English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 February 2019, 20:09   #3061
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Cool man, looks like I'll be going up the loft soon then

Hey, I'm just jealous that your A1200TX works with a Sonnet/M1/K1/whatever, mine doesn't!
Wrangler is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 10:17   #3062
Hall80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Prague
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangler View Post
Hey, I'm just jealous that your A1200TX works with a Sonnet/M1/K1/whatever, mine doesn't!
Hi Wrangler. After yesterday's testing it looks, that problem is wrong settings (Picasso96, MMU, *.libs etc). My System with MMU=Yes working partly, but only with AGA out. After InitPPC it increase my RAM + 64MB(K1 RAM) but everythink stop working - apps only says "Unable to open your tool "C:IconX"" or other tools..
If I change AGA to Voodoo out (with or wthout InitPPC)..every graphics dissappear. May be that some copy of their Envs end libs or whole OS for testing will help to us. Or my MediatorTX is defected (Detected Parity Error) =(.
Hall80 is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 12:45   #3063
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,585
Wrangler's issue involves PPCPCI=yes which causes an instant machine hang. Could be a firmware issue on the mediator, could be something else.
trixster is offline  
Old 25 February 2019, 20:03   #3064
Hall80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Prague
Posts: 19
Hi trixster. oh sorry...i did not know that. I thought that Wrangler is in the same state like me.
I still trying to found "right" configurations of MEDIATORs envs and mmu.library/68060.library for A1200 and sonnet/K1.
Mainly the MMU mode: YES or NOT?
- In YES mode - my K1 "working" under DOS and answer for initPPC and getinfo. But only in PCI1 - the first top slot. WorkBench not working unde RTG. Anfet INITPPC under AGA - worbench has many errors.
- In NO mode - my K1 never answer for that...everytime say.."PowerPC CPU not responding". But every other things working right except PPC =).
Still do not know if the Voodoomemos=yes is necessary for K1 etc etc..
Please, is still here someone who has A1200 with working sonnet or K1 PCIPPC card? If yes, is it a possible to provide your configurations of ENVARC , Mediator, libs and picasso configs for us?
Really really thank you - i am really do not know how to continue now... Stepan.
Hall80 is offline  
Old 25 February 2019, 22:43   #3065
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
Hope in performance

Hope you can find a way to get performance from the amiga bus. I tried the killer nic for fun on the 3000Di mediator and it was really disappointing. The cyberstorm PPC was much faster without the strange wait behavior of the killer.

This card looks like the best hope for big box Amigas, I doubt the vampire for big box sees the light of day...

I bet this is a real challenge to figure out, you did a great job with the VA2000 and I have it in my spare system, so I hope you find a way to get big box Amiga's running beyond what we have today.

Using a 3000D as a daily driver with a 80MHz warp engine and a radeon on the mediator, looks good it just doesn't perform well enough. Having 6000 plus emails in simple mail is just unusable for example.

Good luck!
matt3k is offline  
Old 25 February 2019, 23:21   #3066
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Hope you can find a way to get performance from the amiga bus. I tried the killer nic for fun on the 3000Di mediator and it was really disappointing. The cyberstorm PPC was much faster without the strange wait behavior of the killer.

Good luck!

Did they legalize crystal meth in NY or something?



Code:
                      CSPPC  BPPC    Sonnet  PrPMC800 Killer NIC
                      360MHz 330MHz  500MHz  450MHz   400MHz
                      CVPPC  Voodoo3 Voodoo3 Voodoo3  Voodoo3

Blitting Test:        18.7    8.2     36.8    137.7    40.0
Plasma:               18.5    8.2     32.8    81.5     34.3
Rotozoomer:           17.3    6.3     33.1    96.7     34.3
Rotozoomer Near:      18.6    8.2     33.6    100.9    36.1
Rotozoomer Far:       14.8    4.2     31.7    86.0     30.2
Radial Blur:          6.9     1.6     9.9     19.4     12.0
3D Bunny:             3.6     1.6     5.1     11.2     7.0
Games:

Code:
          Demo  Sonnet 500MHz G3    PrPMC 450MHz G4   Killer NIC 400MHz
                320x240  640x480   320x240  640x480   320x240  640x480
QuakeWOS  (2)    68.3     24.6       93.0     40.3      60.0    25.3
glQuake   (1)     x       48.9        x       50.1       x      44.5
Quake II  (1)     x       51.2        x       55.1       x      44.3
Quake III (4)     x       28.3        x       32.0       x       a
x = not measured
a = not enough memory
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 February 2019, 00:17   #3067
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
NYS is turning into a sad state these day, but no we haven't legalized hard drugs yet .

