English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2019, 21:51   #21
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
IDE is something i havent figured out quite yet - at least not a way that makes it easily accessible to hobbyists...I mean, i could integrate IDE in a way, but it wouldn't be autobooting...I'd presume it just needs an inline rom, but thats not my forte...

Still, any advice or ideas welcome
Kai is offline  
Old 30 June 2019, 08:32   #22
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,446
The popular option for ide implementations these days is the Gayle emulation style IDE. The drivers for this are in ROM since 2.05 (37.300).
Jope is offline  
Old 30 June 2019, 17:17   #23
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UmeƄ
Age: 39
Posts: 574
Another option which is used on the TK 68030 IDE+SRAM card is to implement a oktagon style IDE interface and use that driver.

https://github.com/MHeinrichs/68030t..._IDE-interface

Providing the driver in autoconfig ROM would also make it bootable on 1.3.

Other weak points in the C= scsi.device driver is the MaxTransfer bug and problem with 4GB+ drives which both has caused users and community in general massive headaches through the years. Does anyone know how the oktagon driver fares in these aspects?
patrik is offline  
Old 30 June 2019, 21:54   #24
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
Other weak points in the C= scsi.device driver is the MaxTransfer bug and problem with 4GB+ drives which both has caused users and community in general massive headaches through the years. Does anyone know how the oktagon driver fares in these aspects?
Rather well, if you use the oktapussy driver.

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/oktapus
Jope is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 21:31   #25
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
IDE is something i havent figured out quite yet - at least not a way that makes it easily accessible to hobbyists...I mean, i could integrate IDE in a way, but it wouldn't be autobooting...I'd presume it just needs an inline rom, but thats not my forte...

Still, any advice or ideas welcome
I have a modified/improved design for Mika Leinonen's IDE controller running in my A500.
I improved the IDE interface timing (it's faster now) and fixed some small bugs in the driver (the original driver would hang if it tried to access a non exisiting slave drive). Unfortunately it is not autobooting but it runs quite well and it is very easy to build.


See below schematic and PCB render:
Click image for larger version

Name:	A500ide_PCB.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	128.3 KB
ID:	63600A500ide_PCB.pdf
For a real life pictures see here:
http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?...3&d=1509650841
Mathesar is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 14:09   #26
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 850
Nice! I guess it's just plug n' play, no autoconfig to worry about? I've got an A590 on the side expansion that doesn't like sharing.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 15:53   #27
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
I have a modified/improved design for Mika Leinonen's IDE controller running in my A500.
I improved the IDE interface timing (it's faster now) and fixed some small bugs in the driver (the original driver would hang if it tried to access a non exisiting slave drive). Unfortunately it is not autobooting but it runs quite well and it is very easy to build.


See below schematic and PCB render:
Attachment 63600Attachment 63601
For a real life pictures see here:
http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?...3&d=1509650841
What sort of transfer speeds do you get with that?
Kai is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 11:46   #28
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Nice! I guess it's just plug n' play, no autoconfig to worry about? I've got an A590 on the side expansion that doesn't like sharing.
It is a simple device that is set to a fixed I/O address using jumpers.
The driver is hardcoded to that address.
So yeah, shouldn't interfere with autoconfig devices.
Mathesar is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 11:51   #29
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
What sort of transfer speeds do you get with that?
I get about 600kb/sec using an MC68000 (or MC68010) and a 44pin IDE->microSD converter.
On an 68010 it can go even faster if the driver would be optimized.

Click image for larger version

Name:	sysspeed_a500ide_transfer_speed.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	147.9 KB
ID:	63638
Mathesar is offline  
Old 08 July 2019, 11:10   #30
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
It is a simple device that is set to a fixed I/O address using jumpers.
The driver is hardcoded to that address.
So yeah, shouldn't interfere with autoconfig devices.
Ah, I meant the 14MHz accelerator. I don't think that has drivers at all, right?
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 01 August 2019, 00:24   #31
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
A500-14Mhz-Accelerator

Hi, is this board a 2-layer or 4-layer.. What I mean has he done a 4-layer board..

