English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   News (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Netsurf 3.7 released for Amiga OS3.5/9 & 4 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=89131)

utri007 24 October 2017 00:07

Netsurf 3.7 released for Amiga OS3.5/9 & 4
 
From amiga.org / Chris Young

NetSurf is a small, fast, CSS-capable web browser for multiple platforms including AmigaOS.

NetSurf 3.7 features performance improvements, improved page layout, and many fixes. Also new is a treeview search feature, which allows Hotlist (Bookmarks), History and Cookies to be searched. We recommend all users upgrade to NetSurf 3.7.
Netsurf 3.7 beta Amiga OS3.5/9
Netsurf 3.7 Amiga OS4

Requirements are AmigaOS 3.5 or 3.9, 32MB RAM. Guigfx and Render libraries from Aminet.

AMIGASYSTEM 24 October 2017 02:28

It works well on AFA OS :)

honx 24 October 2017 04:53

1 Attachment(s)
if i try to rezize window on workbench 3.9 controls, adressbar and searchbar are missing.
screenshot attached.
browser works as long in full size. but full size is not very useful on 1920x1080 resolution.
and what is this fixfonts about which has been run during installation of netsurf browser?

Retrofan 24 October 2017 10:17

AmigaSystem, is there another button's theme to select better than the default?

E-Penguin 24 October 2017 11:21

Will / does this support RTG?

utri007 24 October 2017 11:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retrofan (Post 1194247)
AmigaSystem, is there another button's theme to select better than the default?

It is Netsurf, so all the Netsurf themes work.

Here you can found Firefox theme

https://www.unsatisfactorysoftware.c...php?pg=netsurf

Quote:

Will / does this support RTG?
It can be opened any public screen at least 8bit colors, so yes it does. It doesn't need a special versions for different setups. It uses system libraries, so when requirements are full filled it works, no matter is it AGA or RTG.

AMIGASYSTEM 24 October 2017 12:01

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Retrofan (Post 1194247)
AmigaSystem, is there another button's theme to select better than the default?

Yes change Theme works ;)

demolition 24 October 2017 12:12

Does the 3.5/3.9 version require FPU? It doesn't seem to specify that in the readme. And if it does, have anyone tried this version yet on a Vampire with Femu?

ExiE 24 October 2017 14:39

Readme file of 68k version says Netsurf 3.8 beta. So it is 3.7 or 3.8?

utri007 24 October 2017 18:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by ExiE (Post 1194299)
Readme file of 68k version says Netsurf 3.8 beta. So it is 3.7 or 3.8?

End of that readme has a Chris' email address. You can ask that from him.

utri007 24 October 2017 19:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by demolition (Post 1194279)
Does the 3.5/3.9 version require FPU? It doesn't seem to specify that in the readme. And if it does, have anyone tried this version yet on a Vampire with Femu?

In theory it doesn't require FPU, but guigfx and render libraries do require FPU.

So practically it requires FPU. There are nofpu version of both of those libraries but at least some time ago they didn't work with Vampire.

PS. Bug reports and feedback is important to this Project, so send you bug reports and feedback to Chris. Email address is on readme file.

TrashyMG 25 October 2017 17:21

@demolition - This appears to work fine on my V600 V2 with gold 2.5 core.

Also bonus this doesn't suffer from the yellowing of the screen Arti's RTG port has when you have a 24-bit color WB enabled.

AMIGASYSTEM 25 October 2017 18:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by TrashyMG (Post 1194534)
Also bonus this doesn't suffer from the yellowing of the screen Arti's RTG port has when you have a 24-bit color WB enabled.

On WinUAE With UAE Zorro III in addition to the version of Chris Young also version by Arti RTG works at 32Bit :)

Michael 25 October 2017 20:39

Chris Young's 3.7 version misbehaves here on real OS3/060/CGX

1. Some buttons are rendered black, in any 8, 15, 16, 24 bit modes, but some are shown ok
2. Takes it's time to startup (if network is down, 30 secs of stalled gui)
3. GUI does not refresh on window resize (empty top part of window) but page is rendered ok
4. Opening prefs generates a lot of enforcer hits

utri007 25 October 2017 21:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael (Post 1194583)
Chris Young's 3.7 version misbehaves here on real OS3/060/CGX

1. Some buttons are rendered black, in any 8, 15, 16, 24 bit modes, but some are shown ok
2. Takes it's time to startup (if network is down, 30 secs of stalled gui)
3. GUI does not refresh on window resize (empty top part of window) but page is rendered ok
4. Opening prefs generates a lot of enforcer hits

What version of guigfx and render libraries you have?

These?
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/guigfxlib
http://aminet.net/package/dev/misc/renderlib31

Develobment has been stalled mostly because only few has send error reports to Chris. Or has send error reports of wrong versions of Netsurf. Chris is nice guy and he fixes bugs when he found / gets informed.

So if you plese could send you error report to Chris :

chris at unsatisfactorysoftware.co.uk

Or pop up to amiga.org

You can generate log starting Netsurf from shell netsurf -v *>ram:nslog.txt remember to add some stack berofe you start it. It is slow when it is loggin to text file. You can also redirect log to somewhere else than ram. I would recomd partition with sfs or pfs filesystem.

AMIGASYSTEM 25 October 2017 21:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael (Post 1194583)
Chris Young's 3.7 version misbehaves here on real OS3/060/CGX

1. Some buttons are rendered black, in any 8, 15, 16, 24 bit modes, but some are shown ok
2. Takes it's time to startup (if network is down, 30 secs of stalled gui)
3. GUI does not refresh on window resize (empty top part of window) but page is rendered ok
4. Opening prefs generates a lot of enforcer hits

Strange with WinUAE no problem either with the Picasso IV 24Bit

Michael 25 October 2017 22:08

Using RenderLib 40.8, with v31 even the page is rendered wrongly :-(
Preparing a direct report...

AMIGASYSTEM 25 October 2017 23:15

You must have a well-updated system, made a flight test with my old OS 3.9 and NetSurf started without problems

Retrofan 26 October 2017 01:19

I just wonder if he could make something about not using an FPU just like the NetSurf-AGA version of Arti does.

AMIGASYSTEM 26 October 2017 01:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retrofan (Post 1194661)
I just wonder if he could make something about not using an FPU just like the NetSurf-AGA version of Arti does.

NetSurf does not require FPU, read HERE


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Page generated in 0.06635 seconds with 9 queries