English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Hardware mods (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=105)
-   -   Unsuccessful attempt to install 604e@350MHz onto Blizzard PPC (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=52097)

stachu100 09 April 2010 10:38

Unsuccessful attempt to install 604e@350MHz onto Blizzard PPC
 
Hi,

As an experiment I tried to put 604e@350MHz CPU onto Blizzard PPC.

Modification done:
1) PPC CPU replaced ;)
2) Oscillator 60MHz with x5,5 which gives 330MHz frequency for CPU core
3) Removed original 2,5V voltage regulator
4) 1,9V/10A voltage regulator added ("classic" type soldered ad-hoc just to proof the concept)
5) +5V from power supply connected to 1,9V voltage regulator directly; without it I've measured 4,5V on the Blizzard PPC instead of 5V

As a results card is booting without RAM, but PPC is not recognized:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YH99QWKycO4

With RAM installed I have RAM error:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6H-huajbnVA

Pictures:
http://picasaweb.google.pl/stacho100...HzUnsuccessful#

So I assume that Blizzard PPC software inside flash memory cannot init 604e correctly (lack of proper routines inside Blizzard PPC flash) and/or logic on the board is not working with 604e because onboard CPLD IC's are not adopted to serve 604e.

Anyway as I'm not a genius ;) I will drop the idea to modify Blizzard PPC hardware/software and just un-solder 604e and put standard 603e@300MHz.

But at least I tried. :banghead

alexh 09 April 2010 12:52

What about examining the bootrom from a Cyberstorm PPC?

Have you found a Cyberstorm MKIII you can upgrade yet?

stachu100 09 April 2010 13:34

I don't have knowledge to do so ;)
I can read/write Blizzard PPC/Cyberstorm III flash content (I've made this to ressurect Blizzard PPC card):

http://picasaweb.google.com/stacho10...ReadingWriting#

But I have no idea what is inside and what needs to be modified...
I know one rule: "Don't know how it works? - don't modify!!!"

And yes, I have Cyberstorm PPC for modification already :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by alexh (Post 659567)
What about examining the bootrom from a Cyberstorm PPC?

Have you found a Cyberstorm MKIII you can upgrade yet?



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04590 seconds with 11 queries