English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2017, 21:19   #1
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,961
CD32 emulation noob

I'm trying to get a CD32 config set up in WinUAE, just to boot to the initial animation screen. Easy, right? My config:
Code:
http://www.media!fire.com/file/1hwazby0btwzttb/CD32_test.zip
But on starting emulation I get this in the log:
IOCTL: device '\\.\F:' (ELBY/CLONEDRIVE/1.4) opened succesfully (unit=0,media=0)
CD32: using drive F:\ (unit 0, media 0)
Autoconfig board list:
END
CD32: media changed = 0
PAL mode V=50.0804Hz H=15625.0881Hz (227x312+0) IDX=10 (PAL) D=0 RTG=0/0
RTGFREQ: 312*50.0804 = 15625.0879 / 50.1 = 312
POS (0 0 1536 1152) - (-392 -289 376 287)[768,576] (384 288)
ROM VP 00F80000 - 01000000 80000 (512k) UNPROT
ROM VP 00E00000 - 00E80000 80000 (512k) UNPROT
hardreset, memory cleared
B-Trap FE0E at 0000003A -> 32290000
Your Amiga program just did something terribly stupid 32290000 PC=0000003A
3228FFE0 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
3228FFF0 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
32290000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
32290010 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
32290020 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000001A 6469 2E72 6F75 6500 6563 6973 3337 2028
0000002A 2E33 3229 0000 4E55 48E7 43F9 0034 0004
0000003A FE0E 200B 00D8 0024 6500 7000 4EAE 4A80
0000004A 00C0 0004 FD66 200A 00B0 FFDA 00B0 43ED
0000005A 2200 FE44 6600 3B7C FFE8 00BF FFC8 00BF
00000000 2048K/4 = 512K Extended Kickstart ROM (60753F28)
00200000 8704K/0 = 8704K <none>
00A80000 512K/1 = 512K Kickstart ROM (955D44F2)
00B00000 512K/1 = 512K Extended Kickstart ROM (60753F28)
00B80000 64K/0 = 64K Akiko
00B90000 64K/0 = 64K Custom chipset
00BA0000 256K/0 = 256K <none>
00BE0000 128K/0 = 128K CIA
00C00000 1024K/0 = 1024K Custom chipset
00D00000 768K/0 = 768K <none>
00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K Battery backed up clock (none)
00DD0000 128K/0 = 128K Gayle (high)
00DF0000 64K/0 = 64K Custom chipset
00E00000 512K/1 = 512K Extended Kickstart ROM (60753F28)
00E80000 64K/0 = 64K Autoconfig [reset]
00E90000 960K/0 = 960K <none>
00F80000 512K/1 = 512K Kickstart ROM (955D44F2)
CPU halted: reason = 3 PC=0000003a


What should-be-obvious thing am I missing?
mark_k is offline  
Old 03 December 2017, 21:43   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,901
Bad/incorrect/something wrong with the ROM.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2017, 21:51   #3
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
"Your Amiga program just did something terribly stupid" I know that message. The guy who used UAE CPU code for Basilisk mac emulator changed it to "Your Mac program just did something terribly stupid"
jotd is offline  
Old 03 December 2017, 21:57   #4
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Bad/incorrect/something wrong with the ROM.
Could there be some issue with long paths with spaces in?

When I select the ROM file, WinUAE seems to recognise it:
*: C:\Users\admin\Desktop\WinUAE_shared\amiga os source code 3.1\os-source\cdgs\disk\kickstart\special\v40.60\builds\kick.cdgs.40.60:1048576 = CD32 ROM (KS + extended) rev 40.60 (1024k) [391640-03]
CRC32=A4FBC94A SHA1=816CE6C5077875850C7D43452230A9BA3A2902DB


But then on starting emulation:
mapped_malloc with memory bank 'Extended Kickstart ROM' already allocated!?
shmget of size 524288 (512k) for rom_e0 (Extended Kickstart ROM)
80DF0000: VA 00E00000 - 00E80000 80000 (512k) ok (80DF0000)
Unknown ROM 'C:\Users\admin\Desktop\WinUAE_shared\amiga os source code 3.1\os-source\cdgs\disk\kickstart\special\v40.60\builds\kick.cdgs.40.60' loaded
ROM loader end
mark_k is offline  
Old 03 December 2017, 21:59   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,901
It is good idea to try confirmed rom images first. Those kinds of paths and file names are obviously unsupported Why knows what kind of byteswapping/interleaving etc they have.

EDIT: Scanner may recognise but there can be situations where the loader fails to use correct byteswapping/interleave because CD32 ROM address mapping is weird. But that error shouldn't happen.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 03 December 2017 at 22:05.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2017, 22:06   #6
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,961
Thanks. I noticed the same ROM file SHA1 mentioned in the MAME source (below).

There, there are two lines for "391640-03.u6a" with different hashes. The one for "my" file is commented out with "todo: this is the real dump" comment. Maybe different interleaving which WinUAE doesn't detect/support???
Code:
// Amiga CD32
//
// Shipped with Kickstart 3.1 and additional software interleaved in a 1MB rom chip.

ROM_START( cd32 )
    ROM_REGION32_BE(0x100000, "kickstart", 0)
//  ROM_LOAD16_WORD("391640-03.u6a", 0x000000, 0x100000, CRC(a4fbc94a) SHA1(816ce6c5077875850c7d43452230a9ba3a2902db)) // todo: this is the real dump
    ROM_LOAD16_WORD("391640-03.u6a", 0x000000, 0x100000, CRC(d3837ae4) SHA1(06807db3181637455f4d46582d9972afec8956d9))
ROM_END
mark_k is offline  
Old 03 December 2017, 22:09   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,901
Yes, "this is the real dump" is the real one. ROM scanner detects it (correct SHA-1) but it looks like ROM loader guesses it wrong, it probably tries to deinterleave it too.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 December 2017, 19:55   #8
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,961
I moved the ROM image to a shorter path (on Desktop), no change. So the path wasn't an issue.
mark_k is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 20:16   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,901
Try putting it in rom path and run scanner. It can help with weird roms. (It still is unsupported)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 December 2017, 23:01   #10
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,961
No luck, the file wasn't recognised by the ROM scanner.
mark_k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An ultra noob writes... loading cd32 games Volumetric project.WHDLoad 11 04 April 2009 17:04
CD32 games not working on winuae'CD32 emulation laser support.WinUAE 8 03 July 2007 21:49
CD32 emulation Doc Mindie support.WinUAE 4 25 January 2006 17:41
CD32 emulation adgloride support.Apps 0 26 October 2004 01:09
CD32 emulation Djay support.WinUAE 11 13 December 2002 01:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07329 seconds with 14 queries