English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   WinUAE 0822R7 released (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=9991)

Toni Wilen 30 May 2003 21:30

WinUAE 0822R7 released
 
http://www.winuae.net/

Bugs fixed:

- printer didn't work if serial port emulation was enabled
- palette wasn't updated properly when entering and exiting the GUI in fullscreen 8-bit Picasso96 mode
- button or key mapped to mouse horizontal or vertical axis
- random crash when horizontal centering was enabled
- bsdsocket emulation, ping, traceroute, AmTelnet SSH connection freeze
- config save crash and non working keyboard
- ShapeShifter-support improved, all Kickstart 2.x/3.x versions supported
- lores-mode support for "sprites outside display window"-feature
- and more..

New features:

- emulation compatibility improvements
Elfmania, Rainbow Island (broke accidentally in R6),
Mission Elevator (properly fixed this time...), SWIV,
Old Timer, Inferior, Sub Rally, Sargon History, TBL demos,
Sound of Silents, Cardamom, Cardamon etc..
- analog joystick (paddle) ports emulated
- improved hard/ZIP disk RDB detection
- Action Replay 2/3 state file support
- sound "power led" filter emulation
- freely selectable sound sample rate (8000 - 48000)
- "direct" serial port support, fixes PC to PC Lotus 2 serial link
problems. (two player only, 3 or 4 players require lower serial
latency that is not possible under Windows)
- zipped CAPS-image support
- updated AHI driver included

LordBug 30 May 2003 21:58

Wootage!

Thanks Toni :)

jmmijo 30 May 2003 22:34

That's a good comment there LordBug :lol

And as per usual Toni is doing a fantastic job :D

wakeupbomb 30 May 2003 23:57

nothing like a new version of WinUAE to brighten my day :D

Cheers Toni

Chuckles 31 May 2003 04:37

1 Attachment(s)
I've just downloaded the latest release and begun testing it, and it looks like another great piece of work. Thanks, Toni! :great

Unfortunately this release did not fix one problem that has been annoying me for quite some time though. I keep all the old versions of the emulator handy just in case, but I've found that the latest versions always seem to run everything I've tried at least as well as the older versions, except for ONE game, which works fine under 0.8.17 and earlier. I've asked about this a couple of times here before, but I've never seen any response to tell me if anyone else had the same problem or not.

The problem is garbled graphics on the intro screen for Batman the Caped Crusader.

I'm including a screen shot that illustrates the problem that I'm experiencing. The top part of the picture is a screenshot taken using 0.8.17, and the bottom part is a screenshot taken using 0.8.22. Is anyone else having the same problem? If so, does anybody have any idea what is causing it?

Toni Wilen 31 May 2003 09:58

Quote:

Batman the Caped Crusader.
Known problem, workaround: enable immediate blitter.
This is another case when old version's wrong timing of blitter accidentally worked...

AmiGer 31 May 2003 12:18

Thanks for the new version... :)

Chuckles 31 May 2003 17:51

Thanks for the info, Toni! I thought I'd tried tweaking everything in the config already, but I obviously missed this one. Now I can put 0.8.17 away entirely. :)

lilalurl 20 June 2003 11:15

About the sound filter LED emulation
 
First I'm sorry I react so late but I was away for a while.

Well, very great feature there. Wonder where you got that neat idea...:rolleyes

However, I have two things to mention :

1) Not really pertinent but anyway it might help to solve what is for me a mystery : I think it would be better to have a third colour (like rose) for the OSD power LED, so that it can really emulates the thing. Don't know if this would be easy enough to do and worthy. But the real question beyond this is : why doesn't the power LED (OSD or even lower bar in windowed mode) remain all the time ? Under Workbench or the loading of games it's on but then it's off (and it happily flashes when WinUAE has the premonition the guru is about to meditate). Could this mean the sound filter is on during the loading of games and under Workbench and switches off when calls to the sound chip are made ?

2) More important : The power LED sound filter effect emulation worked for Dune (F3 key to activate/deactivate the sound filter. You have to press another key before pressing F3 again and having the filter state changed). But it didn't in Lotus II (Second level, under the tunnnels. PW for the level : Twilight). I can only see two reasons : a) Lotus II uses another sound filter. Seems a bit illogical. b) The game makes temporary calls to the filter and Winuae can't catch theses calls, thus the lack of emulation.

In fact, after a few tests I've just seen that using F3 in Dune already affected the power LED in WinUAE 0.8.22 Release 5 (haven't check older revisions), so I wonder wether I really got the idea of the sound "power led" filter emulation.

As a conclusion, I have no conclusion, I don't understand anything, the Amiga still remains a mysterious machine. All this stuff is minor compared to other features I reckon, but it's still one step towards perfect emulation.

Toni Wilen 20 June 2003 14:05

Amiga's sound filter isn't that complex...

"Power Led" CIA-io-pin is connected to both power led and audio filter -> Power LED on = audio filter enabled, power LED off = audio filter disabled. (except on A1000 filter is always enabled)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04292 seconds with 11 queries