English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   What type of RAM do I need for this board? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=99248)

liquidsmoke 18 October 2019 05:59

What type of RAM do I need for this board?
 
it seems to be a variation of an amitek hawk
at the moment theres a 4mb module in there, but no descernible marks to tell me what type of ram it is.



http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/marpet1208


so, what type of ram specifically do i need?

lesta_smsc 18 October 2019 06:18

Usually you'll be able to see the markings on the chips themselves. A Google search of these will give info on the RAM that's then in this.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

hooverphonique 19 October 2019 16:43

The linked page says M1207, but if it's the same as yours, it says you need a 72 pin SIMM module. 70ns will probably do.

Kin Hell 19 October 2019 19:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by liquidsmoke (Post 1352179)
it seems to be a variation of an amitek hawk
at the moment theres a 4mb module in there, but no descernible marks to tell me what type of ram it is.



http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/marpet1208


so, what type of ram specifically do i need?

Depending on Brand Name, you may have issues with Single Sided Simm's.

liquidsmoke 19 October 2019 20:21

does it matter if its EDO ram ? (whatever that means?)

-Acid- 20 October 2019 01:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by liquidsmoke (Post 1352630)
does it matter if its EDO ram ? (whatever that means?)

EDO ram is exactly what you need, at least that is what we used to call it

lesta_smsc 20 October 2019 02:46

Maybe this article may help:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=3540

liquidsmoke 20 October 2019 06:29

alright,


here is a picture of the ram in the a1200 already


anyone know what type i need to increase to 8mb?
the ram is double sided.


https://imgur.com/a/IeDM1gR

here is also a picture of the front side of the ram expansion board (a marpet m1207)
can anyone help with where the jumpers need to be set for 8mb ram?
(theyre labeled differently from a amitek hawk board)


https://imgur.com/a/KcZWVQh


i have this single sided, 8mb, 72pin simm.
doers anyone know if it will work?

https://imgur.com/a/PvDaMGU

Kin Hell 20 October 2019 13:06

EDO can be picky, again around Brand name.

The best SIMM for compatibility is Fast Page Mode, but again, single sided one's can be picky.

I've put a link in the eBay section for you.

8Mb Fast Page Mode 60ns Double Sided 72 Pin SIMM's

hooverphonique 20 October 2019 13:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by liquidsmoke (Post 1352630)
does it matter if its EDO ram ? (whatever that means?)

No, It doesn't matter, but should work.

All 8MB modules are dual rank, single sided or not, so if it fits physically, there's no general technical reason it shouldn't work.

liquidsmoke 20 October 2019 20:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kin Hell (Post 1352749)
EDO can be picky, again around Brand name.

The best SIMM for compatibility is Fast Page Mode, but again, single sided one's can be picky.

I've put a link in the eBay section for you.

8Mb Fast Page Mode 60ns Double Sided 72 Pin SIMM's




ive ordered one of those simms you linked to, thanks
i dont trust the single sided, edo simm ive got.


i dont want to mess up the working ram ive got at the moment by installing new ram that doesnt work, then the old ram doesnt work either.


pity i cant afford one of those fancy accelerators that have it all onboard.
but theyre expensive and also my a1200 would need timing fixes done to it.

paul1981 20 October 2019 22:40

I have one of those Marpet cards. Mine has an 8MB EDO simm which was out of an old PC. Originally I bought it with a 2MB simm if memory serves.

liquidsmoke 21 October 2019 00:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by paul1981 (Post 1352840)
I have one of those Marpet cards. Mine has an 8MB EDO simm which was out of an old PC. Originally I bought it with a 2MB simm if memory serves.


do you remember the position of the jumpers needed for 8mb on it?

Kin Hell 26 October 2019 19:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by liquidsmoke (Post 1352866)
do you remember the position of the jumpers needed for 8mb on it?

Can you take a Hi Res pic of the Jumpers & post it on here please?

Guessing you have your SIMM now?

liquidsmoke 26 October 2019 20:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kin Hell (Post 1354316)
Can you take a Hi Res pic of the Jumpers & post it on here please?

Guessing you have your SIMM now?




have the simm. havent fitted it yet.


heres the pic of the jumpers. theyre currently set for 4mb i assume.


https://imgur.com/a/76wKPqC

Kin Hell 27 October 2019 10:17

I doubt you would break anything if you get it wrong. - It just wouldn't show the right amount of Ram.

Looking @ the pic, I'd put the left most jumper to the top two pins to light up all the 8Mb markings. :great

liquidsmoke 27 October 2019 11:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kin Hell (Post 1354408)
I doubt you would break anything if you get it wrong. - It just wouldn't show the right amount of Ram.

Looking @ the pic, I'd put the left most jumper to the top two pins to light up all the 8Mb markings. :great


ok, thankyou

liquidsmoke 27 October 2019 11:57

any recommendations for a good memory tester program

Kin Hell 27 October 2019 12:58

Search for Memory Test on Aminet :great

liquidsmoke 27 October 2019 17:10

well the 8mb fast page ram worked and the jumper settings worked aswell.

and a memory test didnt throw up any errors.


only problem now is that, even with kickstart 3.0 roms, the pcmcia is disabled


i was under the belief that if i was using kickstart 3.0 pcmcia would still work.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:13.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04661 seconds with 11 queries