English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2018, 23:52   #2241
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Well if you want to do some development I can offer you a very special price on a PPC accelerator that you can put the savings towards an 040/060 accel. Let me know.
Thing is, I need to get the mediator too. I would mainly do my dev on a towered A1200, which looks pretty promising now. However, as 040/060 accelerators usually goes above £500-700 it's above my price range at the moment.

I'm getting each part over an extended amount of time.

Thanks for the offer, will have to think about it over the summer!
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 00:42   #2242
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
Thing is, I need to get the mediator too. I would mainly do my dev on a towered A1200, which looks pretty promising now. However, as 040/060 accelerators usually goes above £500-700 it's above my price range at the moment.

I'm getting each part over an extended amount of time.

Thanks for the offer, will have to think about it over the summer!

It's a limited time offer, limited to the amount of time it takes you to respond to Stachu in the marketplace and place an order on Amigakit. It's only money, remember you can't take it with you.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 00:45   #2243
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
It's a limited time offer, limited to the amount of time it takes you to respond to Stachu in the marketplace and place an order on Amigakit. It's only money, remember you can't take it with you.
Lol, I have exactly £554 to live on until the end of the month. I don't have any extra savings I can take from either.

EDIT:
Just checked Stachu's sale. Lmao, 900 EUR. Brb, just gonna sell my kidney. :P
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 01:08   #2244
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
Lol, I have exactly £554 to live on until the end of the month. I don't have any extra savings I can take from either.

EDIT:
Just checked Stachu's sale. Lmao, 900 EUR. Brb, just gonna sell my kidney. :P

Maybe someone has an A1200 accelerator to donate too. Hey someone want to donate an A1200 040/060 Accelerator so Marlon can port Sheepshaver/GemRB and FPSE?



I'm about 60%/85%/0% done on those anyway, it should only take him a week!
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 01:14   #2245
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Maybe someone has an A1200 accelerator to donate too. Hey someone want to donate an A1200 040/060 Accelerator so Marlon can port Sheepshaver/GemRB and FPSE?



I'm about 60%/85%/0% done on those anyway, it should only take him a week!
Hah, wouldn't that be great? I could probably do a lot of groundwork on PC and trying it in UAE. But my experience with running WarpOS ports compiled with newer tools, that work on real hardware, on UAE have been disastrous and never want to work properly. :/

I could also focus on getting stuff to either work on MorphOS or 68k Classic and then make the rest of the changes later to get it to run on WarpOS.

I'm so peeved that there's no proper cross tools for WarpOS, such a shame! There would certainly be much more ports for these cool cards if the toolset was there. Has anyone contacted H&P to get hold of the sources for the older toolset? Just getting hold of the sources of Elf2exe2 would go a long way.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 01:18   #2246
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 839
It was without audio as that hangs the A1200. Based on this I wouldn't recommend buying anything yet. I would wait until Warp3D plus audio running.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 01:20   #2247
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
It was without audio as that hangs the A1200. Based on this I wouldn't recommend buying anything yet. I would wait until Warp3D plus audio running.
I got time until I can afford anything anyway. The progress so far is still promising though and I'm hopeful you'll get it working properly eventually.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 12:29   #2248
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,207
I’ve got a spare A4000 with an A3640.

I’d be willing to long-term lend it to Marlon for development purposes. He’d have to get hold of a Mediator for it, and a keyboard. I could supply it with a fresh OS3.9 BB1&2 install and a Voodoo 3 2000.

It’s got an original PSU but that’s the one I’ve run a sonnet and rapture on with no issues so it should be fine.
trixster is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 16:42   #2249
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,207
I’m seeing Quake3-jit fail to load maybe 70% of the time with #359 360 and 361. I’ve been using #336 for the last month with no issues. Haven’t had chance to test any builds between 336 and 359 yet, sorry
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8A029270-0AE7-43A2-B131-FEAA1A022AF7.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	58812  
trixster is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 18:36   #2250
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 839
I'll then wait until you have pinpointed the build which introduced it. :-)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 18:39   #2251
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
I’ve got a spare A4000 with an A3640.

I’d be willing to long-term lend it to Marlon for development purposes. He’d have to get hold of a Mediator for it, and a keyboard. I could supply it with a fresh OS3.9 BB1&2 install and a Voodoo 3 2000.

It’s got an original PSU but that’s the one I’ve run a sonnet and rapture on with no issues so it should be fine.

That’s very nice of you! I’ll have to think about it. Currently not at home
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 18:58   #2252
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
I'll then wait until you have pinpointed the build which introduced it. :-)
Ha ha! I knew you’d say that! I’ll start going through them from 337 onwards when I can. Sometimes I get a data exception like the one linked

. Stuff like Q2, blitzquake, GPMark, gears seem unaffected, no crashes so far with those with 361.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	D74C4D27-29B6-4FB2-967E-57C4B21DB692.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	1.04 MB
ID:	58813  

Last edited by trixster; 13 July 2018 at 19:37.
trixster is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 21:37   #2253
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 839
Do it in steps of 10 then do 5 back when it crashes etc. Don't do 336,337,338 etc
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 21:57   #2254
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,207
That's more or less what im doing 340, 345, 350, 355 all ok so far it seems.
trixster is offline  
Old 14 July 2018, 00:28   #2255
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,452
I'd try 358, that's what I'm running on Rapture and Ragnarok and it's stable.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 14 July 2018, 00:41   #2256
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 839
He's trying to find the first unstable one. Not a stable one. And why are you not on the latest?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 14 July 2018, 01:09   #2257
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,207
I think the problem I’m seeing starts with #355. 355 did seem to launch Q3-jit ok but I then started seeing random crashes in-game or on the title screen after a while. I then tried gears and got crashes too, sometimes after only a few seconds. I was a little surprised by this as I hadn’t seen crashes in anything but Q3 so far with the latest drivers. I tried #359 again and sure enough it crashed gears after about 25 seconds so maybe I just haven’t tested 359+ thoroughly enough with stuff other than Q3.

I’ve gone back down to #354 and that seems all fine - an hour of Q3-jit played with no issues and gears has just been running for 45mins without issue.

I’m going to leave the machine on overnight with #354 running gears to see where we are in the morning.
trixster is offline  
Old 14 July 2018, 01:35   #2258
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
He's trying to find the first unstable one. Not a stable one. And why are you not on the latest?

I thought >359 was A1200 updates, I'll updratege.

I thought I was using 358 but it is 359, I got confused because the file sizes are the same. It was that one magical night when you fixed all those things.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 14 July 2018 at 02:00.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 14 July 2018, 10:46   #2259
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 839
What card are you using? 355 only contains changes for a card with a harrier chipset.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 14 July 2018, 11:21   #2260
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,207
Quake 2 has just been running loops overnight with #354 so I think that’s probably ok. This is all on a rapture.
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 01:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 01:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 16:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17230 seconds with 15 queries