English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 October 2017, 19:05   #161
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Quake is actually running very nicely, considering it's a soft FPU and I think that Quake uses it quite heavily. Can only imagine how well it could run with the hard FPU that they have showed off for V4. :-)
demolition is offline  
Old 22 October 2017, 23:42   #162
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 357
A bit more painful fpswise, but its working!

AmiQuake2 1.06 RTG on GOLD2.7 WIP

[ Show youtube player ]
Overflow is offline  
Old 23 October 2017, 03:24   #163
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
A bit more painful fpswise, but its working!

AmiQuake2 1.06 RTG on GOLD2.7 WIP

[ Show youtube player ]
Although it's always nice to see my AGA ports running on Vampire I don't really think they are a good fit for more modern hardware. My old ports were created to get the best out of AGA but the Vampire V4 could support OpenGL with hardware support in 16 bit color....that would make things much more exciting

Last edited by NovaCoder; 23 October 2017 at 03:30.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 October 2017, 06:55   #164
Mr-Z
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Quake is actually running very nicely, considering it's a soft FPU and I think that Quake uses it quite heavily. Can only imagine how well it could run with the hard FPU that they have showed off for V4. :-)
Read the post more carefully, most is done in hardware now FPU wise
In software it would have been painfully slow.
This doesn't rule out more optimization/speed gains can be reached.
It's still WIP

From original message:
Quote:
While this isnt spesifically V4 related, I post it here anyhow;

Some of you might remember the somewhat (very?) laggy Kioea demo a while back.

Now with updated femu 0.11-WIP) and Gold 2.7.
femu 0.11-WIP is Apollo core optimized version (includes HW 040 and 060 FPU).
Mr-Z is offline  
Old 23 October 2017, 08:06   #165
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Z View Post
Read the post more carefully, most is done in hardware now FPU wise
In software it would have been painfully slow.
It says Femu which is the software FPU emulation. Yes, it is the Apollo optimized version of Femu which helps a lot with the speed, but still a software emulation. Gold 2.7 doesn't have hard FPU enabled afaik. The hard FPU is like 100x faster..
demolition is offline  
Old 23 October 2017, 08:24   #166
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
It says Femu which is the software FPU emulation. Yes, it is the Apollo optimized version of Femu which helps a lot with the speed, but still a software emulation. Gold 2.7 doesn't have hard FPU enabled afaik. The hard FPU is like 100x faster..
Please check out the activity report posted weeks ago and you will find the answer.
jarp is offline  
Old 23 October 2017, 08:38   #167
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 490
This is the relevant part: "includes HW 040 and 060 FPU".

But the HW FPU parts are still throtled for testing.
grond is offline  
Old 23 October 2017, 15:57   #168
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 290
So there are now two versions of the HW FPU ?
One full, for V4, and the other a partial implementation that works with FEMU on V2?
UberFreak is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 13:11   #169
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 357
Posted by Gunnar on Apollo forum;

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=1&note=10848

Hello Coders,

GOLD 2.7 will come with AMMX2 instruction set.

Please find here a preview of the AMMX Quickreference chart:
CLICK HERE

http://www.apollo-core.com/AMMXQuickRef.pdf
Overflow is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 15:15   #170
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 357
Amiga 600 vampire 2 Gold 2.7 testing: Elude - Soliloquy

Camrecording by Mr-Z, so not the most flawless demostration, but shows the performance of the 2.7.

[ Show youtube player ]

Amiga 600 Vampire 2 X11 core Gold 2.7 Hires Quake 640X400

[ Show youtube player ]

Amiga 600 vampire 2 Gold 2.7 testing: Elude-We Come In Peace

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Overflow; 12 November 2017 at 15:25.
Overflow is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 15:47   #171
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
Posted by Gunnar on Apollo forum;

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=1&note=10848

Hello Coders,

GOLD 2.7 will come with AMMX2 instruction set.

Please find here a preview of the AMMX Quickreference chart:
CLICK HERE

http://www.apollo-core.com/AMMXQuickRef.pdf
So how are the instructions encoded?
Megol is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 22:01   #172
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 134
I'm not sure how up to date and final it is but decoder_cpu.ods (OpenOffice spreadsheet).
IanP is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 13:28   #173
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
I'm not sure how up to date and final it is but decoder_cpu.ods (OpenOffice spreadsheet).
Thanks! Apparently I already downloaded that file but don't remember looking at it (or even downloading).

F-line and clean. Like it.
Megol is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 13:52   #174
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,904
Ciao NovaCoder, but there is also a version Quake2 OpenGL or RTG for OS3?

this is just AGA true?

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 November 2017 at 14:07.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 17:16   #175
Mr-Z
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
Amiga 600 vampire 2 Gold 2.7 testing: Elude - Soliloquy

Camrecording by Mr-Z, so not the most flawless demostration, but shows the performance of the 2.7.
Yes i need to buy capture device, atm looking for one that is reasonable affordable and compatible.
Mr-Z is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 21:59   #176
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Z View Post
Yes i need to buy capture device, atm looking for one that is reasonable affordable and compatible
*gasp* the core is not compatible!?!?!?
(Sorry, I'm worn out from all those silly rants...)
grond is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 23:02   #177
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
*gasp* the core is not compatible!?!?!?
(Sorry, I'm worn out from all those silly rants...)
Why are you being so defensive over a general statement ??
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 23:25   #178
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Why are you being so defensive over a general statement ??
It took me some time to understand that the joke wasn't obvious and some people wouldn't see that my comment wasn't an attack on Mr-Z who knows me well from the Apollo Team channel on freenode.

I was just loosely referring to a thread in another Amiga forum where some people go as far as to demand that the core also has to crash in places where the 060 crashes to be called "compatible".
grond is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 23:26   #179
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
It took me some time to understand that the joke wasn't obvious and some people wouldn't see that my comment wasn't an attack on Mr-Z who knows me well from the Apollo Team channel on freenode.

I was just loosely referring to a thread in another Amiga forum where some people go as far as to demand that the core also has to crash in places where the 060 crashes to be called "compatible".
fanning the flames just makes it worse, it's a shame we All cant play nice
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 23:33   #180
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ciao NovaCoder, but there is also a version Quake2 OpenGL or RTG for OS3?
Found works well

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Apollo team, a Mini PCIE slot is a MUST have for future Vampire Juz400 Amiga scene 42 20 March 2017 23:45
Interview with Gunnar from Vampire team - news! rats Amiga scene 9 31 August 2016 20:21
Join the Vampire / Aros 68k - Team OlafSch Amiga scene 53 06 March 2016 21:22
Apollo Team has new Cyclone 5 FPGA accellerator cards OlafSch Amiga scene 245 23 August 2015 20:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17662 seconds with 15 queries