English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   New to Emulation or Amiga scene (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Word processing on Amigas (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=76455)

pubzombie 04 January 2015 16:31

Word processing on Amigas

Hi all,
This may seem a bit of a strange question - but.
When I was a student back in the day I wrote my undergraduate essays on an Amiga 500 and then 1200. I still have my original 1200 in my office at work.
If I wanted to write documents on my 1200 is it possible to easily transfer stuff to Microsoft word after?
Thanks in advance.
PZ

s2325 04 January 2015 16:34

Maybe just use simple editors similar to Notepad and try to avoid any special characters as word processors may confuse them. You can also write on Amiga, make photo of display and use OCR software for Windows ;)

Basquemactee1 04 January 2015 23:43

I think the later edition of Wordworth had the availability to save into a basic Word format, which could then be loaded/imported. However. what s2325 says makes more sense. Save as .txt format.

pubzombie 04 January 2015 23:58

Ok thanks guys.
I guess flash card adaptor in the side of the 1200 would be easiest way to transfer Giles to pc?
Thank you

daxb 05 January 2015 11:53

Wordworth 7 can save in RTF, WordPerfect 5.1, ASCII and its Wordworth fromat. For FinalWriter (maybe wrong name?) I don`t know but may worth to try. Maybe also PageStream.

If you just need simple text to transfer then a texteditor might be the best solution.

demolition 05 January 2015 14:38

I have saved in RTF with Final Writer and it seemed to look right in Word. Much better than plain text files since it contains font types and sizes, indentation etc.

Korodny 05 January 2015 17:51

FinalWriter 97 is not as feature rich as WW7, but it's said to have better RTF and PS export (I never used it myself, so I can't tell). So I'd suggest using FW and exporting to RTF.