English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2016, 05:55   #1
spawnerbr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: RJ, Brazil
Posts: 39
Gotek HxC and what to do?

I got an Gotek yesterday. Then I paid to use HxC firmware on my computers and the first one to test was my Amiga 500.
After use the Gotek connected to an USB TTL board, I uploaded the HxC firmware to the drive.
After this, I formatted an USB pendrive to FAT32 and copied to the root a file named HXCFEUSB_HFE_V3_0_8_1a.upd
So, I pressed the two buttons on the front of the panel and turned on the floppy. Waited the upadte and the a HXc letters appeared on the LCD panel.
Then I copied to the USB pendrive root: AUTOBOOT.HFE and HXCSDFE.CFG
I inserted the USB pendrive on the Gotek connected on the A500 and... nothing happens. No SELECTOR was loaded.
Which mistake I did???
spawnerbr is offline  
Old 17 May 2016, 13:16   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,003
Perhaps you put the Atari version on the flash drive.
idrougge is offline  
Old 17 May 2016, 16:17   #3
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 937
Have you remembered to remove the jumpers when you flashed the drive, and have you tried the jumper on S0 and S1 (DF0,DF1)
supaduper is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 12:08   #4
Zaf
 
Posts: n/a
You must also have selector.adf file on usb so the menu can load

Get it from https://cortexamigafloppydrive.wordpress.com/
Search in the document this : The new firmware HEX file : cortexamigafloppyemulator_v105a.docx (Change the file extension .docx to .zip !)
 
Old 17 February 2017, 12:31   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaf View Post
You must also have selector.adf file on usb so the menu can load
Firstly, this is quite an old thread and secondly, he's using HxC and not Cortex firmware so that is why he's using AUTOBOOT.HFE instead of SELECTOR.ADF. SELECTOR.ADF does not work with HxC.
demolition is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 13:15   #6
Zaf
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Firstly, this is quite an old thread and secondly, he's using HxC and not Cortex firmware so that is why he's using AUTOBOOT.HFE instead of SELECTOR.ADF. SELECTOR.ADF does not work with HxC.
First of all, i am a complete idiot for ignoring the date of the original post. My apologies.
Secondly, you still need SELECTOR.ADF even with HxC firmware in order to boot into the menu.
 
Old 17 February 2017, 14:06   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaf View Post
Secondly, you still need SELECTOR.ADF even with HxC firmware in order to boot into the menu.
Again, SELECTOR.ADF only works with the Cortex firmware. HxC has its own menu software.
demolition is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 19:59   #8
Zaf
 
Posts: n/a
I got it now. Sorry for bothering you man
The usb stick that i bought with the GoteK drive flashed with Cortex firmware has also these files: HXCSDFE.CFG , AUTOBOOT.HFE HXCFEUSB_HFE_V3_0_8_2a.upd. beside the SELECTOR.DF0. Probably the reseller put them into becase they also flash it with HxC firmware and that confused me.
 
Old 17 February 2017, 23:09   #9
michaelz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Den Haag / Netherlands
Posts: 193
I've got the same issue atm. Mailing with HXC about it, but after a few messages there's no solution yet. Maybe I'll try an older firmware later, but curious that I'm not the only one with this problem apperently.
michaelz is offline  
Old 18 February 2017, 00:10   #10
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 643
- Use the latest firmware :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip

- Unpack and copy the Amiga file selector to the usb stick (HFE & CFG files in the Amiga folder must be copied to the root of the USB stick) :
(Note: The usb stick must be formated in FAT32)

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...or_Manager.zip

At this point, If you insert the USB stick to the Gotek drive, its display should change from "HxC" to "000". If it doesn't, check that the USB stick is correctly formated. If this still doesn't change to "000", try another stick...

- The jumper must be set to S0 for DF0.

- Be careful with the floppy ribbon : The colored wire does NOT always indicate the pin 1. It may be connected to the other way on the motherboard. If you can't get the gotek working with the Amiga, try to connect the floppy ribbon to the other way.

- Another point : The floppy ribbon can be easily damaged, and the diskchange/ready signals being cut/broken. Try another floppy ribbon if you can get the drive working...

Last edited by Jeff_HxC2001; 18 February 2017 at 00:22.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 18 February 2017, 00:49   #11
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 643
Additional test to do :

Update the firmware, cfg file and autoboot.hfe to the alpha version :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...AlphaTrial.zip
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 18 February 2017, 16:29   #12
thumptech
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Additional test to do :

Update the firmware, cfg file and autoboot.hfe to the alpha version :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...AlphaTrial.zip
Thanks! This fixed the problem I was having with the amiga loader throwing an error about HXCSDFE.CFG
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek and HxC working together alexh News 1267 25 October 2020 19:39
Show us your drive emulator mods (Gotek/HxC/etc) ADz Hardware mods 104 29 July 2020 17:06
Amiga 500 SD HXC or Gotek? Flying Penguin support.Hardware 15 02 March 2016 16:51
Gotek/HxC LCD Mod rfancella Hardware mods 5 15 December 2015 22:06
HXC on A500+A1200 with 0 case mods ? Or Gotek? reno Hardware mods 1 13 June 2015 09:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08670 seconds with 14 queries