English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2017, 23:31   #1
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
CPU speed slider in memory cycle-exact mode

Used config: Quickstart A1200 (basic non-expanded) + disabled "Cycle-exact (Full)" + enabled "Cycle-exact (DMA/Memory accesses)" only! (aka memory cycle-exact mode config)

After WinUAE 3400 version the "CPU Speed" slider does not change the CPU speed when the "Chipset" is in the memory cycle-exact mode!?
Now it work only when both cycle-exact: "DMA/Memory accesses" and "Full" are disabled!

As in the mentioned memory cycle-exact mode config the CPU Frequency is fixed at 8x, this is too fast and takes too much cpu ussage, so would like
to have possibility to use the CPU speed slider to reduce the speed.

Is it possible to enable the "CPU Speed" slider to work again when in the memory cycle-exact mode config in next WinUAE 3600 betas, as it worked fine in WinUAE 3400 and previous versions? (thx)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 12:34   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,107
I don't think it really "worked", it only added some extra cycles after each instruction which isn't that good idea (It does slow down the CPU but results can be unexpected)..

Also this is yet another adjustment that has to change between versions and someone always complain.

But re-enabling it should be possible but results will stay undefined
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 00:16   #3
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
It doesn't "work" in the latest 3600b11, i.e. to slowdown the CPU speed.
I guess you probably forgot to re-enable it in this version.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 20:37   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,107
I didn't forget it. But I noticed it was horrible bug that made it "work", it added extra 4 cycles to each instruction and that value was increased/decreased which made many instructions too slow when adjustment was at zero.

I won't restore that bug, it needs something better..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 23:13   #5
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Yeah, agree that it needs something better...

Anyway, only wanted it to do some tests / comparisons in latest 3600 betas, but in meantime have find other way with CPU Freq Custom!

1) WinUAE 3600b10 Quickstart A1200 (basic, non-expanded) + CPU Freq Custom (cache enabled):
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INFECT-Harmagedon: >=15.214630 MHz (no black screen with music after harmagedon logo)
Oops-Anniversary: =10.800000 MHz (much less glitches on top left line)
SHD-Revelation: >=15.649334 MHz (no glitches on plasma part)
NOVA-SohoA: <=11.653759 MHz (no glitches at floppy disk rotation)
CHRYSEIS&POSEIDON-botm: !? MHz (didnt manage to find a custom freq that can fix the PHOTO$ cube rotation part)
Gods-Olympe: <=8.787058 MHz (no waiting at track 77)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


2) WinUAE 3600b10 Quickstart A1200 (basic, non-expanded) + blitter_cycle_exact disabled in the config:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If in the Quickstart A1200 (basic, non- expanded) config file change:
...
cycle_exact=true
cpu_cycle_exact=true
cpu_memory_cycle_exact=true
blitter_cycle_exact=false
fpu_strict=false
...

US-YulBrynnerwSkinh: (no glitches at the last "US" rotation part)
SHD-Revelation: (no glitches on plasma part)
CHRYSEIS&POSEIDON-botm: (no glitches at the PHOTO$ cube rotation part)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And all other (previously problematic in 3400) demos seem to work fine in latest 3600b10! (great)


EDIT: I see there is new 3600b12 with enabled speed slider... will check it tomorrow. (thx)

Last edited by amilo3438; 12 December 2017 at 00:00.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 12 December 2017, 22:05   #6
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
3) WinUAE3600b12 Quickstart A1200 (basic, non-expanded) + Cycle-exact (Full) disabled + cpu_throttle=-500.48780:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INFECT-Harmagedon: >=-500.48780 (no black screen with music after harmagedon logo)
Gods-Olympe: <=-500.48781 (no waiting at track 77)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Slam Tilt (cracked): The intro part works fine with above cpu_throttle values!
(but if the "Wait for blitter" is disabled it will stop after a table in table selection is chosen)

NOVA-SohoA: Needs lower cpu_throttle value to not glitch at floppy disk rotation!

US-YulBrynnerwSkinh: Needs higher value to pass the demo!
STONE_ARTS-Vidar: Needs higher cpu_throttle value to not glitch at picture rotation!
SHD-Revelation: Needs higher cpu_throttle value to not glitch at plasma part!
Insane-Despair: Needs higher cpu_throttle value to not glitch at text part!
C_LOUS-Cosmicglide: Needs higher cpu_throttle value to not glitch at torus rotation part!

MYSTIC-Vital: "Wait for blitter" needs to be disabled to not glitch at vital rotation!
MirageUK-SubliminalXtcA: "Wait for blitter" needs to be disabled to not glitch at ring rotation!
DAMAGE-Uquala: "Wait for blitter" needs to be disabled to not glitch!

X_DREAM-Borntro: (no glitches at cube rotation if immediate blitter)
ZOMO-Speed: (no glitches at the bottom if immediate blitter)


One of the great benefit from cycle_exact=memory + cpu_throttle=-500.48780 mode is significantly lower CPU ussage! (thx)
(and it seems pretty compatible for A1200 gaming, even it is not tested much)



PS. Notice the difference between 2 tests:

1) WinUAE3600b10 Quickstart A1200 (basic, non-expanded) + CPU Freq Custom:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
INFECT-Harmagedon: >=15.214630 MHz (no black screen with music after harmagedon logo)
Gods-Olympe: <=8.787058 MHz (no waiting at track 77)

3) WinUAE3600b12 Quickstart A1200 (basic, non-expanded) + Cycle-exact (Full) disabled + cpu_throttle:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INFECT-Harmagedon: >=-500.48780 (no black screen with music after harmagedon logo)
Gods-Olympe: <=-500.48781 (no waiting at track 77)

Why the difference is so big in freq. in the test 1) and in the test 3) is so small ?

Last edited by amilo3438; 12 December 2017 at 22:32.
amilo3438 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Approximate A500/A1200 or cycle-exact" at +500% CPU Speed Foebane support.WinUAE 2 28 January 2017 09:11
Cycle-exact CPU speed shows as 0.000000 initially mark_k support.WinUAE 0 16 October 2016 18:27
cycle exact cpu emulation speed, accurate ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 1 23 December 2013 19:20
Emulation Speed/Cycle-exact fail to update when changing CPU hceline support.WinUAE 2 16 November 2013 22:00
Problem with cycle-exact and custum CPU emulation speed pintcat support.WinUAE 14 11 May 2010 21:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06357 seconds with 14 queries