English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Amiga 1200 clone "Access" on sale! (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=9452)

Korodny 09 April 2003 22:37

Amiga 1200 clone "Access" on sale!
 
The italian dealer Soft3 has a limited stock of Access motherboards for sale.

cv643d 10 April 2003 20:11

hmm... I would love to have one of those..

LaundroMat 10 April 2003 20:47

And it's not too costly either.

Unknown_K 10 April 2003 21:11

What kind of idiot design that form factor? Should have made it fit in an at or atx form factor and used the apropriate power supply.

Korodny 10 April 2003 21:46

@Unknown_k

Quote:

What kind of idiot design that form factor?
There must be some theory that using lots of swear words does make you look more clever. I can assure you, that's not the case ;)

Quote:

Should have made it fit in an at or atx form factor and used the apropriate power supply.
The "Access" was targeted at "Kiosk" type systems (info terminals and the like). For such applications, size does matter.

The "Boxer" (originally developed by the same company) was meant to be a desktop motherboard. It would have been the big brother of the Access and would have met your requirements.

Unknown_K 10 April 2003 21:57

"Idiot" is not a swear word

Antiriad 10 April 2003 23:36

Getting away from the transatlantic slagging match...the thing looks v cool! Would be a lark to stick it in a tower! V compact!
Pity it doesnt look the slightest bit upgradeable...else i might be more interested

Djay 10 April 2003 23:37

ID 10 T error

Djay 10 April 2003 23:38

a quote for the website...
Quote:

It's near 100% Amiga 1200 compatible, since it uses the same AGA chipset, the same 3.1 Roms and a 68030 cpu.
ermm, near 100%... surely they mean 99.9% then....:D

Unknown_K 11 April 2003 00:51

I think they are assuming its compatible because of the chips used, not because it has been tested with alot of common amiga software.

Pyromania 11 April 2003 10:56

I tried to buy one of these, they are already sold out.

:mad

Echo 11 April 2003 13:52

Quote:

Originally posted by Unknown_K
What kind of idiot design that form factor? Should have made it fit in an at or atx form factor and used the apropriate power supply.
You know, you can fit standard A1200 boards in ATX cases :rolleyes

This is a nice design, would probably fit in one of those shuttle cases snugly, for a mini multimedia box type thing.

Either that or for a hybrid PC/Amiga case, without the thing having to be massive.

All sorts of ideas spring to mind :)

LaundroMat 11 April 2003 14:06

Quote:

Originally posted by Echo
You know, you can fit standard A1200 boards in ATX cases
What do you mean with this?

spiff 11 April 2003 14:48

and a 68030 cpu... wooaa. its a 3000 compatible as well

Echo 11 April 2003 17:37

Quote:

Originally posted by LaundroMat
What do you mean with this?
Well I haven't personally tried, but surely the 1200's motherboard is equal or smaller than an ATX PC motherboard. If it's not then I apologise and retract my statement.

Unknown_K 11 April 2003 19:43

Quote:

Originally posted by Echo
Well I haven't personally tried, but surely the 1200's motherboard is equal or smaller than an ATX PC motherboard. If it's not then I apologise and retract my statement.
Doesnt matter about size, the a1200 board was never built to fit into a STANDARD AT or ATX case (backplate is different, dont think the holes linup for mounting either), or built to use the power supplies found in those cases. All the tower cases I have seen have been either modified or built specifically for amiga 1200's.

cv643d 12 April 2003 20:11

These motherboards came in a small case which looks just like the small shuttle barebones cases that are all the rage nowdays, thats why the motherboard looks like it does.

Antiriad 13 April 2003 12:08

I asked the guys about what exapansion was available, as expected no room for an accelerator - but you can attach a 3.5" standard IDE hd to it.

I have to say, it does look quite amusing, especially as its a 030 with 2MB Chip and 8MB Fast Ram on it. The perfect Whdload spec.

ElectroBlaster 07 May 2003 20:24

Has anyone here bought one of these?

redblade 17 August 2018 02:21

*bump* Does any one have one? I would hate to know the price on ebay would be now. Also does anyone know what keyboard it supported? It says 5pin DIN.

https://web.archive.org/web/20030421...s/usato_3e.php

and

https://web.archive.org/web/19981206...ex/access.html


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06349 seconds with 11 queries