English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   PowerPC emulation speed (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=90459)

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 16:52

PowerPC emulation speed
 
I noticed that PPC emulation speed increased and now OS4.1 it's useable in many ways.

What still suffer from some slowness is everything related to file I/O operations.

Could something be improved in this way?

Moreover, the memory limitations on PPC side cause further slowness.

Any news on this side?

Thank you very much

Kind regards

AMIGASYSTEM 25 January 2018 17:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmigaBlitter (Post 1214713)

Moreover, the memory limitations on PPC side cause further slowness.

Kind regards


Read here: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85388

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 17:17

How to set this option, there's a tutorial?

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 17:35

I added the command line, but nothing happen at reboot, same quantity of ram.

Should i update something?, cause i bought OS4.1 FE system in september 2017.

AMIGASYSTEM 25 January 2018 17:53

You must first update OS41, for the tutorial important read the whole discussion attached
(leggiti tutta la discussione perchè ci sono delle difficoltà).

Saghalie 25 January 2018 19:09

Ensure that you are running at least update 1 of OS4FE ..
then in the startup-sequence file you should see a command like:

C:Bootloader

near the top of the file

Change this to read

C:Bootloader COMMANDLINE="NoRamPager"

This will give you your extra ram you need. If you can't update the system
for whatever reason... I've had it tell me that the system is out of memory...
then just download the update directly from Hyperion's site (You should have
a username/password if you have a legit copy of the OS) and install it from
disk (maybe a shared disk?).

Hope this helps

White 25 January 2018 19:11

@AmigaBlitter
At the moment I use the 4.1 fe1 here you can find my videos:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZo...-MkSDPw/videos

these are old at the time the speed has increased a lot, I do not have time to do other more in the I will do some tutorials based on my experiences.
At the moment the videos on youtube the transfer speed is practically the same as that of a pc.
I have adopted some tricks and created a system based on windows 64bit with my personal license in order to improve the performance of the emulator.
So I installed everything on a real hard disk (not .hdf)
This involves a series of works and experiments on my part.
And thank you very much to Toni for creating the possibility of this powerpc emulation, and even if I do not complete it, I thank him very much.
But since I've used a real amiga, I've been talking about over 20 years ago, but in reality this OS has always needed hacks and various improvements to improve their efficiency.
Today in my small way I do the same thing with 4.1.
My configuration is an I5 2400 with dual channel 8giga and MSI Nvidia gtx 750ti graphics card so nothing special.

I hope you can find some ideas to use it and maybe have some ideas to put into practice to improve this emulation.
I still thank Toni and DamienD for giving me some tips and advice!
Ciao

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 19:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1214734)
You must first update OS41, for the tutorial important read the whole discussion attached
(leggiti tutta la discussione perchè ci sono delle difficoltà).

I though i had already latest version.

Going to check.

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 20:14

As usual, i only changed one parameter and now os4 starts in 16 colors

Trying to fix.

Just confused, cause i'm already have AmigaOS 4.1FE update 1 and the update shows me the Amiga OS 4.1 FE update 1 as available.

Sigh

Toni Wilen 25 January 2018 21:54

You must download the update manually and install it manually. Do not use updater, it will run out of memory..

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 21:57

Thank you for the reply.

But how to update? There's a script or an installer?

Kind regards

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 22:30

@Toni Wilen

of course these words "As usual, i only changed one parameter and now os4 starts in 16 colors" are referred to myself. I'm certainly doing something wrong while saving configurations.

Thank you for your work

Toni Wilen 25 January 2018 22:33

Update should be available for download. I don't remember where or how.

If you want more information about other emulation specific issues: log and config must be included as usual. (But you probably have too much Z3 space used, there is only 1G of official Z3 space available and all Z3 boards must fit there. Check Hardware Info GUI panel)

AmigaBlitter 25 January 2018 22:48

It works!, but only if i select 512 MB for Z3. Can't add more


Any hint?

White 26 January 2018 14:03

Hi Toni, excuse the question,
I read about the new features in the final version 3.6.0

JIT Direct is allowed in CyberStorm PPC configuration but it also disables CSPPC MAP ROM hardware feature.

what is it for? how to use?

Thank you for your possible answer, and thanks again for your work.

Tomislav 26 January 2018 14:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmigaBlitter (Post 1214810)
It works!, but only if i select 512 MB for Z3. Can't add more


Any hint?

That is because RTG card is in Z3 (Zorro III) space.
I don't know if anything of next will work with OS4.

1. You can try to use Picasso IV Zorro II and then try 1GB Z3 of RAM.

2. You can try with setting 512+256+128+64 (=960MB) of Z3 RAM in Advanced Memory Settings. To do that set "Z3 Fast RAM #1" to 512, then #2 to 256, #3 to 128 and #4 to 64 and you will have +960 MB of Z3 memory.

White 26 January 2018 15:10

1 Attachment(s)
@AmigaBlitter
if you can be useful this is what I use
512
128
128
64
rtg uaegfx 128

I hope it is a right choice, if I move these values the sb128 ahi.device is not recognized.

Toni Wilen 26 January 2018 18:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by White (Post 1214944)
Hi Toni, excuse the question,
I read about the new features in the final version 3.6.0

JIT Direct is allowed in CyberStorm PPC configuration but it also disables CSPPC MAP ROM hardware feature.

what is it for? how to use?

Thank you for your possible answer, and thanks again for your work.

Irrelevant if you only use OS4. Never enable JIT in OS4 configs. It is useless.

Quote:

Originally Posted by White (Post 1214956)
@AmigaBlitter
if you can be useful this is what I use
512
128
128
64
rtg uaegfx 128

I hope it is a right choice, if I move these values the sb128 ahi.device is not recognized.

Again: Check Hardware Info WinUAE GUI panel. You have some PCI bridge that also requires Z3 space. All Z3 devices must fit between 0x40000000-0x7fffffff in OS4. OS3 won't really care.

I recommend using G-REX because it uses reserved space and won't reduce total Z3 space. (also check OS4 readme because G-REX needs custom command line)

Saghalie 26 January 2018 20:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1214805)
Update should be available for download. I don't remember where or how.

See my post above. If you're legit; then download it from Hyperion's site via your profile.

NOTE: Not aimed at you Toni - I stated this in my post above.

HOIT!

White 26 January 2018 20:26

Thank you for the answers.
Again :-)
you're right, but I've never been able to configure the ram memory exactly
Whenever I assign the right ram the sb128 sound card stops working or does not play any sound or makes a strange sound.
Do not want to bother you for things like this, I just hope this does not degrade performance, this would be important to me.
Thanks for your patience.
At the moment everything works perfectly even in this way.
Thanks again!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.07767 seconds with 11 queries