English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Apps (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Brilliance 2 crashing if WB is set to a RTG mode (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=102304)

dschallock 19 May 2020 23:22

Brilliance 2 crashing if WB is set to a RTG mode
 
I am having a problem where Brilliance 2 will crash on startup if I have WB set to a RTG screen mode.
If I set it to a standard Amiga screenmode it will run fine. I tried doing that and ran the program and saved the startup screenmode in the pref settings, and I could see the settings were indeed saved in the program's icon tool types but when I go back to a RTG WB then it crashes.
I am using the latest (purchased from icomp) version of p96 2.4.2 and with a PicassoIV board which I have flashed with 7.5 software.

I also tried running newmode and intercepting Brilliance and forcing it to a start amiga screenmode but didn't have any success with that either.

Anyone have this problem and know a fix?
Thanks!

AMIGASYSTEM 20 May 2020 00:05

In the Tooltype Icon activ:

SCREEN.MODEID=$

(It works on WinUAE only to deceive, but it doesn't always work, Brilliance does not work with RTG card)

dschallock 05 August 2020 23:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1401133)
In the Tooltype Icon activ:

SCREEN.MODEID=$

(It works on WinUAE only to deceive, but it doesn't always work, Brilliance does not work with RTG card)

Thank you for responding with this idea AMIGASYSTEM. I looked through the brillance book and I can't find any reference to how to type this tooltype.
Would I write SCREEN.MODEID=$320x200 or how would I type it?
Thanks!

AMIGASYSTEM 06 August 2020 12:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by dschallock (Post 1418651)
Thank you for responding with this idea AMIGASYSTEM. I looked through the brillance book and I can't find any reference to how to type this tooltype.
Would I write SCREEN.MODEID=$320x200 or how would I type it?
Thanks!

Even with a low DEC or HEX value doesn't crash ;)

dschallock 06 August 2020 15:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1418737)
Even with a low DEC or HEX value doesn't crash ;)

Hi Amigasystem,
I don’t know what a low dec or hex value means? Can you please help explain? I was hoping you could help me with the syntax for the tool type screen more Id

AMIGASYSTEM 06 August 2020 15:35

1 Attachment(s)
Are values to set the resolution of a screen, these values can be obtained from applications like GetModeID.

Once you run GetModeID you choose the resolution and the program will give the equivalent values in DEC and HEX (Decimal and Hexadecimal), see screenshot.

dschallock 06 August 2020 16:04

Awesome AmigaSystem, that makes sense. Thank you for explaining it with a picture too, that was perfect!
I will download that app this evening and give it a go!
Thanks again for the help!

dschallock 06 August 2020 17:55

Out of curiosity, can you use getmode to get the screenmode id and then use a program like newmode to force a program that doesn't have a tooltype option to use it?

AMIGASYSTEM 06 August 2020 18:06

NewMode or ModePro manages on behalf, and in any case not all applications are supported.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mqi_blFM-rc

dschallock 07 August 2020 02:54

Ok AmigaSystem, you genius! It worked! I have Brillance running!!!!! Thank you so much my friend. Beers on me!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04347 seconds with 11 queries