English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Hardware mods (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=105)
-   -   Gotek Problems (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85387)

d0ORk 01 January 2017 23:34

Gotek Problems
 
Hi there, I just installed my Gotek today.
But it always stays on "000" so I cant boot a game or a demo.
I made a video for better understanding... I dont know where my mistake is :(

https://youtu.be/qfukgUs7cT4

Sinphaltimus 01 January 2017 23:58

If that's the TOSEC collection, it could be the file names are too long.

d0ORk 02 January 2017 00:00

it's not the TOSEC Collection, but thanks for the hint, will try that

Pat the Cat 02 January 2017 02:36

Well, I saw an Amiga boot screen in there... so it's loading up some kind of Amiga startup-sequence.

Looks almost there really

Maybe it's the joystick and fire to select?

ransom1122 02 January 2017 03:44

Very hard to see in your video, but pressing the joystick fire button or Enter on an ADF then, fire or enter on a slot, is the method of allocating an adf in a slot.

Then hit fire or enter again, and select save and reset. It should automatically then go the Slot No 001 if you selected the adf in slot 001. If not press the black buttons on the gotek itself next the usb port and manually change it to slot 001 then CTR ALT DEL Reset the Amiga.

d0ORk 02 January 2017 09:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by ransom1122 (Post 1131638)
Very hard to see in your video, but pressing the joystick fire button or Enter on an ADF then, fire or enter on a slot, is the method of allocating an adf in a slot.

Then hit fire or enter again, and select save and reset. It should automatically then go the Slot No 001 if you selected the adf in slot 001. If not press the black buttons on the gotek itself next the usb port and manually change it to slot 001 then CTR ALT DEL Reset the Amiga.

Thats what i tried, it's still booting 000 only

BLUELiGHT 02 January 2017 12:13

What happens when you press the black buttons on the Gotek drive?

It should cycle between the available slots: 000 is the loader slot, 001-999 are the disk images slots you can allocate through the loader, as you did in the video.

Note that it will cycle only through the allocated slots, e.g. if you only saved an image into slot 001, pressing the right/left buttons on the drive will cycle between 000 and 001.

supaduper 02 January 2017 12:19

The selector.adf on the USB may be corrupted, detele it and replace again

Pat the Cat 02 January 2017 12:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by d0ORk (Post 1131663)
Thats what i tried, it's still booting 000 only

It's not what you showed in the Video, as far as I could see.

If the black button gives you a different number, and you reset the Amiga at that point, it should load that ADF anyway, rather than the 000 selector ADF.

d0ORk 02 January 2017 14:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pat the Cat (Post 1131718)
It's not what you showed in the Video, as far as I could see.

If the black button gives you a different number, and you reset the Amiga at that point, it should load that ADF anyway, rather than the 000 selector ADF.


You see that I choose an ADF on position 001, then I press "save & restart" and it restarts with 000 again. :shocked

supaduper 02 January 2017 15:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by d0ORk (Post 1131756)
You see that I choose an ADF on position 001, then I press "save & restart" and it restarts with 000 again. :shocked

What he means is physically select No 1 using the Buttons on the Gotek so basically push button till you see 001 then turn off and see if it boots then

Superman 02 January 2017 20:24

Have you got the jumper set to s0 ?

Also make sure your files are not zipped or rar'd as the gotek doesn't support these. They must be .adf only

appiah4 02 January 2017 22:33

I may be seeing wrong but is the usb inserted into the Gotek an SD Card Reader? If so, is the SD Card set to write protect? Because it looks like it doesn't write to selector.adf as it should.

Gotek doesn't agree with all USBs. Make sure it is formatted for FAT32. If that fails, try formatting to FAT16 and using short filenames (FILENAME.EXT). When in doubt, try another USB stick.

Also, corrupted selector.adf can do this, replace it with the image - preferrably redownload it from the website.

The Cortex rom can get corrupted as well, you may try reflashing it. If you do not own a TTL adapter, check here for info on how to flash without one.

Quote:

Originally Posted by supaduper (Post 1131761)
What he means is physically select No 1 using the Buttons on the Gotek so basically push button till you see 001 then turn off and see if it boots then

After what he does in the video, the Gotek should never default to 000, it should run at 001. It doesn't. The filelist isn't being saved for some reason.

ransom1122 02 January 2017 22:34

If all else fails try another usb stick. 8gb Sandisk works fine for me.

Always make sure yout selector.adf file is not corrupt.

Shadowfire 03 January 2017 18:15

-> USB stick needs to be formatted as FAT32
-> SELECTOR.ADF needs to be at the root (top) of the USB stick
-> SELECTOR.ADF will be image #000 which will allow you to choose another file for another slot


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04396 seconds with 11 queries