English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 June 2019, 14:17   #261
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Always interested in a bit of online gaming. Haven't played quake online for some years now.

The board you seen was the P4. The P3 is in a case now, I'm just struggling to find time for completing it. Torn between running my Voodoo 3 3000 in it or going for a geforce 2 mx. The geforce 2 would be faster but the Voodoo is more period correct and well its a voodoo only 16 bit graphics though...
OOOOO Decisions I honestly Couldn't pick between them they are both Equally Great cards, But for Functionality the Geforce would be the Way as like you say being Stuck with 16bit Graphics in Certain Scenarios would Suck!

Time is Precious, Spare Time on the other Hand is Rare Nice Board anyhow it Caught my eye With the Gpu Frankensteining from the top of it
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 14:25   #262
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy View Post
Posted ;-)
Thank you Kind Sir
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 14:59   #263
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Just To report this K8VSE Deluxe board just Absolutely Kicked my 98Se Setup's Arse in 3d Mark 2001SE more than Doubling it's Score! 12838 and mine only Scores 5062

This Machine will be up for sale once I have Installed a Soundcard so Pictures will be Due and if any Interest do let me Know :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 15:38   #264
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by 005AGIMA View Post
You could put a second NIC in a modern PC and use that as your proxy/firewall perhaps?

So the Win98 machine connects via ethernet to the modern PC, which in tern connects to the interwebs.

Or setup a dedicated Linux firewall. That's what my mate who works in cyber security for the banking sector does at home.

Or last option, and this is a VERY last resort......stop surfing for pron.
If you're behind a router there shouldn't be a need to have a software firewall. I'd personally just avoid using Internet Explorer and visiting any dodgy sites as any anti-virus software will slow the system down to a crawl.

Windows might be the most vulnerable OS known to mankind, but most issues with it are user error.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 16:19   #265
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 444
There is also the likely hood that modern virus etc won't even run on a windows 98 rig so perhaps it'll be fine no matter what router / firewall you are using.
Glen M is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 16:30   #266
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
I will be trying it all out later on tonight so will let all know the outcome. See whether I'm successful in joining a quake III Server
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 16:52   #267
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Always interested in a bit of online gaming. Haven't played quake online for some years now.

The board you seen was the P4. The P3 is in a case now, I'm just struggling to find time for completing it. Torn between running my Voodoo 3 3000 in it or going for a geforce 2 mx. The geforce 2 would be faster but the Voodoo is more period correct and well its a voodoo only 16 bit graphics though...
Viceroy has a Geforce 2 MX400 64MB AGP up For Sale on eBay :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 23:29   #268
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
I seem to be online Successfully :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 05 June 2019, 23:47   #269
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
its a voodoo only 16 bit graphics though...
Not all 16 bit graphics are the same though.

A Voodoo 3 at 16 bit looks significantly better than a Geforce or anything else at 16 bit. Not as good as 32 bit obviously, but it did some sort of full screen filter thing that really improved video quality.
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 00:30   #270
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,696
Voodoo made the graphics of some games so beautiful! That textured smooth graphical rendering is something that put the cards into a league of their own at the time.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 01:16   #271
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerochip View Post
Not all 16 bit graphics are the same though.

A Voodoo 3 at 16 bit looks significantly better than a Geforce or anything else at 16 bit. Not as good as 32 bit obviously, but it did some sort of full screen filter thing that really improved video quality.
Welcome and yes I do Completely Agree with you on that Voodoo Were definitely in a League of their Own!
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 01:17   #272
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Voodoo made the graphics of some games so beautiful! That textured smooth graphical rendering is something that put the cards into a league of their own at the time.
Lots of Games definitely take Advantage of this
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 01:22   #273
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
After a Patch on Quake III to Version 1.32 I was able to Find more than just One Server and have been Playing it on the 98SE all night
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 14:24   #274
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerochip View Post
Not all 16 bit graphics are the same though.

A Voodoo 3 at 16 bit looks significantly better than a Geforce or anything else at 16 bit. Not as good as 32 bit obviously, but it did some sort of full screen filter thing that really improved video quality.
I think they called it 24 bit colour. Not sure exactly how it worked though. I've also been looking at the ATI cards of the day. Might just stick the voodoo in there for now anyway, just to get it up and running.
Glen M is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 10:29   #275
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Awe 64 Has Arrived safely :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 10:32   #276
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Am going to take a Trip to the Local Salvage yard today and see if I Can pick up a Computer to Rip a IDE Hard Drive, CD Rom and Floppy Drive from it Hopefully for the P3 Build :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 10:33   #277
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 543
;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 10:33   #278
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 543
I tossed loads of cream floppy drive and CD roms out!
Viceroy is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 20:31   #279
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
I Have had a Bit of Success with the P4SE Today regarding the AGP Gart Driver from Sis.

It Didn't like the Sis 7001 Usb Host Controllers so I Switched them to open Host Usb Controllers in Safe made, Rebooted and Hey Presto full AGP Bus now :-)

No luck with Regards to IDE Drives at the Salvage yard though All more Modern Sata but no IDE :-(
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 20:31   #280
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 27
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy View Post
I tossed loads of cream floppy drive and CD roms out!
Now that is a shame I would have Purchased Some
nathanm1991 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86 VS 64-bit? jb2815 support.WinUAE 1 11 July 2016 14:12
DO OR DIE,x86 or ARM? hydragon Amiga scene 19 21 March 2014 12:05
What could have happened if AmigaOS went x86? ancalimon Amiga scene 4 08 January 2010 21:47
The Amiga x86 lelezetec Amiga scene 5 27 September 2009 19:59
Amiga x86 Cerberus73 project.EAB 27 10 August 2009 20:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09889 seconds with 15 queries