic! Lets try it right now!!!
In a quick test under MorphOS seems stable. Will try now in my 1260.

Thanks so much!
tolkien is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 18:04   #18
Honitos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Celle / Germany
Posts: 37
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
In a quick test under MorphOS seems stable

But on MorphOS the AmiBlitz3.6.1 worked, too, right?
I thought the PPC 603e (or what is inside) has FPU-support and the 68k-emulation support FPU too.
So on MorphOS we have no improvements with 3.7.
But I am happy that it runs there, too.
Honitos is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 18:09   #19
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 584
yes...there is no fpu problems but I find amiblitz 3.6.1 very unstable.
To can develop in a MorphOS enviroment and know there will not be a problem with the FPU in real Amigas is very comfortable!
tolkien is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 18:46   #20
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 44
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honitos View Post
The release v3.7.0 *should* work now.
If you want, you can give it another try:
https://github.com/AmiBlitz/AmiBlitz...ses/tag/v3.7.0
The IDE starts fine now
(Winuae, A1200, OS3.1, Kick3.1, 32MB Fast)

Like in the other AB3 versions I had to modify the tooltypes to work with my standard screen resolutions.

Some programs compile fine, while some don't.

For example I got "can't convert types" at the line
*b.bitmap = Addr BitMap(bm)

Also PaletteInfo, PalRed(), PalGreen(), ... are not recognized anymore. Guess these are normal syntax changes from AB2 to AB3?

Thanks for all your work!
Nightshft is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiblitz 3 Retrofan Amiga scene 2 15 December 2016 23:55
AmiBlitz 3 AF2013 Coders. Blitz Basic 13 26 September 2013 01:27
Amiblitz Forum AlfaRomeo Amiga scene 0 31 July 2013 02:43
AmiBlitz 3 slk486 support.Apps 2 16 May 2010 22:26
AmiBlitz code AlfaRomeo Coders. Tutorials 4 23 February 2010 19:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09855 seconds with 14 queries