English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2018, 17:01   #1
AmigaBlitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rome
Posts: 17
Picasso IV 32 bit mode

Hello everyone,

it's possibile with picasso IV to have 1024x768 or 800x600 32 bit mode?

Thank you
AmigaBlitter is offline  
Old 22 February 2018, 22:11   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,122
No, SVGA chip used in Picasso IV is 24-bit max. Later SVGA chips dropped 24-bit (and 15-bit) and were 8/16/32-bit only.

Why not use 24-bit mode? It is a bit slower (due to required 24<>32 bit conversion) but has same number of colors.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 17:45   #3
AmigaBlitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rome
Posts: 17
Thank you for the reply.
I need 32 bit mode to test some SDL2 software.
Using 24 bit mode with UAEGFX further slowdown Winuae, due to the 32-24 conversion.
UAEGFX is slower than Picasso IV.

This is the reason i asked.
Any other way to improve the UAEGfx speed?
AmigaBlitter is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 18:12   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,122
You can try 3.6.1 RTG multithread option, it will move color conversion to separate thread. But it may only help if you have fast CPU and lots of memory bandwidth.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 13:31   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaBlitter View Post
UAEGFX is slower than Picasso IV.
Any other way to improve the UAEGfx speed?
Ciao AmigaBlitter, devo dire che io non scontro alcuna differenza di velocià, anzi UAEGFX (quello che io uso) è più veloce oltre ad avere molta più RAM (non so se WinUAE sfrutta tutti e 256 MB)

Guarda questo test con BeastieWorker, poi magari provalo sul tuo OS3 UAEGFX


[ Show youtube player ]


-------------------- English ----------------

Ciao AmigaBlitter i must say that I do not run into any difference in speed, indeed, UAEGFX (the one I use) it's faster as well as having much more RAM (I do not know if WinUAE uses all 256 MB)


Watch this test with BeastieWorker, then maybe try it on your OS3 UAEGFX
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem in screen mode with Picasso 96 in Raspberry Pi rayan259 support.Apps 10 11 August 2017 23:24
WINUAE_PPC + Picasso IV vs Apus + X11 in vesafb mode Kpt.Nemo support.WinUAE 6 31 August 2015 22:37
Cannot display 16/32-bit mode at 1680x1050 chocolate_boy support.WinUAE 7 29 June 2010 19:01
Serial Port Emulation; 9-bit mode Borg_Number_One support.WinUAE 14 04 August 2006 19:17
Screen stays black in windowed mode with 32-bit desktop h121 support.WinUAE 4 24 August 2005 09:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06484 seconds with 14 queries