English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   New to Emulation or Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Amiga emulator with a game pre-loaded? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=77859)

Farflame 16 April 2015 17:30

Amiga emulator with a game pre-loaded?
 
This is probably a silly question, but I'm wondering if it's possible. Would it be possible for me to have a game pre-loaded into an emulator, and then save the entire state of the machine and have that available for somebody else to download / install so that they can just install and instantly play that one game?

The reason I ask is that I wrote an Amiga game which didn't sell, but the snapshots are available somewhere on the internet. I'd like to have it available in a pre-loaded form so that people can just play that game without having to install and prepare the emulator etc (which they probably won't want to do).

I know it's unlikely, but worth a try :)

dreamkatcha 17 April 2015 00:56

This is exactly what these guys specialise in so it might be a good place to begin researching how it's done.

Toni Wilen 17 April 2015 09:07

Unpack all files to same directory + startup script/config file is all you need (but also remember KS ROM license issues if your program does not work with aros rom replacement). There is no need to actually install anything.

Embedding binary to any UAE variant is GPL license violation. (Unless your program is GPL compatible and sources are available)

Farflame 29 April 2015 23:10

Thanks for the answers. I'm afraid that I'm fairly new to this though and I'm not sure where to start. Could you give me some pointers? Is there a page / resource I could read to help me with the basics? Would I need a particular emulator?

mark_k 30 April 2015 18:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1015281)
Embedding binary to any UAE variant is GPL license violation. (Unless your program is GPL compatible and sources are available)

Presumably that applies to the embedded AROS ROM and WinUAE boot ROM too, though..?

Toni Wilen 30 April 2015 18:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Farflame (Post 1017287)
Thanks for the answers. I'm afraid that I'm fairly new to this though and I'm not sure where to start. Could you give me some pointers? Is there a page / resource I could read to help me with the basics? Would I need a particular emulator?

Depends what you mean by "install"? Do you require "real" installer or something like zip archive that user unpacks and then double clicks unpacked executable?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mark_k (Post 1017402)
Presumably that applies to the embedded AROS ROM and WinUAE boot ROM too, though..?

AROS is license compatible and "boot rom" assembly source is included with source archive.

mark_k 30 April 2015 19:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1017404)
AROS is license compatible and "boot rom" assembly source is included with source archive.

Regarding the boot ROM: doh, I just saw filesys_bootrom.cpp! Obviously that's there because there's (probably) no compatible 68K cross-assembler for Windows.

Have the AROS devs specifically said they are okay with AROS being relicensed under the GNU GPL though? Back in 2012 it seems (at least some people) thought that the APL is not GPL-compatible; see this forum thread. Also whoever wrote this page thinks the APL is not GPL-compatible.

Toni Wilen 30 April 2015 19:58

Hmm.. I don't remember details anymore but no one ever said there was any license problems when this project for embedded rom replacement started years ago.

Farflame 05 May 2015 18:44

The game that I want to use was written by me and never sold. So in that regard, I'm still the owner of the game so presumably won't be breaking any laws.

Ideally, I'd like it to be as simple as possible, not only for me but for my customers (the game is similar to a Play-by-Mail game which I still run, which is why they may be interested). So I'd like them to be able to just double-click to open and run it. Sounds a bit unlikely to me, but if it's possible, that would be perfect.

thomas 05 May 2015 23:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Farflame (Post 1015189)
the snapshots are available somewhere on the internet

If you would give a link, somebody could examine it and perhaps build a package for you or at least tell you that (and why) it might not be legal.

Farflame 12 May 2015 04:25

Here's the link (note that the programmer's name is wrong, that guy wrote a game with the same name (which sold). This one didn't sell). It's on 3 disks and it does work on an emulator. I would appreciate if anybody could give me more information or let me know if they can get this working.

http://hol.abime.net/1463

thomas 12 May 2015 11:24

This link points to a database with information about the game, not to the game itself.

ma693541 12 May 2015 18:58

Game uploaded to The Zone!

Farflame 13 May 2015 05:25

Hmmm, I did get the game running on an emulator a few years ago and remember using that page.

ma693541, when you say the game is uploaded to the Zone, could you tell me where that is please? Could I get a link?

ma693541 13 May 2015 11:26

Check this link first; Rules & Help.
The Zone! is the link to the left of "Log Out".

thomas 13 May 2015 12:55

The zoned game does not run with the internal AROS ROM. It loads, shows the intro screen but when the Workbench screen appears it just flashes green/black quickly.

Farflame 13 May 2015 17:26

Thanks ma, I've found and joined the Zone. I don't currently have an emulator so I'll sort that out first then try to get the game running. Then hopefully I can work towards my original plan, it would be nice, at the very least, to preserve my game in some working state.

Farflame 13 May 2015 17:42

Can't get it working on WinUAE at the mo, but I might not even better using the emulator correctly. I haven't installed a ROM but it seems to boot up ok if I scan the ROMS and use the default one. But the game gives a software error.

Farflame 31 May 2015 01:01

Just a quick bump. I've been very busy lately, converting my game to a server, so I haven't had much time. Could anyone give me some idea of where I could read up on this to get started? Frankly, right now, I have no idea.

BigFan 31 May 2015 17:07

winuae and kickrom 3.1 for aga machines (1200/4000) required.

does not start with aros boot rom.

no hd install?

amos basic ? joystick control ? i quit !!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04505 seconds with 11 queries