English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   project.WHDLoad (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Saving Games ? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=97846)

Washac 23 June 2019 12:24

Saving Games ?
 
Another couple of questions that I cannot seem to find a definitive answer for.

When using WHDLoad on a real Amiga games that have save game built into them such as
adventure games, RPG etc etc, do they save game position OK and where do they get saved to ?


Thanks

AMIGASYSTEM 23 June 2019 12:36

In the file "WHDLoad.prefs" you can find many functions such as setting the path to save, definition of a single button for everyone to exit the game and much more.

;ButtonWait ;wait for button pressed (slave must support this)
;ChipNoCache ;disable cachebility of Chip-Memory
;ConfigDelay=400 ;wait to select options in splash window (1/50 seconds)
;CoreDumpPath=T: ;path for coredump files
;DebugKey=$5b ;rawkey code to quit with coredump (debug)
;ExecuteStartup=Execute S:WHDLoad-Startup ;command to execute on WHDLoad startup
;ExecutePostDisk=Execute S:WHDLoad-PostDisk ;command to execute after accessing disk
;ExecutePreDisk=Execute S:WHDLoad-PreDisk ;command to execute before accessing disk
;ExecuteCleanup=Execute S:WHDLoad-Cleanup ;command to execute on WHDLoad exit
;Expert ;selects expert mode
;FreezeKey=$5d ;rawkey code to enter HrtMon/TK
;FullChip ;save/restore complete chip memory
;LogBuffer=$40000 ;buffer size for logging facility
;MMU ;use MMU (for 68030)
;NoAutoVec ;ignore unwanted autovector interrupts
;NoFilter ;disable audio filter
;NoFlushMem ;do not flush memory
;NoMemReverse ;do not allocate memory reverse
;NoNetwork ;do not connect to the internet
;NoWriteCache ;disable the disk write cache
;NTSC ;force NTSC video mode
;PAL ;force PAL video mode
;Preload ;try to buffer much data files on startup
;Proxy=proxyhost:3128 ;use this HTTP-proxy, [user:password@]hostname[:port]
QuitKey=$16 ;rawkey code to quit
;ReadDelay=150 ;wait after reading from disk (1/50 seconds)
;RecallAdr=$4f000000 ;memory address to store recall data
;RestartKey=$5c ;rawkey code to restart
;SavePath=SYS:WHDSaves ;base directory for all saves
;ShowRegs=SYS:Utilities/MuchMore W WL=80 WT=80 WW=582 WH=700 ;command for Show Regs
;SplashDelay=200 ;time to display splash window (1/50 seconds)
;WriteDelay=150 ;wait after saving something to disk (1/50 seconds)

daxb 23 June 2019 13:04

Usually the savegame files are stored in the "data" game directory. E.g. for MonkeyIsland: "/data/savegame._a_".

AMIGASYSTEM 23 June 2019 13:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by daxb (Post 1328827)
Usually the savegame files are stored in the "data" game directory. E.g. for MonkeyIsland: "/data/savegame._a_".

With "WHDLoad.prefs" positioned in SYS:S you have the same and unique setting for all games.

daxb 23 June 2019 22:08

But Washac does not know that, else he wouldn't ask. As you can see by default the SavePath feature is not activated:

;SavePath=SYS:WHDSaves ;base directory for all saves

AMIGASYSTEM 23 June 2019 22:18

By default nothing is active, each user will choose what will be convenient :)

Washac 23 June 2019 22:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by daxb (Post 1328897)
But Washac does not know that, else he wouldn't ask. As you can see by default the SavePath feature is not activated:

;SavePath=SYS:WHDSaves ;base directory for all saves

So what do I need to do to exactly to set this up ?

AMIGASYSTEM 23 June 2019 22:34

To enable you must delete semicolon (;) and add your preferred example path:

SavePath=DH1:Games/WHDSaves

Washac 23 June 2019 23:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1328904)
To enable you must delete semicolon (;) and add your preferred example path:

SavePath=DH1:Games/WHDSaves

As I thought, one more question, well more a reminder.

Have not used Workbench in many a year and need as I say a reminder on editing files under Workbench.

Thanks.

AMIGASYSTEM 23 June 2019 23:12

What? I don't really understand what you want to change?

Washac 23 June 2019 23:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1328910)
What? I don't really understand what you want to change?

Changing the SavePath line in the WHDLoad.prefs file

AMIGASYSTEM 23 June 2019 23:23

As with other OSs you can use a Text Editor.

If WHDLoad.prefs is in SYS:S, you can use this command from a Shell:

C:Ed SYS:S/WHDLoad.prefs

Or you can use a simple Text Editor like "Redit", you can run this from the Workbench

http://aminet.net/package/text/edit/Redit

Washac 24 June 2019 10:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1328913)
As with other OSs you can use a Text Editor.

If WHDLoad.prefs is in SYS:S, you can use this command from a Shell:

C:Ed SYS:S/WHDLoad.prefs

Or you can use a simple Text Editor like "Redit", you can run this from the Workbench

http://aminet.net/package/text/edit/Redit

Thanks :)

Wepl 24 June 2019 11:08

WHDLoad saves there where the game files are located. So if the game was os-friendly and used files the saves are created the same way as in the original game. If the author of the install has added saving anything (highscores etc.) the files are usually created in the root of the first data directory. The actual WHDLoad does not allow the Slave to write outside the first data directory.
Using the SavePath option you can redirect all save operations to a directory of your choice, see http://whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html#SavePath.

Washac 24 June 2019 11:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wepl (Post 1328967)
WHDLoad saves there where the game files are located. So if the game was os-friendly and used files the saves are created the same way as in the original game. If the author of the install has added saving anything (highscores etc.) the files are usually created in the root of the first data directory. The actual WHDLoad does not allow the Slave to write outside the first data directory.
Using the SavePath option you can redirect all save operations to a directory of your choice, see http://whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html#SavePath.

So WHDLoad saves games by default but the path can be changed if required ?

Solo Kazuki 24 June 2019 11:37

Weird question. Why WHDLoad should disable saving?

It's even opposite with some games where WHDLoad add saving possibility, e.g. Lost Patrol and Fantastic Dizzy (AGA version)

Washac 24 June 2019 11:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki (Post 1328972)
Weird question. Why WHDLoad should disable saving?

It's even opposite with some games where WHDLoad add saving possibility, e.g. Lost Patrol and Fantastic Dizzy
(AGA version)

I did not say it was disabled I was asking how WHDLoad handled saving.

How do I save games that originally had no save function ?

Solo Kazuki 24 June 2019 11:52

They have, but only to RAM, WHDLoad redirect saves to hard disk.

Wepl 24 June 2019 11:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Washac (Post 1328974)
How do I save games that originally had no save function ?

If there is such a feature you can find an information about in the ReadMe of the install.

Washac 24 June 2019 12:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wepl (Post 1328978)
If there is such a feature you can find an information about in the ReadMe of the install.

Thanks for the reply.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04434 seconds with 11 queries