English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   What difference exists between RAM: Real and RAM: Automatic (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=102049)

White 01 May 2020 16:34

What difference exists between RAM: Real and RAM: Automatic
 
Hi,
what difference does it make in the winuae settings?
RAM: Real
RAM: Automatic

I ask this question because after a long time I managed to solve an application compatibility problem.
Now they no longer crash by choosing RAM: Real

Thanks.

White 01 May 2020 17:41

The problem was blocking the following audio and video applications etc. in the same work session, in practice they could not be used continuously
now odyssey, e-uae, emotion, smtube, ffplay, amigagaAMP etc.
they no longer crash.
Even using them many times.
I also had to make some changes to other winuae settings (latest beta).
But the reason they work lies in the use of RAM: Real
Because in the exact same configuration if I use RAM: Automatic
the system crashes.
When I try to use them continuously.

White 01 May 2020 18:15

Here a video, maybe it can be useful for future use and deepen (I hope) :-)
normally winuae and set to full-screen, in this case I had to adapt the video for the video capture program.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXeDT46_128

Toni Wilen 01 May 2020 18:39

Usually (at least if 64-bit Windows), Automatic equals Real. If there is not enough address space, Automatic selects UAE.

But it is mostly irrelevant anyway unless running OS4 or unix-like operating systems that expect Z3 boards in expected locations. You will notice it immediately because it either hangs at boot or all Z3 boards are missing.

White 01 May 2020 19:03

Toni, thanks for the reply,
i also tried uae-memory
and automatic
oddly only selecting "real" seems to work
in this case for amigaos4.1FE all "peripherals are recognized" on the winuae side
thanks again for your explanation.

my configuration is always based on G-REX and FM801

White 01 May 2020 19:08

1 Attachment(s)
Toni,
I am attaching the configuration, maybe tomorrow may be useful.

White 02 May 2020 05:01

Toni, sorry I just wanted to tell you that the options activated with the "real" memory
if I try to remove even one of these options in the FPU section the programs oddly don't work or stop working.

for example, if I use "uae memory" the screen remains stuck on the red color when starting winuae
while if I use "automatic memory" the programs randomly freeze
Odyssey ffplay e-uae ecc.

I hope it will be useful in some way if you decide to investigate.
Thanks.

While the programs do not conflict with each other with these options
I leave you a short summary with "real memory" they work with these options.
while instead the programs do not conflict with each other with these options and work perfectly odyssey e-uae ffplay emotion etc. :
AGA
ZorroIII
RTG 128 mb

8bit
All
All
A8R8G8B8

cpu 060
Unimplemened CPU emu
MMU None
FPU
CPU internal
more compatible
Host (64-bit)

sorry for the additional note, if you need some log or other I remain at your disposal.
Thanks.

Toni Wilen 02 May 2020 11:03

68k settings are mostly irrelevant in OS4 emulation (Except to run bootloader = at least 68040 is needed)

Attach winuaelog.txt from both configs. Thats show clearly show the difference if there is any.

White 02 May 2020 15:12

Toni,
Thank you.
I attach this log (this is what works well)
if you tell me this is what you need the right log, I also attach the others that don't work,
Thanks again.

White 02 May 2020 15:14

1 Attachment(s)
log


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06102 seconds with 12 queries