English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2017, 21:27   #3001
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 649
Otherwise you can open the console and see what's printed on the chip.
You can also try different combinations of CF cards and CF adapters.
alenppc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 November 2017, 21:38   #3002
cip060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Treviso ITALIA
Posts: 37
By accident, does anyone have an amiga cd 32 volume lever as a spare part?
And a top cover that broke the opening of the cd rom
cip060 is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 21:56   #3003
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 363
Seems to be v40.60 so off to eBay for another CF adapter. Can anyone recommend one?



Also, tips on how to put the sodding rf shield back on greatly appreciated.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 22:02   #3004
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Seems to be v40.60 so off to eBay for another CF adapter. Can anyone recommend one?



Also, tips on how to put the sodding rf shield back on greatly appreciated.

i use the couple quid ones off ebay mate, the CF card itself is usually the issue mate. Try the wiki on the github it has a page regarding working cf cards.
solidcore is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 22:05   #3005
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 649
Something like this should work: https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-5-44-pin-...8AAOSwEzxYPwR5

Also do you have any other brands of CF cards to try with?
alenppc is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 22:14   #3006
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 363
I'll put in an order for a SanDisk 8gb on amazon prime. Unless you could recommend a better one?

---
Edited to add : got the shield back on. Not a job for big hands. I'd leave it off but it seems to provide good mechanical support for the TF328.

Last edited by E-Penguin; 09 November 2017 at 22:27.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 22:31   #3007
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 649
8GB works fine, you just have to patch the scsi.device to support large drives (easily done)
alenppc is offline  
Old 09 November 2017, 23:13   #3008
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 274
E-penguin yep the shield is ideal in that respect however make sure you don't let them touch one another ! Boom
solidcore is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 13:23   #3009
ooBumbleBeeoo
Registered User

ooBumbleBeeoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
here is a pic of my latest device for a1200 and cd32.



and...



both drives are read/writeable. Lower CF card is the master


haha nice! love the heatshield too
ooBumbleBeeoo is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 13:28   #3010
ooBumbleBeeoo
Registered User

ooBumbleBeeoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Found a mouse, booted up with just the riser and TF328. At the early boot screen the expansion board diagnostic says :
Board number 1
Manufacturer 5080
Product 40
Status working.

So at least the cpld looks OK. I'm going to pick up a new CF card tonight and a cd writer and see if I can get to some kind of workbench.

Don't forget the wiki!

https://github.com/terriblefire/tf328/wiki
ooBumbleBeeoo is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 13:42   #3011
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 649
So far I got several people reporting 40.56 kickstart roms inside their machine. It's confirmed that the IDE interface doesn't work on these. Unfortunately my eprom programmer can't read 1mb roms so would anyone be willing to dump a programmer friendly 40.60 rom image? As far as I know these are not available for purchase new.
alenppc is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 13:53   #3012
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 363
You can get the 3.1 here

http://amigastore.eu/en/523-rom-31-amiga-cd32.html

When you say programmer-friendly; does that rule out something like running transrom on the machine itself? what format does the programmer need? I'm useless at hardware but I'm happy to whip up some software to convert between binary image formats.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 15:10   #3013
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 649
The cd32 ROM uses some weird interleaved image format so you can't take a regular rom file and burn it. I am not sure how to recreate this so I figured the easiest way would be to plop a 40.60 into a compatible programmer and dump the contents.
alenppc is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 15:23   #3014
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
The cd32 ROM uses some weird interleaved image format so you can't take a regular rom file and burn it. I am not sure how to recreate this so I figured the easiest way would be to plop a 40.60 into a compatible programmer and dump the contents.
I think you will find that the rom image needs to be byte swapped when writing, same as the a600
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 November 2017, 17:28   #3015
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 363
I think there's a thread here on EAB where Toni explains about the ROM layout, but I can't find it.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 11 November 2017, 04:21   #3016
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,486
You just write the upper 512K first and the lower 512k second. See what diagram sources do because they make a cd32 rom from a binary


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 03:32   #3017
ooBumbleBeeoo
Registered User

ooBumbleBeeoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 176
Good news on the Edu Riser at last!
The PIC is fixed and working on ALL PS2 keyboards (yes, I've been pushing him and annoying him trying to find a fix).
He also has some other new hardware you guys might like.
I'll update the wiki toomorrow.

Have a butchers if you like -

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by ooBumbleBeeoo; 12 November 2017 at 16:12.
ooBumbleBeeoo is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 15:23   #3018
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,486
Back from holiday. Relisted my remaining TF328 board stock on eBay if anyone wants one with the logo and gold finish.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 15:49   #3019
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Back from holiday. Relisted my remaining TF328 board stock on eBay if anyone wants one with the logo and gold finish.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Welcome back to sunny Glasgow , time to put your new lab to good use with more videos, been too quiet
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 16:04   #3020
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,486
Heh. Passed my FAA IR written on Saturday and off to Belfast first thing tomorrow to try and get a visa for the flying part of the course


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
JMorden
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello and help identifying my expansion board! edd_jedi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 04 April 2010 13:52
Can anyone identify this RAM expansion board?? PowerPie5000 support.Hardware 66 02 August 2009 14:04
WTB: A1200 Expansion Board robheaton MarketPlace 17 11 June 2009 10:49
an expansion board toolkit --might be useful to you giannis_vassili support.Hardware 1 14 June 2008 21:51
Wanted: A1200 expansion board Freckle MarketPlace 0 30 August 2004 17:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25134 seconds with 14 queries