English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   News (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   CannonBall - Enhanced Outrun Engine Released (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=86711)

Locutus 13 April 2017 21:43

it shows FPS in the top right corner....


10-15 fps is unplayable imho

Seiya 13 April 2017 21:44

the fps counter is always active

matthey 13 April 2017 22:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seiya (Post 1152393)
the fps counter is always active

Ok. Thanks. I adjusted my screen dimensions and can now see it. My high end CRT monitor loses the oldest screen settings (made for sucky OSs which don't change resolutions often). I am normally 10-20fps with an average of about 15. The slowest fps is right at the start (8 fps worst case but doesn't affect game play) and going through the full rock tunnels (10fps worst case). It's a little sluggish at times but I still consider it to be playable as I can control everything fine.

Edit: I went back to lantus360's video and he is getting up to 30fps but it slows down to 13fps in the rock tunnel which is a bigger and more noticeable fps drop. In general, the Apollo Core with SAGA is outperforming my 68060@75MHz + Voodoo 4 (gfx bus speed is a bottleneck) by a wide margin though.

Seiya 14 April 2017 01:12

however, also with Vampire2 this game is not very fast:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoMg...ature=youtu.be

eXeler0 14 April 2017 01:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seiya (Post 1152427)
however, also with Vampire2 this game is not very fast:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoMg...ature=youtu.be


It was a quick port, it can be optimized further.
But I actually think its a good "benchmark" for Vampire. Sure code can be optimized, but question is also, can the Vampire itself be optimized to improve performance in certain games. As Gunnar (BigGun) once said, they can always "cheat" by adding new / specific instructions to, say, AMMX to improve specific stuff..

lantus360 14 April 2017 21:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seiya (Post 1152427)
however, also with Vampire2 this game is not very fast:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoMg...ature=youtu.be

that capture looks like its upscaled and lagging/dropping frames. When its 20-30fps it very smooth (see my video).

lantus360 17 April 2017 22:35

i have a new build coming out that is going to include the following things

- Converted code from C++ to C (gives us a few FPS increase and a much smaller executable)
- added support for MIDI music via CAMD.
- reduced from 24bpp to 16bpp RTG screenmode
- added more sound fx - still dont have all of them yet. if anyone has a good source of raw sound fx from the game let me know. im mostly interested in braking, passing cars, acceleration sounds from the game. I could also rip them from mame if needed.
- i talked to the Cannonball developer, he suggested a few optimizations around the z axis sprite scaling that ive incorporated
- finally added a custom game option for "detail levels". low , medium and high. Medium is how it currently looks. High is with the background and horizon enabled, low is just the track and no roadside objects - only cars to pass. Low isn't much fun but it runs on a lower specced Amiga - my Warp Engine 040/40 for example.

pcotter 18 April 2017 11:44

Great news!!! Can't wait to try it out!

Locutus 18 April 2017 11:53

Nice to see you are working on this, great! :-)

Hope this will end up playable on 060.

waldiamiga 20 April 2017 16:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by lantus360 (Post 1153159)
i have a new build coming out that is going to include the following things

- Converted code from C++ to C (gives us a few FPS increase and a much smaller executable)
- added support for MIDI music via CAMD.
- reduced from 24bpp to 16bpp RTG screenmode
- added more sound fx - still dont have all of them yet. if anyone has a good source of raw sound fx from the game let me know. im mostly interested in braking, passing cars, acceleration sounds from the game. I could also rip them from mame if needed.
- i talked to the Cannonball developer, he suggested a few optimizations around the z axis sprite scaling that ive incorporated
- finally added a custom game option for "detail levels". low , medium and high. Medium is how it currently looks. High is with the background and horizon enabled, low is just the track and no roadside objects - only cars to pass. Low isn't much fun but it runs on a lower specced Amiga - my Warp Engine 040/40 for example.

When you are going to release this version?

pcotter 03 May 2017 14:30

This must fly on the Amithlon!!!

Akira 01 September 2017 00:03

How about adding AHI support so you are not limited by the 4 Paula channels anymore? 4+2 for FX sounds about right.
Wanna try that MIDI mode too. When is the new version coming out?

TEOL 30 October 2017 17:58

I'd love to see a mad version made for a bog standard A1200 020 2mb.

Might be a bit slow but pushing normal hardware to the limits even if it has to be AGA exclusive to do so would be fun as an ult version.

A600 needs a Vampire as there isn't enough default RAM on board and there isn't any 32-Bit graphics modes to pull it off with no Vampire.

I think A1200 can pull it off though because of the improvements in the AGA. The graphics and movement capability of a 32-Bit system even on bog standard non excelled machines is higher than that Outrun requires.

I don't even think Outrun was pure 16-Bit hardware but 2X8-Bit if I remember a true 32-Bit processer can handle the game on it's own I think due to the maths and the original arcade being X68000 processer too when A1200 is 020 +.

Keep the A600 Vampire version alive but as I think the A1200 can pull it off on native standard hardware due to the maths of the processor of original being 000 and the AGA AMIGA being 020 and 2X8-Bit or Pure 16-Bit amounting to less than a normal A1200 power of 32-Bit I'd love to see it pulled off as a second project and made as a challenge to be able to run it on 020 2mb minimum but anything higher might improve the performance though and it will work on higher A1200s smoother on the better settings.

Outside of Vampire AGA is the best bet as in therory the hardware is more powerful over the arcade if anything and it's probably RAM letting us down if anything but I'm sure it would be a good challenge getting it on some RAW hardware too and I think A1200 2MB can do it bt more RAM would make it smoother.

Akira 30 October 2017 18:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by TEOL (Post 1195755)
I think A1200 can pull it off though because of the improvements in the AGA.

Oh, really? Make it.:rolleyes
You do realize none of what you said is actually true?

Dunny 30 October 2017 18:08

Outrun on a stock A1200?

/me grabs the popcorn. This should be good.

jotd 30 October 2017 18:49

original arcade game ran on 2 MC68000 and a special zoom gfx engine. Hard to take for a 68020 without fastmem...

gazj82 30 October 2017 20:10

The best you could probably hope for is the quality of the Mega Drive version on a A1200.

Remember the first machine that was arguably arcade perfect was the Saturn and that is far far superior to any Amiga.

arti040 07 December 2017 20:18

Guys, my game screen looks like this. What do I wrong?

config: A12k, 060, Voodoo 3 (Mediator)

https://i.imgur.com/l4JEihl.jpg

Seiya 08 December 2017 00:47

maybe it is voodoo 3..
video settings or amount of video memory..

DanyPPC 08 December 2017 09:11

You have to switch the screenmode to 256 colors.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:31.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Page generated in 0.07681 seconds with 10 queries