English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Action Replay issues (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=96942)

andyhants 04 April 2019 20:37

Action Replay issues
 
Hi all would appreciate some guidance on an issue I'm encountering trying to use Action Replay to save/load A500 games where either the game or WinUAE can't save hi-scores to disk. Yes I'm aware of the WinUAE Save / Load States but I prefer to use Action Replay for this so I am matching as closely as possible a real Amiga experience.

The issue I'm getting is I do an SA to save the current game state under Action Replay III Rom V3.17 to a standard adf file. I then do an LA to load it in a later session. Whilst it initially appears to load ok & work to start with using the same graphics screen as saved whenever I move onto the next screen (to start another game for example) I get totally corrupt graphics (like a tv screen with no aerial) & then WinUAE gurus.

It DOES work with a range of PD games - EG Crazy Sue, Amoeba Invaders, & Girl Actions, but when I try commercial stuff (albeit they are cracks) it consistently fails. Examples include New Zealand Story, Rick Dangerous, & Battle Squadron.

I'm running WinUAE 4.1.0 32 bit under the latest Windows 10 release. I usually use my own custom config file but since I encountered the issue I have been testing this with the standard WinUAE Quickstart A500 (the one labelled most common) config to ensure I rule-out a config issue.

Toni - in your 4.1.0 release notes you suggest 'improved' Action Replay compatability - which suggests maybe there are still problems getting it to work under emulation - is there anything you are aware of that could help me here please?

Also if anoyone else uses AR under WinUAE & isnt getting these issues or knows of the problem I would appreciate any guidance.

Once again just to say - yes I know I can use WinUAE Save States - but would really like to use AR if poss.

As ever thanks to everyone for any help & guidance offered.

Toni Wilen 05 April 2019 10:34

Action Replay saves can be unreliable in some situations.

Attach one example AR3 save adf (saved using most compatible quickstart mode) and I'll take a closer look.

(You did reinsert the game disk?)

atromhtos 06 April 2019 23:41

Find site code for action replay iii amiga 500

andyhants 07 April 2019 13:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1314739)
Action Replay saves can be unreliable in some situations.

Attach one example AR3 save adf (saved using most compatible quickstart mode) and I'll take a closer look.

(You did reinsert the game disk?)

Hi again Toni - apols for the delay in replying I've been doing some more testing. First of all though i have to fess-up that I stupidly didnt realise you had to reinsert the original game disk. I guess by pure luck all the PD games I've been using were small enough to allow the AR save to co-reisde on the same disk.

Anyway I can confirm that the AR compatibility does now appear to be pretty good with mainline (cracked) commercial games as well as PD. Not sure if this helps you any in dirving any further improvements but the one game that is still acting wierd though is Lotus Turbe Challenge 2. Wierdly I cna only get it to successfully do an SA (save state) when I interrupt the game from a driving screen. Trying to do an SA from any of the static screens (hi-score, config screen etc) results in the emualtion hanging (HALT 2) when the AR has compelted its analysis & just before it should write to disk.

Hope that helps & thanks for the (obvious) tip.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04566 seconds with 11 queries