English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 November 2017, 07:05   #1
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 490
ICD AdIDE HD no longer working

I managed to successfully produce a AdIDE HD using geometry 16x63x40x512 in WinUAE 3.5.0, and created 2 partitions, 1 for my WB files and 1 for Work and copied some important files to them. When I try to boot the hard drive from 3.6.0, something is preventing the hard drive from booting and gives me the "Not a DOS disk in unit 0" message. So should I try to re-create this hard drive in 3.6.0?
Attached Files
File Type: uae AdIDE_test.uae (11.1 KB, 32 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (53.8 KB, 27 views)

Last edited by B14ck W01f; 24 November 2017 at 07:18.
B14ck W01f is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 November 2017, 07:17   #2
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 490
I just realized that the previous log was inaccurate since I tried something else after I received the error, and that was when I still had logging enabled. Sorry about that.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (11.4 KB, 28 views)
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 24 November 2017, 08:51   #3
headkase
Registered User

headkase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
So should I try to re-create this hard drive in 3.6.0?
Short answer: No. Long answer: there is no 3.6.0 - yet. There is a 3.6.0 beta but that is not final. You should not try to create a production environment around the beta because things WILL change. The purpose of the beta is to report bugs, not expect it to be solid.

Of course trying to create a 3.6.0 configuration would be useful if it was for the purpose of a bug report. Don't expect something that worked before a bug is squashed to for certain work when the final is out though.
headkase is offline  
Old 24 November 2017, 13:57   #4
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,935
It looks like something goes wrong with the geometry WinUAE uses:
hfd attempting to open: 'G:\Hard Drives\AdIDE (20MB).hdf'
HDF 'G:\Hard Drives\AdIDE (20MB).hdf' 07328180 opened, size=20480K mode=1 empty=0
IDE0 HD 'G:\Hard Drives\AdIDE (20MB).hdf', LCHS=34824/32/2730. PCHS=0/0/0 20M. MM=0 LBA48=0


Can you post the corresponding log for WinUAE 3.5.0? Also, after loading the config into 3.6.0b8, what is the geometry shown in the hardfile settings window?
mark_k is offline  
Old 24 November 2017, 15:34   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,201
It probably is identity drive adide data "scrambling" related. Haven't checked yet.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 November 2017, 16:06   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,201
Yes, it was messed of "scrambling"/byteswapping which only affected adide because it is the only one that needs "scambling" (IDE drive data lines are not 1:1 connected to CPU data lines) special case.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 November 2017, 03:03   #7
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 490
Attached 3.5.0 log. The geometry for 3.6.0b8 is 16x63x40x512.

Also, in both versions, only the cylinder is changed to 0 when emulation starts.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog - 3.5.0.txt (23.8 KB, 29 views)
B14ck W01f is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICD AdIDE CPRM sector info mark_k support.Hardware 0 30 March 2015 21:36
Saving an ICD AdIDE. Expert help required. fc.studio support.Hardware 0 20 March 2008 11:47
ICD AdIDE Manual fc.studio request.Other 7 19 March 2008 07:26
ICD Adspeed/AdIDE info? Dropcheck support.Hardware 6 26 January 2008 20:34
ICD adIDE 2 Capabilities Runey support.Hardware 2 22 April 2005 05:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06569 seconds with 15 queries