English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2018, 15:40   #1
GraveR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Blizzard 1230 + PFS-AIO Unexpected Phase Change

I'm not sure if this is WinUAE-only (since I lack the real hardware to confirm).

I tried to make a SCSI-only Amiga setup in WinUAE 3.6.0 and during the installation of AsimCDFS (AsimCDFS v3.9 (1998-01-30)(Asimware Innovations)[h Digital Corruption][HD]) I found that the mentioned error always caused an error at the exact same step of extracting an archive.

Steps to reproduce:
1) Create a basic A1200 + Blizzard 1230 IV config
2) Activate the Blizzard IV SCSI kit and attach a hardfile
3) Partition the drive with PFS AIO and format it
4) Insert the AsimCDFS installdisk and use the supplied lx-command to extract asimcdfs.lha from the l/ directory on the floppy (df0:c/lx x df0:l/asimcdfs.lha)

I think there could be an issue with the SCSI kit emulation, because I can't seem to mount the emulated CD-ROM regardless of this issue. (Meaning, install on an IDE-disk and just having a CD-ROM on the SCSI kit); it hangs indefinitely. Changing the SCSI-controller to, for example, A4091 works without issues.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2018-01-30_09-58-12.png
Views:	52
Size:	27.9 KB
ID:	56534  
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (15.7 KB, 7 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (25.5 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by GraveR; 30 January 2018 at 15:42. Reason: Added attachments
GraveR is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 January 2018, 18:11   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,476
Add -scsilog -scsiemulog command line parameters and then recreate winuaelog.txt, thanks.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 January 2018, 19:12   #3
GraveR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Here it is. Thanks for looking into it.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (59.5 KB, 14 views)
GraveR is offline  
Old 30 January 2018, 21:24   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,476
Thanks. I had to duplicate it myself because it wasn't trivial issue. (and unexpectedly I managed to duplicate it instantly and reliably! Thats rare..)

Fixed. This write operation wrote two bytes to SCSI chip's FIFO and then started DMA (with size - 2 of total transfer size). Data in FIFO was ignored which caused phase mismatch.

I am not sure why SCSI Kit does this, possibly DMA requires long word alignment? But on the other hand DMA IO address and length is in words, not in longs.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 January 2018, 22:00   #5
GraveR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Nice to hear you've found what caused the issue. Also, I don't know why lx triggered that, because during normal installation of Workbench and such the problem did not occur. Unpacking the same archive with lzx just worked.

I wouldn't be surprised if there is an broader issue with this kit. I recall on real hardware, recording track-at-once to a CD writer would sometimes cause unexpected phase changes between writing tracks as well. They (Phase5/Ralph Schmidt(?)) blamed it on bad termination and ignored the issue.

Again, thanks for looking into it. I appreciate it!
GraveR is offline  
Old 31 January 2018, 16:24   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraveR View Post
Nice to hear you've found what caused the issue. Also, I don't know why lx triggered that, because during normal installation of Workbench and such the problem did not occur. Unpacking the same archive with lzx just worked.
lzx probably writes in smaller pieces or has different data aligment (if it really depends on long/word aligment)

Quote:
I wouldn't be surprised if there is an broader issue with this kit. I recall on real hardware, recording track-at-once to a CD writer would sometimes cause unexpected phase changes between writing tracks as well. They (Phase5/Ralph Schmidt(?)) blamed it on bad termination and ignored the issue.
This problem is something different. Random, non-repeatable problems are generally always hardware problems (termination etc..)

SCSI "phase mismatch" only means that device wants something else than what host expected. (for example device wants more data but host expected transfer to end etc)
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Phase 5 Blizzard 1230 IV + 64MB Ram Jon Hare MarketPlace 0 03 April 2012 13:48
FS: Phase 5 Blizzard 1230 IV 50Mhz + 32MB JLPedro MarketPlace 0 29 December 2009 21:20
Phase 5 Blizzard 1230 IV FPU? witchmaster support.Hardware 13 17 December 2008 08:24
Phase 5 Blizzard 1230 @50mhz 64 mb Johnyt MarketPlace 19 06 May 2005 23:36
Phase 5 Blizzard 1230/IV < Manual > Eny- support.Hardware 4 22 June 2004 16:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20182 seconds with 14 queries