English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.FS-UAE (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=122)
-   -   FS-UAE for OS X PPC (Not officially supported) (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=74649)

FrodeSolheim 20 September 2021 10:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hypex (Post 1507603)
Given FS-UAE is running primarily on little endian, and emulating a big endian computer, I am surprised it could be ignored at all or even require little work. It doesn't make sense that it would be harder to get it working on native big endian than it is easily working on little endian. The world doesn't make sense! :confused

No-one said it was harder. I even said that it wasn't complicated. But it is *some* extra work. For example, in some cases you need to convert values between big-endian and little-endian *if* the host is little-endian, and not if it is big-endian. Or maybe you need to specify different OpenGL texture format flags on little-endian vs big-endian. So you might need if-statements (or compiler defines) and write code for both cases. If you forget do this in one place, or ignore it on purpose for now to get it working at all for little-endian, then it won't work properly on big-endian.

In all cases, written code needs to be tested to ensure it is written correctly. So it hasn't really got anything to do with difficult vs. easy, but rather more about what hardware I can/will test on and what host platforms I officially support. That's what I'm going to focus on. I'm aware of big-endian vs. little-endian and usually take that into account when writing code.

DJBase 08 January 2023 17:45

What was the latest build for a G3 or was there any? And can someone put in the Zone please?

Stormiboy 12 February 2023 15:07

Hello there. Looking for it in The Zone too. ??

eastone 18 May 2023 17:09

2 Attachment(s)
Hi,
I'm digging up an old topic. I'm working on a simple launcher for FS-UAE PPC as part of learning programming. But that's not what I want to write about.
During testing, I noticed that the only configuration that works without any slowdowns is the A4000. This applies to all versions of FS-UAE from version 2.5.x to version 3.0.5 (f.e. version 2.4.1 works correctly)
It also seems to me that some config file options are being ignored. For example, the speed of the floppy drive is much slower for the A500 configuration than for the A4000, despite setting them to 800%

I'm pretty sure there's never been a problem like this before. I had a long break from using Fs-uae and I don't remember well.
Could someone check if he has the same problem with the emulator?

I attach logs for A500 and A4000

Adf used: http://www.insertdisk2.com/demo/major-release
Everything on PM G5 11.2


Regards,
Kristoffer

ztronzo 19 May 2023 02:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by eastone (Post 1617172)
Hi,
I'm digging up an old topic. I'm working on a simple launcher for FS-UAE PPC as part of learning programming. But that's not what I want to write about.
During testing, I noticed that the only configuration that works without any slowdowns is the A4000. This applies to all versions of FS-UAE from version 2.5.x to version 3.0.5 (f.e. version 2.4.1 works correctly)
It also seems to me that some config file options are being ignored. For example, the speed of the floppy drive is much slower for the A500 configuration than for the A4000, despite setting them to 800%

I'm pretty sure there's never been a problem like this before. I had a long break from using Fs-uae and I don't remember well.
Could someone check if he has the same problem with the emulator?

I attach logs for A500 and A4000

Adf used: http://www.insertdisk2.com/demo/major-release
Everything on PM G5 11.2


Regards,
Kristoffer

no doubt there would be a considerable difference when setting the emulator to run as fast as possible with "cpu_speed=max" in compared to a locked 7Mhz 68k Amiga 500... floppy drive speeds should be the same but the time processing data will be dramatically sped up.

eastone 19 May 2023 10:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by ztronzo (Post 1617318)
no doubt there would be a considerable difference when setting the emulator to run as fast as possible with "cpu_speed=max" in compared to a locked 7Mhz 68k Amiga 500

Is there any way to "unlock" A500 speed? Setting cpu_speed to max does not work.

eastone 20 May 2023 20:43

The "uae_" prefix solved the problem (RTFM? ;) )
Now A500 flies:)

eastone 18 June 2023 15:26

Here is a short video of how the launcher on os x ppc works. Not yet ready for release at this stage. This is only a test version. A more extensive version is under development.

https://youtu.be/ZHkB6jPDVig

SnakeCoils 08 August 2023 18:04

Well, after a bit of patching here and there I was able to build the latest stable FS-UAE version 3.1.66 for OSX PPC machines, as usual AmigaOS 4 and JIT compile are disabled.

It seems that making it compatible again with SDL 2.0.3 was a matter of commenting out a single line in src/fs-uae/device-helper.c (SDL_HINT_MAC_BACKGROUND_APP that is supported from SDL 2.0.4+).

The only caveat other than the usual patches I applied to the source was to disable the automated fs-uae.dat copy from the final script and adding it manually (pasted in place from the 3.0.5 version) in the executable bundle because otherwise a report of "file not found" was keeping the process from a succesful end.

From preliminary tests I've seen no loss and no gain of speed compared to the previous 3.0.5 version but everything seems to work fine including the RTG graphics.

The executable can be found in The Zone.

Enjoy! :-)

vulture 08 August 2023 20:23

many thx man!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06456 seconds with 11 queries