The nonsense is what I have seen using the Killer NIC and having used the Cyberstorm PPC in the past. I don't play games, I just use it for productivity.

Maybe I have a bad setup or a bad card, but when I unarchive with lha it stalls for many seconds and rendering images seems much slower that the Cyber PPC (granted the Cyber PPC was over clocked to around the K1.) Picture loading and lha worked really fast. The K1 doesn't have any memory and think that may be part of the issue.
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2019, 00:19   #3068
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,171
If picture rendering is done through datatypes, I'm guessing an incorrect install. Anyway, so what's up with ZZ9000 it was postponed to Feb'19. Which is now :-)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 26 February 2019, 00:30   #3069
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
If picture rendering is done through datatypes, I'm guessing an incorrect install. Anyway, so what's up with ZZ9000 it was postponed to Feb'19. Which is now :-)
I just moved my warpDT over from my old PPC setup. Perhaps I should try reinstalling the WarpDT's...

What datatypes do you recommend?

Is the stalling when I use lha normal for the k1?
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2019, 01:53   #3070
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,171
I'm guessing we are getting off-topic. Better post in the sonnet thread. But regarding datatypes you should first indicate how you start the ppc card and when? And I haven't seen lha stalling myself before.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 26 February 2019, 04:07   #3071
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
@indigolemon could you post the contents of your ENVARC:mediator ENVARC:sonnet and your current working system configuration? I'll put up a page on the wiki-unsupported but at least a snapshot of a known working configuration. I see your mmu-configuration but the rest of it is a little hazy, or I am.

@Hall80 in answer to a couple of your questions:
Q: Wrong colors when selecting a non-PC mode with Voodoo4 or Radeon.
A: This is a known bug of the Radeon and Voodoo 4 drivers, they do not support Big Endian modes. You have to use "PC" or Little Endian modes. Some programs expect Big Endian modes, most notably most of Amidog's great old emulators. There is no fix for this unless someone writes new drivers. When the wrong endian mode is selected you will get the wrong colors in applications.

Q: MMULib do I need it, what is it, why is it so hard, can I do without it?
A: Thor's MMULib distribution is an attempt to standardize MMU utilization across the Amiga spectrum. In the olden days each accelerator manufacturer provided their own FastROM mapping utilities and little tools to utilize the MMU, the MMULib distribution is an attempt to standardize that. The Sonnetlib distribution more or less expects it to be there, but it is not strictly required. It has many moving components including replacement 680x0 libraries and various tools like ROM remappers and tools to control the MMU. While you might not necessarily need all of it, if you choose to not use it, you're on your own to troubleshoot your system. It's really not that hard to install, there is a pretty good install script with plenty of warnings and install options.

Q: I have a BlizzardVisionPPC card, can I use it?
A: I don't know, from the vast number of successful A1200 users, ok one A1200 user that seems to be using the Sonnetlib successfully, doesn't have one. Maybe you should try removing it-if you dare.

Q: CyberGraphX or P96?
A: P96 is the only working and supported RTG GFX API for Mediator.

Q: Ok I can have just a bunch of random shit in my Amiga and boot from another CF card to test another configuration?
A: NO, not necessarily. The low level ROM drivers and MMU configurations are designed to survive a reboot. If you play around with one configuration that is significantly or slightly different from another with devices in different memory locations, a simple warm reboot will not clear them. You may have to fully power cycle your Amiga to clear these configurations. And in a worst case scenario, it may have to be off for some 20 seconds or more to fully reset your Amiga.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 26 February 2019 at 04:27.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 February 2019, 09:50   #3072
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
Trying to resolve performance issue with K1.

I installed the Sonnet libs and ran getinfo.
It sees the Cpu as unknown.
Cpu clock 333 MHz
Bus clock 133 MHz
Data and instruction cache is on and unlocked
L2 cache is disabled
l2 state is copy back

I moved over my WarpDt from a backup when i used the cyberstorm ppc.

