English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Help with compact flash on amiga 600 please! (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=46260)

dsilva 21 July 2009 13:46

Help with compact flash on amiga 600 please!
 
Hi people! How are you?
I have an amiga 600 from the childhood of my father.
Began to buy an new floppy drive, the older was not reading right.
Now decided to transfer adf files to amiga. So i bought an ADAPCMCFL from amigakit.com with the PCMCIA adapter and of course an 2GB Kingston Compact Flash Card.
Plugged everything, put the boot disk and run to workbench. After putting the PCMCIA doesn't appear any image of the compactflash in the workbench.

My workbench it's version 3.0
Kickstart-Rom it's a 2.05 (37.350) that i bought from Vesalia Computer.

My question it's:
- Why doesn't appear any image of compactflash?
- Could be the compatiblity of workbench and the kickstart?
- Could be the Kingston compact flash?

Please help me, i need play some games on amiga. :banghead:banghead:banghead:banghead
I have spend a lot of money to put this thing working. Thank you and regards.;););)

mr.vince 21 July 2009 15:26

you might want to try if the card is at least recognized (the early boot menu should show something).

what i have done: get the drivers etc from aminet...

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CardPatch
http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CardReset
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fat95
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/cfd

...with these tools i can access a drive called cf0:...

i am currently not sure if you can boot from this drive.

maybe someone else can provide further help getting you started...

dsilva 21 July 2009 15:34

ok! A question again!??
 
Sorry for my ignorance.
That drivers should be put in the amiga or in the Compact flash?

Explain to me better.

alexh 21 July 2009 16:02

All of the drivers mr.vince mentions are already installed on the Easy ADF floppy disk that came with your ADAPCMCFL

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsilva (Post 575182)
- Why doesn't appear any image of compactflash?

Something is wrong. Even if the card is not formatted the CF0 icon should appear.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsilva (Post 575182)
- Could be the compatiblity of workbench and the kickstart?

No. The EasyADF boot disk is known to work with this version of kickstart. The workbench on your hard drive is irrelevant as you should be booting Workbench from the EasyADF boot disk.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsilva (Post 575182)
- Could be the Kingston compact flash?

Yes.

Did this card not come from AmigaKit?



I would like to suggest it is one of the following:
  • broken PCMCIA slot on your Amiga.
  • broken PCMCIA adapter.
  • broken or incompatible CF card.

alexh 21 July 2009 16:13

While this is not the cause of your problems, I do not think it is wise to run workbench 3.0 on an A600 with KS2.05

dsilva 21 July 2009 16:45

right...
 
Quote:

Yes.

Did this card not come from AmigaKit?



I would like to suggest it is one of the following:
  • broken PCMCIA slot on your Amiga.
  • broken PCMCIA adapter.
  • broken or incompatible CF card.

The card i bought on ebay. On the laptop work's fine. The windows XP recognizes and format it. I will buy an Sandisk Compact Flash to see if it's from that. I will try to buy also an older workbench, maybe an 2.04 or 2.05 right?
Although, tell me please a way of checking in the command line on amiga if it's recognize??
What's the command to check it?


There is a way of testing the PCMCIA on the Amiga?
Thank you.

Retro1234 21 July 2009 17:12

I have a 2GB Kingston CF card and it's never worked for me on my Amiga via PCMCIA.
Go for a genuine Sandisk CF card:)

dsilva 21 July 2009 18:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boo Boo (Post 575210)
I have a 2GB Kingston CF card and it's never worked for me on my Amiga via PCMCIA.
Go for a genuine Sandisk CF card:)


Ok. Thanks. I have just ordered an Sandisk 1GB from USA on ebay. Now it's wait.

thomas 21 July 2009 18:05

Quote:

I will try to buy also an older workbench, maybe an 2.04 or 2.05 right?
As you come from a non-english speaking country, you should prefer 2.1. It has locale.library which allows you to run Workbench in Portuguese.

Perhaps instead of downgrading Workbench you should consider upgrading the Kickstart. You can continue to run WB 3.0 on Kick 3.1 and can even take advantage of the new features like datatypes for example.

mr.vince 21 July 2009 22:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by alexh (Post 575190)
All of the drivers mr.vince mentions are already installed on the Easy ADF floppy disk that came with your ADAPCMCFL
  • broken or incompatible CF card.

Sorry, never bought such a kit and just puzzled everything together on a boring night. :) Could be that Aminet has newer versions, but nut sure about that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boo Boo (Post 575210)
Go for a genuine Sandisk CF card:)

Alexh recommends this, too. And I also have a 256MB Sandisk card that works fine. In fact there are newer cards that do represent themselfes in a different way (I think the thing is emulated hd versus memory stick, not sure) which could be the cause. Never really was interested in finding out, so just got a cheap and small Sandisk card.

alexh 22 July 2009 00:45

Newer cards report themselves as removable devices, which means they can be hot-plugged with most OS (when connected direct to IDE).

But I do not think this matters when connected via PCMCIA.

dsilva 22 July 2009 02:48

I have managed to know that could be the write speed rating. Do you think it could be?
My Compact Flash runs at 133x.

Hercules 22 July 2009 03:57

Most PCMCIA cards need CC reset fix applied to work correctly, as sometimes on powerup / reset PCMCIA cards aren't recognized otherwise. It can be fixed with a soldering iron if your confident. Failing that CardPatch and CardReset from Aminet will force the CCRESET line of the PCMCIA port to be reset so the CF card can hopefully be recognized.

ppill 22 July 2009 10:12

Just a couple things:

Workbench 3.x runs OK with the 2.x kickstart (CrossDOS too, if I remember correctly). Some things will fail to work of course.

The reset bug concerns A1200s and compactflash.device takes care of it anyway, no additional software (like CardReset) is needed.

Retro1234 22 July 2009 10:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by alexh (Post 575313)
Newer cards report themselves as removable devices, which means they can be hot-plugged with most OS (when connected direct to IDE).

But I do not think this matters when connected via PCMCIA.

I think youve got mixed up - Ive never known a card not to working on the IDE?

dsilva check this thread for compatible cards.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...hlight=sandisk

Jope 22 July 2009 11:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by ppill (Post 575366)
Workbench 3.x runs OK with the 2.x kickstart (CrossDOS too, if I remember correctly). Some things will fail to work of course.

Better not recommend it, as it does not work fully.

ppill 22 July 2009 11:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jope (Post 575374)
Better not recommend it, as it does not work fully.

I wouldn't recommend it as a permanent solution -- just that nothing out of the ordinary will happen (loss of data, that sort of thing), some things will refuse to work. So if he hasn't got anything else at the moment...

alexh 22 July 2009 11:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hercules (Post 575340)
Most PCMCIA cards need CC reset fix applied to work correctly

Not on an A600 they dont!

alexh 22 July 2009 11:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boo Boo (Post 575371)
I think you've got mixed up - Ive never known a card not to working on the IDE?

I don't think so. My memory fails me, looks like it equally affects PCMCIA too.

amigakit.com 22 July 2009 15:04

When you boot the ADAPCMCFL disk, if you have an A600, the PCMCIA patches are not applied. However if you have an A1200, the ADAPCMCFL boot wizard asks you if you want the PCMCIA patches enabled or disabled.

We sell Amiga tested 4GB cards as a product option on the EasyADF PCMCIA Transfer Kit here:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...=440#configure

Using a Workbench 3.x disk with a Kickstart 2.x ROM can cause problems. The printed documentation warns about this.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04629 seconds with 11 queries