English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2018, 09:37   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Suggestion to fix Multiscan and VSync incompatibility

Hi Toni,

Everytime I use a PAL Workbench and change to a Multiscan screen, the super high res refresh rate clash with the refresh rate of my monitor (50Hz, because I use VSync in WinUAE). And vice-versa.

Toni, could you fix it by adding a little check in WinUAE code to temporarily disable VSync when the Amiga refresh rate is incompatible with the PC mode?

It would be necessary also change the refresh rate to a "safe" mode, like 60 Hz or the best PC mode like WinUAE already does with the "Default refresh rate" combobox. Could you reenable it also when the screen mode changes back?

I would like to be a able to work in a multiscan Workbench and run whdload games with vsync, too.

Thanks,
Leandro.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 08 February 2018, 12:44   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,880
VSync by design forces native display to use vsync speed.

whdload startup/shutdown scripts + uae-configuration should do what you want.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 February 2018, 13:37   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
uae-configuration should do what you want.
Awesome Toni!

Though someday it would be much more nice if WinUAE could make that change automatically.

Could you give me an example of how to change the vsync option with uae-configuration?

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 08 February 2018 at 13:55.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 10 February 2018, 21:10   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,880
Something like "uae-configuration gfx_vsync false" and back to true when exiting whdload.

Copy your config file somewhere, change option, save it. Compare config files. Changed entry is the one you want to use in uae-configuration
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joystick incompatibility since WinUAE V2.4.0 - needs a fix Amigo support.WinUAE 7 13 August 2013 08:09
possible x-copy incompatibility trackah123 support.WinUAE 2 26 October 2008 13:29
DBLPAL or Multiscan demos DDNI request.Demos 1 05 September 2006 20:30
Help multiscan monitor problems!! magnox support.Hardware 8 07 April 2005 07:19
Thrustmaster Incompatibility moffball71 support.WinUAE 0 15 June 2003 15:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06418 seconds with 14 queries