English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Games (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   CD32 Beneath a Steel Sky on A1200 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=105010)

Not Here Long 14 December 2020 01:47

CD32 Beneath a Steel Sky on A1200
 
Hello

In layman's terms, can someone tell me if it is possible to play the CD32 version of Beneath a Steel Sky on a Amiga 1200 and how exactly that would be achieved?

There is a WHDLoad version but it requires 100mb of RAM; my accelerator card only has 32.

The install disk for the surf squirrel external CD-ROM drive has a CD32 emulator on it, but it would be nice to run the game from a disc image rather than a real CD (which I don't own anyway).

Thanks!

Matt_H 14 December 2020 02:57

CD32 Steel Sky is very difficult to get running. On a real CD32, it needs every available byte of RAM. Even booting to the insert disc screen will eat up enough RAM to cause it to fail at warm booting, so the disc needs to be in the drive from a cold start. The other problem I’ve noticed is that it chokes if there's fast RAM present.

So your best bet for running it without WHDLoad is probably to copy the CD contents to a drawer on your hard drive, boot with no startup-sequence and run it from the boot shell after making the appropriate assigns. You might also need to run nofastmem first, too.

jotd 14 December 2020 07:37

already discussed recently

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...reeanim&page=2

basically you need to have freeanim.library, lowlevel.library and nonvolatile.library in LIBS else you get red screen.

you basically get red screen for anything that isn't right. Go figure out what's wrong :)

note that whdload needs 100MB of RAM only if you enable talkie. else it just needs a few MB like 8 or such.

NovaCoder 14 December 2020 08:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by Not Here Long (Post 1446141)
Hello

In layman's terms, can someone tell me if it is possible to play the CD32 version of Beneath a Steel Sky on a Amiga 1200 and how exactly that would be achieved?

There is a WHDLoad version but it requires 100mb of RAM; my accelerator card only has 32.

The install disk for the surf squirrel external CD-ROM drive has a CD32 emulator on it, but it would be nice to run the game from a disc image rather than a real CD (which I don't own anyway).

Thanks!

Just use the PC version with ScummVM AGA :D

Konrad 14 December 2020 09:18

I had a CD32 back then. I could directly launch from the CD, including cd audio.
This emulator was delivered with the cdrom driver back then. Perhaps this still can be found?

jotd 14 December 2020 10:11

is scumm vm AGA sufficiently reactive? I'd like to test that on my real A1200/060 just for fun and to see how good SDL AGA hack is

NovaCoder 14 December 2020 12:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by jotd (Post 1446174)
is scumm vm AGA sufficiently reactive? I'd like to test that on my real A1200/060 just for fun and to see how good SDL AGA hack is

Yep an 030 should be enough to run Beneath a Steel Sky with full speech in AGA.

Just make sure you set it up properly.

An 060 will run loads of games at full speed like Day of the Tentacle etc.

Setup Video

Matt_H 14 December 2020 23:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by NovaCoder (Post 1446160)
Just use the PC version with ScummVM AGA :D

But you don't get the fabulous Amiga soundtrack that way ;).

Superman 14 December 2020 23:36

I can play it on my A1200 Whdload version with only 64mb ram but it does take a loooong time to load initially (like 10 mins!)

Seiya 14 December 2020 23:57

i have a talkie multi language version that perfectly works on A1200. Only need to copy libs suggested from jotd. It can run from CD or from HD and it is enough to have 8 MB FAst RAM.

lesta_smsc 15 December 2020 00:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt_H (Post 1446317)
But you don't get the fabulous Amiga soundtrack that way ;).

Really? I thought you could choose whichever platform provided you were able to source the necessary files. However, you can use MT-32 with SCUMMVM which means great music nonetheless :)

Wachi 15 December 2020 00:15

I know it is not your solution, I simply put the CD in the DVD drive and run CD32-Emulator (1200/030/32)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXLgf4GH9cE
https://i.ibb.co/RCx4KLW/BASSCD32.png :great

NovaCoder 15 December 2020 00:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt_H (Post 1446317)
But you don't get the fabulous Amiga soundtrack that way ;).

:laughing

No matter, ScummVM AGA/RTG supports all version so you can just play the Amiga version on your Amiga if you like :p

Personally I prefer a MIDI sound track myself but each to their own...

lesta_smsc 15 December 2020 00:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wachi (Post 1446332)
I know it is not your solution, I simply put the CD in the DVD drive and run CD32-Emulator (1200/030/32)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXLgf4GH9cE
https://i.ibb.co/RCx4KLW/BASSCD32.png :great

Nice! The graphics look very fab on that monitor - is it CRT? Also, I noticed pixels being too visible for my liking on my 15khz LCD but if I run Amiga on CRT TV it is perfect (likely due to scanlines getting rid of those 'pixels')

Wachi 15 December 2020 01:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by lesta_smsc (Post 1446336)
Nice! The graphics look very fab on that monitor - is it CRT? Also, I noticed pixels being too visible for my liking on my 15khz LCD but if I run Amiga on CRT TV it is perfect (likely due to scanlines getting rid of those 'pixels')

It's a CRT with a GBS-8200 board to go from RGB to VGA. I also have a Benq BL912 LCD screen, but the difference is huge. :agree
Although the best is a 1084 :laughing

lesta_smsc 15 December 2020 01:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wachi (Post 1446340)
It's a CRT with a GBS-8200 board to go from RGB to VGA. I also have a Benq BL912 LCD screen, but the difference is huge. :agree
Although the best is a 1084 :laughing

That's interesting. So the CRT displays equivalent to CRT TV in terms of resolution and scanlines?

Ah the infamous 1084... these days I'd have to sell a limb to afford it!

Not Here Long 15 December 2020 14:51

Thanks for your helpful replies everyone!

I am new to doing things this way so correct me if I'm doing this wrong. I booted with the mouse buttons held down to access the early start up screen, clicked boot with no startup sequence, and then entered the path for the data directory of the WHDLoad version of the CD32 edition of Beneath a Steel Sky. I then used the command:

assign libs: libs

followed by:

steelsky

Without the accelerator card the game works perfectly, but with the card in it crashes on the language selection screen. I tried again using the following command before doing anything else:

CF0:system/nofastmem

Nothing happens and other shell commands, such as dir, do not seem to work afterwards.

As I said in my first post, I need this explained in layman's terms. :)

Thanks again!

jotd 15 December 2020 15:11

surprising as the BASS CD32 executable uses only chip memory. fastmem should not play any part there.
What about turning caches off? cpu nocache

Not Here Long 15 December 2020 20:12

Thanks! Using the command cpu nocache before doing anything else seems to work. Was the issue the 030 rather than the RAM?

Out of interest, will other CD32 games run this way? Is it possible to run them from CD-ROM by mounting CD0 first?

jotd 15 December 2020 20:57

it really depends. For those which don't need a lot of memory because the files are rather small, better use whdload versions.

For talkie versions, it's different (BASS, Simon...)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04777 seconds with 11 queries