English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   A1200 & AcA1232: "program failed" after 10 minutes... (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=82089)

maxint 20 March 2016 20:37

A1200 & AcA1232: "program failed" after 10 minutes...
 
Hi, I have an A1200 with Aca1232, CF card and an Wifi Pcmcia card, it's a fantastic experience for 10 minutes...after that period the Amiga starts to show "program failed" on Ibrowse loading, Miamidx and a lot of programs.
I did the timing fix for rev. 1D4 board, removing 2 capacitors, I changed CF's brand, reinstalled from scratch everything.
I've checked the correct max transfer setting: 0x1FE00;
Can you help me, please?

Thanks,

Max:banghead

turrican9 20 March 2016 20:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by maxint (Post 1079030)
Hi, I have an A1200 with Aca1232, CF card and an Wifi Pcmcia card, it's a fantastic experience for 10 minutes...after that period the Amiga starts to show "program failed" on Ibrowse loading, Miamidx and a lot of programs.
I did the timing fix for rev. 1D4 board, removing 2 capacitors, I changed CF's brand, reinstalled from scratch everything.
I've checked the correct max transfer setting: 0x1FE00;
Can you help me, please?

Thanks,

Max:banghead

Maybe the ACA 1232 is overheating? Tried to turn off the system and let it cool down then try again to see if it lasts for 10 minutes?

maxint 20 March 2016 20:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by turrican9 (Post 1079032)
Maybe the ACA 1232 is overheating? Tried to turn off the system and let it cool down then try again to see if it lasts for 10 minutes?

:bowdown
It's amazing: very fast reply!! Thanks a lot.
I did it today and the problem disappears if I let the Amiga cool down. Maybe I have a defective Aca?
Or maybe I couldapply some heatsink on the chips?

Thanks again.

Max

turrican9 20 March 2016 21:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by maxint (Post 1079033)
:bowdown
It's amazing: very fast reply!! Thanks a lot.
I did it today and the problem disappears if I let the Amiga cool down. Maybe I have a defective Aca?
Or maybe I couldapply some heatsink on the chips?

Thanks again.

Max

I notice you are in Italy. I live in North of Norway and have a ACA 1233 in my Amiga 1200 with no cooling. Its perfectly stable. Have rev. 2B and done no mods to the board. Whats your ambient room temperature? I have between 20 - 25 Celcius room temp where I live

maxint 20 March 2016 21:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by turrican9 (Post 1079036)
I notice you are in Italy. I live in North of Norway and have a ACA 1233 in my Amiga 1200 with no cooling. Its perfectly stable. Have rev. 2B and done no mods to the board. Whats your ambient room temperature? I have between 20 - 25 Celcius room temp where I live

I have 18°-20° Celsius, the trap door is opened.
It's an annoing thing because everything it's ok for the first 10 minutes.:banghead

turrican9 20 March 2016 21:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by maxint (Post 1079037)
I have 18°-20° Celsius, the trap door is opened.
It's an annoing thing because everything it's ok for the first 10 minutes.:banghead

Have you tried to clean the trapdoor connector? Maybe its making bad contact with the ACA 1232 (when it heats up it breaks the connection)? Also, what PSU do you use? I use Amiga 500 PSU, the ones with 4.5 Amps on the +5v

turrican9 20 March 2016 21:35

What you could also do is put something between the table and the ACA 1232. If its "hanging" without the trapdoor in place it could make bad contact and when it heats up it gets worse. By putting something between the ACA 1232 and table that is thick enough to keep it from "hanging" that could make a difference.

maxint 20 March 2016 21:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by turrican9 (Post 1079043)
What you could also do is put something between the table and the ACA 1232. If its "hanging" without the trapdoor in place it could make bad contact and when it heats up it gets worse. By putting something between the ACA 1232 and table that is thick enough to keep it from "hanging" that could make a difference.

I did a try also with this trick, maybe I could make some spacers.

turrican9 20 March 2016 22:13

Put something in between the ACA 1232 and table so it is slightly bent upwards instead of hanging. See if it makes a difference

turrican9 20 March 2016 22:18

If this does not work, try and make a grounding wire that goes from one of the grounding points on the ACA 1232 to one of the grounding points on the motherboard (screw that secures motherboard to case)

maxint 20 March 2016 23:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by turrican9 (Post 1079059)
Put something in between the ACA 1232 and table so it is slightly bent upwards instead of hanging. See if it makes a difference

I'm trying this, see you in about 15 minutes... ;)

turrican9 20 March 2016 23:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by maxint (Post 1079078)
I'm trying this, see you in about 15 minutes... ;)

If that does not work, try the extra grouding trick I posted above. I've seen it help with ACA 620 in Amiga 600 when it seemed like it was overheating after 5 - 10 minutes, extra grouding made it stable.

maxint 20 March 2016 23:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by turrican9 (Post 1079059)
Put something in between the ACA 1232 and table so it is slightly bent upwards instead of hanging. See if it makes a difference

10 minutes and...boom!
"Program failed error #80000002"

:crazy

Bamiga2002 20 March 2016 23:47

How about trying without the wi-fi card? And how's about disabling most speedups with ACATune, trying them one at a time?

maxint 20 March 2016 23:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 (Post 1079089)
How about trying without the wi-fi card? And how's about disabling most speedups with ACATune, trying them one at a time?


It hangs also without wifi card! :banghead

I tried to modify every acatune commands...:banghead

It's very strange, it seems that something heats up and freeze the system, maybe a defective ACA?

I'll try to make a wire between aca and amiga's ground, as suggested by Turrican.

maxint 20 March 2016 23:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by turrican9 (Post 1079081)
If that does not work, try the extra grouding trick I posted above. I've seen it help with ACA 620 in Amiga 600 when it seemed like it was overheating after 5 - 10 minutes, extra grouding made it stable.

Thanks again for your support, I'll try that.:great

Arnie 20 March 2016 23:54

Memory could be bad. Can you limit the memory at all or turn it off?

Can you run the A1200 without the card for 10 mins?

maxint 20 March 2016 23:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arnie (Post 1079095)
Memory could be bad. Can you limit the memory at all or turn it off?

Can you run the A1200 without the card for 10 mins?

The A1200 runs well with Blizzard 1220/4, so I thought that the problem was tha Aca1232 or maybe timing problems.

Arnie 21 March 2016 00:09

Can you limit the memory on the ACA or turn it off?
I had similar problems with a memory card on my CDTV. Add the memory, worked fine until you opened a few dirs and ran a program, then crashed.

maxint 21 March 2016 00:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arnie (Post 1079099)
Can you limit the memory on the ACA or turn it off?
I had similar problems with a memory card on my CDTV. Add the memory, worked fine until you opened a few dirs and ran a program, then crashed.

I think that I can turn off the fast ram with a command in acatune.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04601 seconds with 11 queries