English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 May 2016, 13:15   #1
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,429
Unofficial CD32 Release - Hunter CD32 - 25th Anniversary Edition


I only intended to release a single game on a CD32 disc as its one of my favourite all time Amiga games, it was supposed to be released back in Feb as my very first disc, which never turned out that way because it had some graphical glitches running through CD32Load.

And to get Hunter playable the controls had to be mapped to the CD32 pad which only CD32Load allowed, thanks to JOTD and Earok this is now fully possible using the 'filecache' option to fix the gfx problems i had before.

NOTE!
But before you download and burn, please respect in the knowledge that this version is buggy, the virtual mouse has a tendency to auto select things especially on the main menu, the best way to select the option on the menu is go either side of the selection you want, then move onto it and it will select it automatically.


MAIN CONTROLS:
===============
RED = FIRE WEAPON
BLUE = EXIT VEHICLE
GREEN = ACTIVATE VIRTUAL MOUSE (BLUE TO SELECT ITEMS)
YELLOW = ACTIVATE VIRTUAL KEYBOARD
PLAY = PAUSE
RW "<<" = 3RD PERSON VIEW ZOOM IN
FF ">>" = 3RD PERSON VIEW ZOOM OUT

PRESSING BOTH RW & FW TOGETHER BRINGS UP THE MENU.

SPECIAL THANKS TO:
------------------------------
Thanks to JOTD for the great CD32Load Utility.
Earok and JOTD for the very useful Virtual Keyboard & Keyboad Remapping Utilities.
The guys behind the awesome WHDLoad.
Harry for the WHDLoad version of Hunter.
And finally to Paul Holmes the creator of this amazing game!

Download is on the eab server uploads/cd32 folder*

*Details for registering for access to the eab server.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43633

Last edited by Amigajay; 22 October 2016 at 23:16.
Amigajay is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 May 2016, 01:25   #2
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,512
Damn, looking forward to getting this running on my baby! Congrats
earok is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 10:19   #3
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,429
Thanks, this game was the reason i learned how to make my own CD32 discs, I'm just glad the graphic problem was sorted out so i can finally play it, more a personal project really, but i know a couple of people who wanted to play it on theirs too.

Be wary of the virtual mouse on the menus!

Also shame the NTSC option didn't work, works in WinUAE but on real HW just displays the HUD, shame as it was a nice little speedup.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 23 May 2016, 21:00   #4
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,893
You can always plug in a mouse and vm bug is history...

Btw You mentionned filecache that fixes gfx bugs, erm I think you may refer to cpu cache.
The real reason is since cd32load v0.25 I disable the caches by default unless cpucache is set. For some reason, there are more problems with caches with a stock cd32 than on a a1200, maybe because no fast memory, so less cache defaults?
jotd is online now  
Old 23 May 2016, 21:05   #5
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
You can always plug in a mouse and vm bug is history...

Btw You mentionned filecache that fixes gfx bugs, erm I think you may refer to cpu cache.
The real reason is since cd32load v0.25 I disable the caches by default unless cpucache is set. For some reason, there are more problems with caches with a stock cd32 than on a a1200, maybe because no fast memory, so less cache defaults?
Well yeah of course a real mouse and keyboard work great too
When I did some testing the other day using a number of things on a real cd32 it was cpucache or filecache that fixed the gfx errors, anything else had the messed gfx, so I went with the latter option.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 23 May 2016, 21:38   #6
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,893
Okay but a real mouse is easier to find. A A2000/A4000 keyboard is rather rare and cumbersome and it kind of kills the "console" feeling completely (but you definitely need it for tests or you will burn a lot of CDs!!)
jotd is online now  
Old 23 May 2016, 22:10   #7
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 303
Sum32 USB Keyboard Adapter for the CD32 + a black mini USB keyboard is my solution.
apex is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 14:09   #8
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,512
Is anyone else getting red screens "Unable to initialize CD Drive" on real hardware? maybe it's my CD32 or a bad burn, the controls screen + music works just fine though. Had it four times in a row.

I burned using the built in Windows 10 burner, which I never normally do (normally stick to ImgBurn).
earok is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 17:32   #9
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,429
I always use imgburn, never had a problem so never used anything else, esp any Windows stuff!
Amigajay is online now  
Old 29 May 2016, 02:55   #10
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,512
Burnt a second disc with ImgBurn, worked a treat learned my lesson, never use a Microsoft Image Burner for CD32 stuff

Edit: It seems to auto activate things in the menu without virtual mouse activated..? Not a virtual mouse bug then?

Edit 2: Whoops, my bad.. VM seems to turn itself on by default, I thought I had the default behaviour as off by default.. I'll do some more playing

Last edited by earok; 29 May 2016 at 03:11.
earok is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 08:26   #11
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,893
maybe it is a problem with the merges i did on cd32load.
btw i am using cdburnerxp and it is really a good burner, nice interface, not running on winxp only (the name is badly chosen) and of course it is free.
jotd is online now  
Old 14 August 2016, 17:46   #12
thairacerjp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 3
Oh my Gosh, this release Rocks ! for me, the best 3D game open world at this time, i spent nights playing this nice game, thanks you.For burn, i am using Fireburner, not free (can find easily number), it works very good.
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 15 August 2016, 09:17   #13
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,429
Cheers! Yes its one of my favourite games on the Amiga, so many good memories and it was ahead of its time in terms 3D movement and environment that's commonplace today.

Plus you have reminded me i need to update the ISO using Earok's never custom CD32Load that should solve the autofire on the mouse.
Amigajay is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unofficial CD32 Release - Run 'n Gun Collection Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 12 09 February 2017 15:44
Unofficial CD32 Release - The Ultimate Amiga Dizzy Collection CD32 Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 26 27 October 2016 12:54
Unofficial CD32 Release - Vertical S.E.U Collection Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 11 24 October 2016 09:59
Unofficial CD32 Release - Ye Olde Pirate Collection Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 9 06 May 2016 09:35
Star Trek: 25th Anniversary (Commodore Amiga CD32) Looking to download it spanner request.Old Rare Games 4 18 August 2012 21:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17605 seconds with 13 queries