English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2018, 12:40   #61
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 793
Amiga 1200 Rev 2b has Amiga 500 style keyboard connector, it just hasn't pins, wich are easy to solder.

This ei now more relevant info than it was some time ago.
utri007 is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 13:30   #62
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,495
Be careful, those pins are laid out differently to the A500/500+ header!
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 13:56   #63
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Amiga 1200 Rev 2b has Amiga 500 style keyboard connector, it just hasn't pins, wich are easy to solder.

This ei now more relevant info than it was some time ago.

Ahhhh!, yes, i forgot about this header. It would be very easy to make a custom Dupont cable for this. Resfresh my memory, plugging in an a500 8 pin cable (with connections going to the correct pins) allows you to bypass the 31 pin header and use the a500 keyboard through this serial cable ?

K, i checked it out, for those people lucky enough to have a rev 2B you will be able to use a 7 pin cable

thanks for the info Jope
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=697675&postcount=7

Last edited by kipper2k; 16 October 2018 at 14:09.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 14:08   #64
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,495
Yep, the A1200 header gives you access to the main keyboard signals in parallel with the MPU. The signals themselves (clock, data and reset) are in the same places at pins 1, 2 and 3, but 5V and Ground are where the two LED signals are on the A500 so the power wires need to be taken care of. A very simple adaptor would be enough, but I would be wary of people ignoring the difference and launching straight in with A500-style connections.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 14:10   #65
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Yep, the A1200 header gives you access to the main keyboard signals in parallel with the MPU. The signals themselves (clock, data and reset) are in the same places at pins 1, 2 and 3, but 5V and Ground are where the two LED signals are on the A500 so the power wires need to be taken care of. A very simple adaptor would be enough, but I would be wary of people ignoring the difference and launching straight in with A500-style connections.
i could make a 6 pin to 8 pin cable and block out the holes, that should help (or something like that).

K, brain is going into overdrive, it is very easy for all A1200s to get the benefit of the USB on the KB as thre is no reason why instead of plugging into the 31 pin KB header you simply make a PLCC plug in for odd CIA or the MPU to tap into the CLK, RST, and DAT signals . same on the A600. Thanks for reminding me guys.

So there technically is no reason for the 31 pin connector at all, what a nice way to start the day

So here are the options

1. regular 31 pin cable
2. lucky Rev 2b users using custom cable (using an A500 equipped MX KB)
3. All a1200 revs using PLCC plug on. (using an A500 equipped MX KB)

Last edited by kipper2k; 16 October 2018 at 14:36.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 17:03   #66
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 281
I'd vote ribbon cable because I'm a traditionalist but is there a reason why you can't have the option for all? price?

Have you thought about doing the whole top right portion modular so that the keyboard is interchangeable between A500/A1200 systems with just a different add-on board? or is that one of those good in theory but total nightmare in practice sort of things.
Mick is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 17:12   #67
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
I'd vote ribbon cable because I'm a traditionalist but is there a reason why you can't have the option for all? price?

Have you thought about doing the whole top right portion modular so that the keyboard is interchangeable between A500/A1200 systems with just a different add-on board? or is that one of those good in theory but total nightmare in practice sort of things.
Price for a dupont cable is dirt cheap, price for a plcc socket cable is also cheap. i thought about modular, that is feature creep, too messy. you are looking at about $5 for a plcc cable and clip, remember though to use the plcc option you would need to get the MX board with the PIC chip on (for the a500). This of course is very handy for people who have flaky 31 pin connectors. and no big ribbon cable that could tear easy. Ultimately the end user now has better choice options than yesterday
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 18:01   #68
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 281
Ah right, I read it like you were giving us options and hoping to do away with the ribbon connector entirely since you sounded really enthusiastic about not needing one.

So if I understand it right those wanting Rev2B/PLCC option will have to buy the A500 specific version and do a bit of modification themselves? (LED desoldering etc?)
Mick is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 18:24   #69
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
i think the easiest way is to give people choice of the a500 or the a1200 MX board. Both should be physically identical (once i sort out the LED issue) The A500 version will prob be a little more as that will have the built in controller. whereas a basic A1200MX board does not and simply needs the 31 pin connector.

