English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   PCIe pass-through for RadeonHD series? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=80660)

jbenam 11 December 2015 13:28

PCIe pass-through for RadeonHD series?
 
This is a question for Master Wilen - I was wondering about the 3D support in OS4.1FE.

Since making a RadeonHD card emulator is utterly unfeasible, what would be the odds of being able to do some sort of PCIe pass-through (like QEMU does) and just dedicate an entire RadeonHD (or maybe non-emulated PCI cards as well, like the Voodoo 3 or the Radeon 9250) to WinUAE, letting the emulated Amiga able to do whatever it needs to do with it?

I remember reading ages ago some really old WinUAE docs about doing PCI passthrough with S3 Virge/Trio cards, to use CGX with it. So maybe there's already some kind of support for this feature? The file in question was called README.PCI.

Just an idea, don't shoot me, Toni :laughing

Thanks for all your hard work on WinUAE :great

Toni Wilen 11 December 2015 15:22

That documentation snipped most likely came from Amithlon (when JIT was being done) or something like that.

And answer is of course: No. It is someone else's problem. I don't like software emulation + hardware combination (it usually creates worst of both worlds results), not going to touch anything that requires host OS special drivers. And so on. UAE is software emulator first.

jbenam 11 December 2015 16:08

Ah, I see!

So it's doable? Well, your motivations are perfectly understandable, no worries :laughing

Maybe one day someone will contribute this function to WinUAE - who knows! :)

Thanks for taking the time to answer my question :D

sturme 11 December 2015 16:17

Not trying to stir the pot tony, honest

But since glide2x.dll emulates voodoo functions, could it possibly do something to emulate 3d on the amiga? I am not a coder, but was just curious.

Toni Wilen 11 December 2015 17:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbenam (Post 1055555)
Ah, I see!

So it's doable? Well, your motivations are perfectly understandable, no worries :laughing

Maybe one day someone will contribute this function to WinUAE - who knows! :)

Thanks for taking the time to answer my question :D

It can only happen when/if someone else writes license compatible emulation of required graphics chip X, Y or Z. Anything passthrough to some extra graphics card: No.

Quote:

Originally Posted by sturme (Post 1055558)
Not trying to stir the pot tony, honest

But since glide2x.dll emulates voodoo functions, could it possibly do something to emulate 3d on the amiga? I am not a coder, but was just curious.

No. It is driver API wrapper (glide API to some other 3D API), it does not touch hardware.

jbenam 11 December 2015 17:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1055572)
It can only happen when/if someone else writes license compatible emulation of required graphics chip X, Y or Z. Anything passthrough to some extra graphics card: No.

Ah, so HW passthrough is not an option. I see!

Oh well, I suppose we need to keep watching MAME's Voodoo 3 driver... :)

sturme 11 December 2015 18:24

thank you for the reply Tony


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:58.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04225 seconds with 11 queries