Rendering images seem slow and when I use lha I have very long pauses, occasionally with a very quick recoverable alert that shows a bit down the screen.

Any ideas?
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2019, 18:30   #3073
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
@indigolemon could you post the contents of your ENVARC:mediator ENVARC:sonnet and your current working system configuration? I'll put up a page on the wiki-unsupported but at least a snapshot of a known working configuration. I see your mmu-configuration but the rest of it is a little hazy, or I am.
Sure man, away with work atm but will gather as much info as I can for you when I get back
indigolemon is online now  
Old 27 February 2019, 02:20   #3074
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
@matt3k, generally if you want some help, start with system configuration, accelerator, what 680x0 libraries you're using, whether you're using mmulib or not, mmu-configuration dump. Is it stable otherwise? Can you run many rounds of dnetc_wos successfully? What's the card order from bottom to top? Finally a post a dump of pciinfo and muscan.
Or fill this out:
https://github.com/Sakura-IT/SonnetA...ki/Bug-Reports

Generally the WarpDTs are working pretty well, loading a 5MP jpeg takes a few seconds on the PPC versus almost a minute on the 060. However you still have to wait for the load time of transferring the files first.

The LHA stuff I've noticed myself with DOpus, where it scans everything you're trying to add to the LHA before it does work, though this seemed to me limited to creating LHAs in DOpus. Extracting via the CLI like lha_ x umsd:somebig.lha starts pretty much instantly.

Also try running this and compare to the posted results so we get some indication if there is something terribly wrong:
http://aminet.net/package/gfx/3d/GPMark_WOS

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 27 February 2019 at 03:20.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 27 February 2019, 16:16   #3075
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
@grelbfarlk - thanks for the guidance.

I'm using:
AOS 3.1.4 in a Amiga 3000D.
Radeon video card
Killer K1 - in middle slot above radeon and below xsurf100.
Cyberstorm MKIII 060@66MHz
Use Phase 5 libs
Programs loaded: CopyMem060/UtilPatch040/FastCache040/MyCPU060/TurboMMU040


I ran GPMark and got good results:
Blit Test - 121.9
Plasma - 99.7
Rotozooner - 99.1
Rotozoomer Near -104.0
Rotozoomer Far - 87.7
Radial Blur - 39.3
3D bunny 6.9

Maybe this is a warpDT issue only at this point. The PPC seems to run fine except displaying jpegs, etc. It is at 68k speeds.

I put the initppc right after the setpatch in the Startup-sequence.

I will try restalling the warpdt from archive, maybe something is a miss there...
matt3k is offline  
Old 27 February 2019, 16:51   #3076
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post

I ran GPMark and got good results:
Blit Test - 121.9
Plasma - 99.7
Rotozooner - 99.1
Rotozoomer Near -104.0
Rotozoomer Far - 87.7
Radial Blur - 39.3
3D bunny 6.9
Which GPmark is that? Which resolution?

And could you post your startup-sequence?

Last edited by Hedeon; 27 February 2019 at 17:00.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 28 February 2019, 03:22   #3077
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
GPMark_320FS_WOS version .04 from aminet. Its running on workbench which is 1152x900 16bit.

Here is my SS:

; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 45.4 (28.5.2018)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

If Exists C:LoadModule
C:Version exec.library version 46 >NIL:
If Warn
C:LoadModule ROMUPDATE
EndIf
EndIf
C:SetPatch QUIET
C:CPU CHECKINSTALL
C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

;AsyncRun C:MemOptimizer 12 4096 1048576 25 NOCHIP NOFLUSH

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVSOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
EndIF

C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
Execute T:M
Celete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

Run >NIL: <NIL: C:InitPPC
SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
matt3k is offline  
Old 28 February 2019, 13:05   #3078
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 789
@grelbfarlk and @Hall80

I've put a document together detailing my system configuration, plus some notes. Please let me know if there are other details you would like me to add.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing
indigolemon is online now  
Old 28 February 2019, 21:49   #3079
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
@grelbfarlk

Forget to mention used dnetc_wos with no issues. Ran fine for long time.

This seems to be just a warpdt issue right now...
matt3k is offline  
Old 01 March 2019, 01:37   #3080
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,171
What kind of productivity programs are you using that are using powerpc datatypes?
Hedeon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 00:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 00:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 15:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21766 seconds with 15 queries