Last edited by hooleydog; 01 August 2019 at 01:22.
hooleydog is offline  
Old 01 August 2019, 22:03   #32
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
It's a 2-layer board
Kai is offline  
Old 02 August 2019, 04:16   #33
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
Ok.. Now off topic.. Where do you plug in this other board.. The Dram board... No instructions or pictures.... You see I'm gonna order some. Nice design...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DRAM Board v2 Orth0.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	317.5 KB
ID:	63968  

Last edited by hooleydog; 03 August 2019 at 03:48.
hooleydog is offline  
Old 10 August 2019, 17:07   #34
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
Here we go - decoupling caps placed better, and better copper fill: https://github.com/kr239/A500-14Mhz-Accelerator

And integrated into the 8MB FastRAM here:

https://github.com/kr239/A500-8MB-FastRAM/tree/v3



I had a very dull weekend...

Hi I can't open your Gerbers.. neither can PCBway...

ERROR: A500_14Mhz_Accelerator-B_Cu.gbr Multiple gbr Board Outline (.GBR) files found in design!

Last edited by hooleydog; 12 August 2019 at 16:28.
hooleydog is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 06:03   #35
LongLifeA1200
Registered User

LongLifeA1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Amiga Kingdom
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai View Post
...
It's designed for PLCC 68HC000's, which come in higher speed grades than the DIP-64's, and are more abundant, run cooler and are just plain smaller.
...
Great idea.
Supposedly the 68SEC000 is still in production. Gives me hope.
LongLifeA1200 is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 22:25   #36
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 143
Looks good Mathesar. No Autoboot, right? I think your board is the same as Matze's SimpleIDE ?
katarakt is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 14:15   #37
Kai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 112
It's a 2 layer design. The DRAM board plugs into the space where the 44256 DIP's go. can see here on my near complete A500++ repro board:


Without sockets fitted, it should just allow the keyboard to sit right, but in sockets, it's too much Z-height and will foul.
Kai is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 23:13   #38
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
Ok I see now. Just wondering I would like to build myself a 500+ repro board.. Do you have the gerbers for it.. Because there is one on PCBWay.. But it's not complete..

Oh I see that your in Brighton. I was born there, and lived in lower Bevendeen..

Thanks..

Last edited by hooleydog; 28 August 2019 at 23:27.
hooleydog is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 23:45   #39
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
I have a modified/improved design for Mika Leinonen's IDE controller running in my A500.
I improved the IDE interface timing (it's faster now) and fixed some small bugs in the driver (the original driver would hang if it tried to access a non exisiting slave drive). Unfortunately it is not autobooting but it runs quite well and it is very easy to build.


See below schematic and PCB render:
Attachment 63600Attachment 63601
For a real life pictures see here:
http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?...3&d=1509650841

Hi.. Any Gerbers, so I can some PCB's made..


Thanks..
hooleydog is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 12:15   #40
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
Looks good Mathesar. No Autoboot, right? I think your board is the same as Matze's SimpleIDE ?
No, not autobooting unfortunately. I boot mine from a boot floppy that mounts the ide drive and then hands over control to the boot partition. Works fine and pretty quick.
I don't know Matze's design so I have no idea if his is similar. I have improved this design: http://www.mkl211015.altervista.org/ide/a500ide.html
The original design's timing is slightly messy. By adding the flip flops and some logic the timing should now be correct although faster than old PIO0, more like PIO3..4. Modern devices handle that without problems though.
Mathesar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DMA debugger and 14Mhz 68K ovale support.WinUAE 3 10 June 2014 16:10
Buster 14MHz Mod SpeedGeek Hardware mods 0 12 December 2013 23:24
AGA on 14mhz 68000 little request.UAE Wishlist 6 04 May 2012 00:09
A2620 Accelerator Card 12mhz instead of 14mhz. Problem? kjmann14 support.Hardware 1 19 May 2011 01:35
A500 MTEC 68030/14Mhz bebek Hardware mods 9 20 January 2010 23:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12283 seconds with 15 queries