If you want the a500 version for an A500 then that will have the LEDs and the PIC controller on board and you will connect to the motherboard via the regular 8 pin header. The USB option will be available to connect to PI etc.

If you want to be able to play with USB on your A1200 then it is probably better to get the A500 version with no LEDs and use either the PLCC option or the REV2b connector.

If it is just a straight forward A1200 KB replacement then the A1200 version using 31 pin connector is for you which has no controller and no LEDs.

This can all be specified when buying.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 18:40   #70
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 281
Got it, I'll stop bugging you now. I'm very much looking forward to seeing them available.
Mick is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 19:27   #71
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
If you want to be able to play with USB on your A1200 then it is probably better to get the A500 version with no LEDs and use either the PLCC option or the REV2b connector.
This can all be specified when buying.
Hope I'm not going down a rabbit hole here, I'm just a bit curious about what you've said above. When you say "play with USB" do you mean like attaching a rapidroad or something? Is your concern that the LEDs would get in the way?

Very cool project, btw I'm watching this thread with interest.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 19:54   #72
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
Hope I'm not going down a rabbit hole here, I'm just a bit curious about what you've said above. When you say "play with USB" do you mean like attaching a rapidroad or something? Is your concern that the LEDs would get in the way?

Very cool project, btw I'm watching this thread with interest.
you can use the USB output of the keyboard with an emulator on a Pi etc. I am moving things around on the top of the pcb to fix the a500/a1200 LED issue. Problem is the A1200 LED addon sits too low and will cause the pcb to flex. So i have to reshape the pcb so it doesnt interfere... This means that i will need to make a little plug in board that has the leds for the A500 on it, so there will be a few changes. and moving location of USB plug etc
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 20:19   #73
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 39
Posts: 2,610
Nice one Kipper2K!
Neil79 is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 20:39   #74
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 198
Kipper put me down for a A500, A600 and A1200 please

I'll be likely reviewing this on my channel too. Very hyped about this!
lantus360 is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 20:49   #75
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 39
Posts: 2,610
Depending on Price, please keep me in the interests list for an A1200 keyboard!

Also announced on IRN
http://www.indieretronews.com/2018/1...keyboards.html
Neil79 is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 20:53   #76
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 161
I have a Cherry MX Brown keyboard and it's very nice. Looking forward to a keyboard for my A1200.
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 21:01   #77
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 255
Send a message via MSN to voyager
will the original leds from a a500 keyboard fit the pcb?
voyager is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 21:01   #78
mintsauce82
Junior Member
mintsauce82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Age: 36
Posts: 64
I am absolutely interested in one of these. Looking forward to hearing (pre)order details
mintsauce82 is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 21:03   #79
arcanist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 35
Posts: 106
Do want! The keyboard is my least favorite part of my A1200.
arcanist is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 21:07   #80
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager View Post
will the original leds from a a500 keyboard fit the pcb?
k, here is what i have done, i have reshaped to allow for the a1200 LED board to sit in its normal place, the A500 LED board will be on a small board that will connect to the main board by a 5 pin header. I just need to line it up so that when plugged in it will fit ok, nice thing about the header/addon is there will be a bit of play so adjust it a bit in the event of a slight misalignment

Anyone will be able to design their own little A500 LED board if not hapy with mine. In theory you can steal the original leds from your old controller boards

Short answer... Yes, using 3 x 5mm rectangular LEDs inline will fit nicely .

I'll try to post pics of my changes later

Last edited by kipper2k; 16 October 2018 at 21:25.
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about A600 keyboards! hansel75 support.Hardware 4 01 November 2012 08:25
A1200, A600, A500+ and A500 maddoc666 MarketPlace 1 22 May 2011 10:11
A600 motherboards, cases and keyboards Nostromo MarketPlace 4 18 November 2010 09:48
A500 or A600 or A1200? emuola New to Emulation or Amiga scene 58 24 April 2009 00:43
Pre loved A500/A1200 keyboards Brass MarketPlace 0 10 November 2006 22:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09535 seconds with 14 queries